SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2016, 07:23 PM
RayGannon RayGannon is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 22
Frustration with Comskip under Linux

I am having trouble finding complete/working installation instructions for Comskip on the OSS version of SageTV under Linux. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2016, 05:24 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayGannon View Post
I am having trouble finding complete/working installation instructions for Comskip on the OSS version of SageTV under Linux. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.
It's been several years, but I think the only thing that I did, was install "wine" from the ubuntu package manager, and then I installed the ComSkip plugin from the sagetv plugins.

Wine is window's emulation layer that enables you to run some windows programs under linux. The comskip plugin has the comskip binaries. Once that is all isntalled and working you can use the donator version of comskip (if you have it).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2016, 05:51 AM
ranger ranger is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 256
I'm working on testing SageTV in Linux and have gotten as far as installing comskip. I have WINE and the comskip plugin installed, but it seems to be tied up on a permissions issue. I can get comskp to run under root but not under my credentials as noted by the plugin wiki.

As soon as I figure this step out, the Linux install should be good to go.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2016, 07:17 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
You must make sure the user that comskip runs under has write permission on your recording folders.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2016, 07:52 AM
RayGannon RayGannon is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
You must make sure the user that comskip runs under has write permission on your recording folders.
I hadn't considered a permissions issue. I created a comskip user as some of the docs I read recommended and that seemed to help things along. Is it preferred to open up the permissions on the recording folder or create a group that comskip is a member of ? For that matter, which user is supposed to own the recording folder ? It's currently owned by root.

Does Comskip log such issues somewhere ? I couldn't find anything in the usual locations.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2016, 07:56 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayGannon View Post
I hadn't considered a permissions issue. I created a comskip user as some of the docs I read recommended and that seemed to help things along. Is it preferred to open up the permissions on the recording folder or create a group that comskip is a member of ? For that matter, which user is supposed to own the recording folder ? It's currently owned by root.

Does Comskip log such issues somewhere ? I couldn't find anything in the usual locations.
On my test system I just did a chmod 777 on my /var/media/tv folder. If you're that concerned about security I'm sure a more granular approach would be preferred.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2016, 08:12 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,581
I think initially you can probably do what taddeusz suggests and just make the recordings dir wide open. Later if you get all working then you can then move to a more secure model. I created a sagetv user and group, and my sagetv server, and comskip both run as sagetv user. This takes a bit of work, since you also have to make sure that your video devices are also accessible by the sagetv user.

For now as well, you can switch to your comskip user, and then run the comskip.exe to see if it actually launches.

Code:
# sudo su - sagetv
# cd where_is_comskip (/opt/sagetv/server/comskip ??)
# ./comskip.exe
I could be wrong, but I think all the .exe files in that dir need to be executable.

Code:
# chmod ug+x *.exe
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2016, 06:38 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I think initially you can probably do what taddeusz suggests and just make the recordings dir wide open. Later if you get all working then you can then move to a more secure model. I created a sagetv user and group, and my sagetv server, and comskip both run as sagetv user. This takes a bit of work, since you also have to make sure that your video devices are also accessible by the sagetv user.

For now as well, you can switch to your comskip user, and then run the comskip.exe to see if it actually launches.

Code:
# sudo su - sagetv
# cd where_is_comskip (/opt/sagetv/server/comskip ??)
# ./comskip.exe
I could be wrong, but I think all the .exe files in that dir need to be executable.

Code:
# chmod ug+x *.exe
I recently set this up. It wasn't necessary to do anything special with the comskip files (I'm using the donator version). They just needed to be readable. The issue I immediately dealt with was the permissions on the /var/media/tv folder. There was an exception from the Comskip plugin in sagetv_0.txt that basically said it couldn't write anything. Initially I just made it completely open, now it's locked down and still working.

I know in the startup script, it chmods 777 on music, pictures and video. Do you think tv should be in there to so fewer people see this problem?
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-16-2016, 09:06 PM
RayGannon RayGannon is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 22
I changed permissions on the TV folder to 777. I wasn't able to run ComSkip when I was logged in as the comskip user until I edited the permissions and group on the folder the comskip executables are in. But it's working now.


EnterNoEscape,

Does your donator version of ComSkip require wine or is it the newer 'linux native' build ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-16-2016, 09:32 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayGannon View Post
I changed permissions on the TV folder to 777. I wasn't able to run ComSkip when I was logged in as the comskip user until I edited the permissions and group on the folder the comskip executables are in. But it's working now.


EnterNoEscape,

Does your donator version of ComSkip require wine or is it the newer 'linux native' build ?
It still needs wine. Sorry, I left that detail out.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-17-2016, 04:57 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,842
Install wine.
Install the CommercialDetector plugin.
Then make sure you configure the plugin. Pay special attention to the setting asking about if you are running as root or as a user.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-17-2016, 04:58 AM
ranger ranger is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 256
For me comskip started working after a chmod 777 on /var/media/tv. Thanks for the suggestion, it was easy enough for my test setup. I'll set up a new user to run sagetv and comskip and test that as I'd prefer to not run SageTV as root.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comskip on Linux - two questions matt91 SageTV Customizations 2 08-24-2013 07:43 AM
Linux Comskip without Wine? btf1962 SageTV Customizations 3 04-27-2010 08:16 PM
Comskip for Sage Linux..... :) laurenglenn SageTV Customizations 45 10-31-2009 06:43 PM
Linux and Mac OS X Comskip Users bcjenkins SageTV Customizations 0 06-19-2008 05:23 AM
Comskip for Linux??? :) laurenglenn SageTV Customizations 1 01-10-2006 08:57 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.