SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2008, 05:58 PM
SageGk SageGk is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 391
HD100 and PC use?

If I run an HD100 to my TV and I'm using it, can I still use my computer for other functions? such as web browsing and email? or would it interfere with what the HD extender displays on the TV?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2008, 06:03 PM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
Yes, you can use your system for other functions. The only issue I have seen that interfers with the HD extender is a disk to disk copy. It should not cause a problem but it does prevent the data from getting to the HD extender in a timely manner.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2008, 10:42 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
The forum's time was messed up from the work done on the server last evening, and a few posts looked like they were posted about 14 hours from 'now'. So, I'm reposting the last few posts to get this thread back into normal time, or else new posts here won't look new:

Quote:
Originally Posted by SageGk
Thanks, just to clarify. Someone is watching TV in the living room via Sage, and I'm typing an email on the computer, and have sage minimized.....everyone is still happy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent
I'm happy.... Couldn't resist.

If person A is watching TV in the living room via the SageTV HD100 Extender
And
Person B is on the computer which happens to have SageTV installed and "serving" things to that SageTV HD100 extender.

Yes, person B can work on the computer while person A is watching TV. Just as long as person B doesn't shut down that computer or run something that taxes that computers CPU or memory too much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sainswor99
Instead of running Sage minimized, you should probably run it as a service.
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.