SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2009, 05:59 PM
clintj clintj is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
Speed up Sagetv?

I'm running a sagetv server, some dual core thing with XP and 4gb of ram. client is a low end 1gb p4 something. My media server is win2k3 with 2gb of ram an Aratec 1220 raid with 8 1tb drives. I've got roughly 1k movies/tv series seasons and 24k songs on this media server. Browsing the movies isnt really an issue, but when i go to access the music its dead slow. Any way to speed up browsing my music collection? Is this a hardware (ram) issue or is this just that sage wasnt meant to scale to 24k songs?

Also is there any official SageTv work being done for the visuals during music playback? yes i'm aware of the hacks to get media player or winamp or whatever. I'm trying to avoid as many hacks as possible.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-19-2009, 09:01 PM
malbec malbec is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 331
You might try thishttp://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=41000 and set the Max Java Heap to 750k, 1MB, etc. to see if you can get any improvement. Honestly, mine has never been fast enough either.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2009, 03:52 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Music has NEVER been a focus for sage it seems, and their interface is very lacking for music only playback. browsing large libraries is very slow, and playback can be iffy at times.

Another question, is there a reason you have your media server a separate machine than the sage server? SageTV's server really doesn't use much processing power at all, and you might en up with better overall performance if sage's storage was local to the software, instead of everything going over network.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2009, 10:09 PM
clintj clintj is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Music has NEVER been a focus for sage it seems, and their interface is very lacking for music only playback. browsing large libraries is very slow, and playback can be iffy at times.

Another question, is there a reason you have your media server a separate machine than the sage server? SageTV's server really doesn't use much processing power at all, and you might en up with better overall performance if sage's storage was local to the software, instead of everything going over network.
I figured music was never a focus. but really, not even an oscilliscope?

I have several reasons for not using sagetv server on the same box. One is heat and power. I also couldnt get all my tv cards plus my crazy huge video card (for playin bioshock) into the same machine. Also, i have a couple friends with similar systems. if we ever have a catastrophic failure we wont have to rip all our movies over again. I can just grab my media box and it won't disrupt the wife an kids.

Last edited by clintj; 06-20-2009 at 10:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Request to speed up SageTV start time m1abrams SageTV Software 2 05-07-2008 01:45 PM
Latest SageTV & Neilm's Multi-Speed STVi - Working for you? jlmdxtv SageTV Customizations 6 04-12-2007 07:16 AM
Looking for a no-hassle SageTV "serial" cable (PC USB--> DirecTV Low Speed data port) mkanet Hardware Support 11 06-16-2006 09:29 AM
Serious speed fluctuations EChodun SageTV Placeshifter 2 05-23-2006 08:20 PM
Import speed? brit_sage SageTV EPG Service 2 03-06-2005 03:59 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.