SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2019, 06:45 PM
Netdawg Netdawg is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 31
SageTV gets slow - v9 on Win7

Hello Loyal SageTVers,

I've been running SageTV forever (12+ years). I must admit, my rig is old. I'm running on Windows 7 with Version 9. My SageTV gets really slow about once or twice a week. I run it headless, so I RDP into the box and when it's slow, the memory usage is about 2+ GB. Looking at the task manager, it looks like there is a "windows" process svchost.exe that is using a majority of the memory. The fix is to reboot the machine. It's good for a little while and then gets slow. It's running Java 8 v101. My capture device is an HDHomerun Prime using CableCard. Anybody got any ideas about how to eliminate the slowness or what might be causing it. The box is solely used for SageTV. No internet browsing or other stuff going on in the box. I know the description is vague and it could be 1,000's of things. Just wondering if anyone has seen the same associated with something SageTV related.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2019, 11:10 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 687
I am also running on a Win 7 box that is about 7 years old. I have 2 HDHomeRun Primes with Cablecards. I also use mine for shared folders, Plex and running backups. I only need to reboot every couple of months.

How much memory do you have on the machine? I have 4GB.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2019, 12:12 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,829
There are two things that tend to chew up a lot of memory with Sage. One is fan art, the other is mini-clients. Mini-clients are HDx00 extenders, Android mini-clients, and Placeshifter Clients. Each mini client that connects to a Sage server uses memory on the server (and using graphic heavy UIs with a lot of fan art on each mini client can compound the memory usage).

Full Windows Clients donít have the same impact on the Server memory.

Sometimes a misbehaving plug-in can also cause problems.

Do you have a lot of mini-clients? What UI are you using? Do you have a lot of plugins installed? If this is a new problem and everything was OK before, I would also look to see what changes have you made recently on that computer (new hardware, new software, changes to Sage settings, new plugins installed in Sage, etc.). Sometimes a hardware problem such as a bad hard drive or bad network interface can cause bottlenecks that result in slow performance and other strange behavior.
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2019, 07:43 AM
Netdawg Netdawg is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 31
Miniclients and hardware

Thanks for the responses. It's nice that this forum has such a loyal following. I can always count on good ideas coming from this group.

My memory is only about 1 GB and it's as old as the box. I have 3 HD200/300's. I use one Windows softclient. I wouldn't say that the problem is new, but it a gradually been getting worse over the years. I started out with a reboot due to slowness every month. Now, I reboot at least once or twice a week. I have had an issue lately where one of my hard drives with movies has been painfully slow. When I watch a movie from that hard drive, the movie glitches every 3 or 4 seconds. I do use the metadata plugin and comskip. Otherwise, I use the standard UI. You've given me a lot of good ideas. As I consider hardware updates, I almost think a new SageTV server might just be the way to go. Perhaps a nuclear approach. One thing I've been striving for is to have video capture and disk storage separate of the SageTV server. Capture is completely separate with HDHomerun Prime as a network interface. However, a few years ago I reverted from saving TV/Movies on a NAS back to a local hard drive located in the SageTV server. I found performance with the local disk (at least for TV shows) to be so much better. Ideally, it would be stored on a NAS.

I'll look at options to upgrade hardware on the server and see what my wallet can stand.

Thanks again for the posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2019, 08:33 AM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,243
I found that 3 extenders (all running Gemstone, which uses more memory) was the breaking point for SageTV 32 bit (version 9). I recently upgraded to SageTV 64 bit, which was fairly painless, and bumped the java heap to 4096 MB as the machine has 16GB of memory. If you're running the stock UI on the extenders (not Gemstone or some other), then you could probably get away with 3 extenders on 32 bit Sage.

You definitely need more memory in that machine, regardless. What is the CPU?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sagetv java slowness


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For new SageTV server - Win7 or 10? wayner General Discussion 35 11-19-2015 05:14 PM
Win7 slow client with standard user CptKirk SageTV Software 2 02-20-2011 10:47 AM
SageTV v7 Beta (win7 64 Bit) Bill1426 SageTV Beta Test Software 14 05-25-2010 04:23 PM
Intelliremote with Sagetv in Win7 reeven Hardware Support 5 04-09-2010 04:53 AM
SageTV Slow Slow Slow... Player0 Hardware Support 35 04-03-2004 02:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.