SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2008, 06:48 PM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
I watched my first ripped Blu-ray movie on SageTV

This is probably not really a big deal, but I just watched my first Blu-ray movie (on SageTV). The only thing I did was rip the movie to disk and pull out the unwanted audio streams using a remuxer... then drop it in my Imported Videos folder.

This was just a test to see SageTV playing back Blu-ray's newest format: H.264 AVC.
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2008, 06:55 PM
Slipshod's Avatar
Slipshod Slipshod is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 474
What did you use for the ripping and remuxxing? I'll be embarking on this shortly - now that the format war is basically over and BD+ is R.I.P.'d
__________________
SageTV V7 (WHS), Diamond UI
Server: WHS with Xeon X3350, 4GB ECC, ASUS P5BV-C/4L, recording into a 6.6TB Drive pool
Tuners: 4 (2x HDHR)
Clients: 2x HD300, 1x HD200 Extenders, 1x Placeshifter
2x Roku XD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2008, 07:30 PM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
There's only one app that rips BD... that's AnyDVD-HD. You basically press the rip button and it puts it on your hard disk.

I'm using a free tool for remuxing... tsMuxeR

The only drawback to this method of watching blu-ray is you lose all the blu-ray menus and extra features.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slipshod View Post
What did you use for the ripping and remuxxing? I'll be embarking on this shortly - now that the format war is basically over and BD+ is R.I.P.'d
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***

Last edited by mkanet; 03-21-2008 at 07:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2008, 09:11 PM
mikesm mikesm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,293
Does it work on the extender?
__________________
Server: Sage 6.5.9 - X2 3800+, DFI NF4 MB, 1 GB, 300 GB HD (system disk), NV 7600GS, - Windows XP SP2
Client 1: Sage 6.5.9 - E7200, Abit IP35 Pro, ATI 4850 with HDMI connect to Denon 3808CI and Sony A3000 SXRD TV
Client 2: HD200 connected to Denon 3808CI and A3000 SXRD TV
Client 3: Media MVP to 15" Toshiba LCD
Client 4: HD100 connected to Samsung 23" 720P LCD
Client 5: HD100 connected to Vizio VX37L
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2008, 09:16 PM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
I dont have an extender. Maybe someone else can try. My guess it yes. The extenders have the same media playback capabilities.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikesm View Post
Does it work on the extender?
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2008, 04:26 AM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,156
Mkanet that's great news. Can you please post the steps you did in TSMuxer?

Are you outputing .ts or .mkv?
__________________
Windows 10 64bit - Server: C2D, 6Gb RAM, 1xSamsung 840 Pro 128Gb, Seagate Archive HD 8TB - 2 x WD Green 1TB HDs for Recordings, PVR-USB2,Cinergy 2400i DVB-T, 2xTT DVB-S2 tuners, FireDTV S2
3 x HD300s
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2008, 05:36 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikesm View Post
Does it work on the extender?
I've yet to get smooth blu-ray playback on the extender. I've tried VC-1 encodes and H.264 encodes to no avail. On some rips I get choppy video and on some I get no video at all. I'm still trying to narrow down the issue to see if it's a ripping problem, a network problem, or a Sage problem. Audio is another issue altogether, but .ac3 seems to work OK.

Somebody in another thread said he got smooth VC-1 playback using a .mkv container but that did not work for me. (I used tsRemuxer to demux and mkvmerge to put it in a .mkv container.) I've also tried .ts and .m2ts containers.

If anybody has had success I'd like to hear about it, I am looking forward to watching HD movies on my extenders
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-24-2008, 11:36 PM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
The playback smoothness is related to the extender's hardware and software that the extender depends on. I'm guessing you would get the same kind of performance playing it locally on the extender machine in Windows Media Player. There's a small chance it's related to network bandwidth. For example, I dont think you can play them back smoothly on extenders with 802.11G wireless.

I know that the http://www.sagetv.com/hd_extender.html (SageTV HD Extender) is designed to play these files too with appropriate hardware and software.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I've yet to get smooth blu-ray playback on the extender. I've tried VC-1 encodes and H.264 encodes to no avail. On some rips I get choppy video and on some I get no video at all. I'm still trying to narrow down the issue to see if it's a ripping problem, a network problem, or a Sage problem. Audio is another issue altogether, but .ac3 seems to work OK.

Somebody in another thread said he got smooth VC-1 playback using a .mkv container but that did not work for me. (I used tsRemuxer to demux and mkvmerge to put it in a .mkv container.) I've also tried .ts and .m2ts containers.

If anybody has had success I'd like to hear about it, I am looking forward to watching HD movies on my extenders
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-27-2008, 01:51 AM
chrisc983 chrisc983 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 229
mkanet, what blu-ray drive are you using to rip the blu-ray discs?

Edit: Also after you run the muxer program how big are the files left? How long does it take to rip the movie wih AnyDVD?
__________________
Sage WHS - Intel Q6700, 4GB, Norco 5 bay hot swap x2, WD Black(OS), 6TB (dvd, bluray, music, pictures, videos) LG Blu-ray player, HVR-1600 x2 OTA
SageMC 6.3.9b pre-release 23
HD200: 46" LCD & HD200:26" LCD

Last edited by chrisc983; 03-27-2008 at 02:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-27-2008, 03:12 AM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisc983 View Post
Edit: Also after you run the muxer program how big are the files left? How long does it take to rip the movie wih AnyDVD?
Pretty close to the original source files used. ie Many many Gbs
__________________
Windows 10 64bit - Server: C2D, 6Gb RAM, 1xSamsung 840 Pro 128Gb, Seagate Archive HD 8TB - 2 x WD Green 1TB HDs for Recordings, PVR-USB2,Cinergy 2400i DVB-T, 2xTT DVB-S2 tuners, FireDTV S2
3 x HD300s
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-27-2008, 07:43 AM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
It's an LG Super-multi drive. It came with my PC. Works great. I've been using it for a year now.

Surprisingly, the size does get smaller after pulling out all the unwanted audio streams and/or misc video. I've only tried a couple of movies; and it went from approximately 27GB-->19GB and 25GB-->27GB

This process isn't really that quick; it takes about an hour or so for ripping and remuxing. Its only worth it for movies I care about and want to watch again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisc983 View Post
mkanet, what blu-ray drive are you using to rip the blu-ray discs?

Edit: Also after you run the muxer program how big are the files left? How long does it take to rip the movie wih AnyDVD?
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:50 AM
chrisc983 chrisc983 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 229
Sorry for asking a stupid question but I just want to make sure before purchasing it but do I need a blu-ray burner or just the player to rip the movies? Such as the Sony BDUX10S.
__________________
Sage WHS - Intel Q6700, 4GB, Norco 5 bay hot swap x2, WD Black(OS), 6TB (dvd, bluray, music, pictures, videos) LG Blu-ray player, HVR-1600 x2 OTA
SageMC 6.3.9b pre-release 23
HD200: 46" LCD & HD200:26" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-27-2008, 11:10 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
MKANET, would you be willing to cut a 10 second clip from the movie? If so I could try it with the extender.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-27-2008, 02:01 PM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
Hi Mike, sorry.. that's illegal. I only backup my movies just as a personal backup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
MKANET, would you be willing to cut a 10 second clip from the movie? If so I could try it with the extender.
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-27-2008, 01:52 PM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
You dont need a burner.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisc983 View Post
Sorry for asking a stupid question but I just want to make sure before purchasing it but do I need a blu-ray burner or just the player to rip the movies? Such as the Sony BDUX10S.
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-23-2009, 07:20 PM
vexhold's Avatar
vexhold vexhold is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 353
Helen, You were able to get Cars working using the Playlist...

I am having troubles.

I believe I have found the right one (00024.mpls) it hase MPG2 video and AC3 audio.

The problem is, no matter where I try to set the output to, it always gives me the error....

File name C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\CARS_USA\BDMV\STREAM\00030.m2ts already exists.

Thats not the path I am trying..


Anyone know what the dealio is?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-23-2009, 07:27 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by vexhold View Post
Helen, You were able to get Cars working using the Playlist...
Cars is not one of the movies that I have worked on yet.... Maybe you'll figure it out by the time I get to it.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-23-2009, 07:37 PM
vexhold's Avatar
vexhold vexhold is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 353
My bad, it was Tmiranda who did cars..

But surely you have done a BD that has multiple m2ts files and needed to use a playlist?

Never seen this happen? I must be doing something wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-23-2009, 08:10 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by vexhold View Post
But surely you have done a BD that has multiple m2ts files and needed to use a playlist?
You need BD Info:
http://www.softpedia.com/get/Others/...g/BDInfo.shtml

It will tell you which playlist to load into TSMuxer.

EDIT: To avoid the error, send the output file to another location or different name.m2ts
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT

Last edited by HelenWeathers; 01-23-2009 at 08:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-23-2009, 08:24 PM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
Is there any advantage to remuxing back into m2ts vs. ts? Thanks.

Aloha,
Mike
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STV Import: SageMC MovieTimes Movie Listings v0.64 Morgan111 SageMC Custom Interface 419 10-01-2010 11:06 PM
transferring over my movie collection raoul SageTV Customizations 4 02-14-2008 04:45 PM
Number of times movie watched? lordmeatball SageTV Customizations 2 11-29-2006 09:03 AM
video starting in middle of movie garyellis SageTV Software 6 05-07-2006 07:24 PM
Malore Watched Bar tearing again zoundz SageTV Software 2 12-05-2005 12:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.