SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2008, 12:47 PM
goatboy22382 goatboy22382 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 49
HD100 and WHS

Maybe I am using the wrong search terms but I haven't found anything. Will the $250 bundle with the HD100 and license allow me to install SageTV WHS edition and watch it on the HD100? Eagerly awaiting an answer so I can place my order.
-Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2008, 01:20 PM
othy othy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by goatboy22382 View Post
Maybe I am using the wrong search terms but I haven't found anything. Will the $250 bundle with the HD100 and license allow me to install SageTV WHS edition and watch it on the HD100? Eagerly awaiting an answer so I can place my order.
-Mike
As I understand it, the SageTV Media Center license is valid on all of the different OS builds. I'm sure someone will correct me if there are exceptions (such as SageTV for Mac?).

Just download the version you want (in your case, the WHS build) and enter your key from the email they send after your purchase. In WHS, you can do it from the SageTV button on the Console. You can also enter your extender license in the same place.

I ran Sage on XP for a long time then built a WHS server. I just downloaded the WHS version and entered the same old key, which it took without complaint.

EDIT TO ADD: You've probably already done your research, but be sure to check the threads on WHS. It works great, but you'll want to keep your recording drives out of the storage pool (and formatted w/64k clusters). OTher than that, setup was pain-free for me.

Tim
__________________
Server: WHS, Phenom 9150e Quad-Core, 2.0TB for recordings (pooled). HD-PVR (w/USB-UIRT), HDHR, ATI550.
Clients: HD200 (wired), HD100 (wireless via Netgear WNHDEB111).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2008, 01:54 PM
goatboy22382 goatboy22382 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 49
That's what I figured but I wanted to double check. While I don't have a tuner right now and will mainly use this for ripped dvds how hard is it to move the recorded content off non shared drives and into the storage pool?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2008, 02:11 PM
othy othy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by goatboy22382 View Post
That's what I figured but I wanted to double check. While I don't have a tuner right now and will mainly use this for ripped dvds how hard is it to move the recorded content off non shared drives and into the storage pool?
If you don't mind them showing up in your Media Library (and without meta-data) rather than your recordings list, it's simply a question of adding a shared folder (probably Videos) as a Media location in SageTV and then moving your files there.

I don't know of a way to store recordings in the pool and still have them show up in your recorded TV list (without adding the pooled location as a recording drive, of course). Maybe someone will chime in with some help.

Does that make sense? I'm not sure if I'm answering your question.

Tim
__________________
Server: WHS, Phenom 9150e Quad-Core, 2.0TB for recordings (pooled). HD-PVR (w/USB-UIRT), HDHR, ATI550.
Clients: HD200 (wired), HD100 (wireless via Netgear WNHDEB111).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2008, 02:21 PM
goatboy22382 goatboy22382 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 49
That makes sense, Is there a way to move the files with in sage?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2008, 02:35 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by othy View Post
As I understand it, the SageTV Media Center license is valid on all of the different OS builds.
You need a different license for the Windows, Mac, and Linux versions of SageTV.

The Windows license version can be used for any Windows install of SageTV, including the WHS version -- there is a separate WHS download on the downloads page.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD100 Issues: stuttering and OSD othy SageTV Media Extender 4 05-29-2008 08:33 PM
New Tranquil PC WHS with SageTV? calypsocowboy General Discussion 3 03-27-2008 08:29 AM
new SageTV user with HD100 Question jelentz@gmail.c SageMC Custom Interface 8 03-13-2008 01:04 PM
SageTV+HD Media Extender: 1st Impressions jamma SageTV Media Extender 7 12-20-2007 03:49 PM
New setup - WHS R5000 HD100 - No Video mediahome SageTV Software 2 12-15-2007 03:00 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.