SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v9 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v9 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 9 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 9 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-15-2021, 10:44 PM
clu clu is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2
I don't know but I just keep using SageTV

- I have Plex for Movies. I've tried multiple times to use it for LiveTV/DVR but the DVR and comskip always has some issue
- Jellyfin looks promising. Light and fast. I've tried it and would love to make it work - I've used it with TVendhead but can't get the guide to work with my comcast cable card (hdhomerun). The NextPVR plugin is nice - when it works. There is no Jellyfin support for it so there are upgrade issues.
- Kodi seems to heavy for my needs. Maybe I'll try it again. Seems to be the only viable option at the moment. I just want LiveTV and DVR

SageTV :
- opendct is really hard to beat - I still use my Ceton and HDHomerun and it is all seamless, just works, used it for years
- comskip, the guide all just works. I have both nvidia shield and FireTV and if anything the client is starting to feel dated

The family always use the sagetv client for LiveTV - the DVR/comskip is the killer feature. I just can't find any other option. I keep trying to find alternatives but always end up going back to good old sagetv
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-24-2022, 09:33 AM
brandypuff brandypuff is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin, MA
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbill View Post
Click on DETECT COMMERCIALS. There are now 4 options in the pick list. Tried to get a screen shot. But the pick list closes when I do that. One of the choices says to use DVR Settings, so I am guessing you can set it globally. -Bill
Where do i click on DETECT COMMERCIALS? Is it a plugin?
__________________
- James M -

Capture Devices: HDHomerunXTEND, HDHomerunPrime
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-08-2022, 07:31 AM
DarkWolf77 DarkWolf77 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandypuff View Post
Where do i click on DETECT COMMERCIALS? Is it a plugin?
It's in the advanced config for the library. Be warned, though, commercial skipping kind of sucks on Plex. It won't auto-skip commercials - you have to actively click a button to make it happen. Unlike sage, you also can't navigate to the beginning/end of the commercial break - which is useful if comskip has inappropriate cuts. Further, when that setting is on, it will run comskip, but then delete the comskip files, which means that Sage can't read the comskip files. (Plex takes the comskip data and adds it to the metadata library for the file).
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-09-2022, 10:57 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,846
Quote:
Originally Posted by clu View Post
I don't know but I just keep using SageTV

- I have Plex for Movies. I've tried multiple times to use it for LiveTV/DVR but the DVR and comskip always has some issue
- Jellyfin looks promising. Light and fast. I've tried it and would love to make it work - I've used it with TVendhead but can't get the guide to work with my comcast cable card (hdhomerun). The NextPVR plugin is nice - when it works. There is no Jellyfin support for it so there are upgrade issues.
- Kodi seems to heavy for my needs. Maybe I'll try it again. Seems to be the only viable option at the moment. I just want LiveTV and DVR

SageTV :
- opendct is really hard to beat - I still use my Ceton and HDHomerun and it is all seamless, just works, used it for years
- comskip, the guide all just works. I have both nvidia shield and FireTV and if anything the client is starting to feel dated

The family always use the sagetv client for LiveTV - the DVR/comskip is the killer feature. I just can't find any other option. I keep trying to find alternatives but always end up going back to good old sagetv

I went Channels DVR for $80 dollars a year and that Includes Guide data and remote access comskip and comskip editing.... also Provides guide data and content to SageTV for recording using opendct. Channels DVR supports M3U input and can provide an M3U and guide data that can be used in SageTV giving recording access to Pluto Stirr and other providers.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-09-2022 at 10:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plex 4.0 - better peruse the Plex.forum before updating.... tvmaster2 General Discussion 18 08-17-2015 10:16 AM
Newbie to Studio - first attempt timg11 SageTV Studio 4 05-18-2009 08:24 AM
CPU Max on Record attempt or viewing Guide vividweb SageTV Software 1 10-31-2008 06:32 AM
No tuning @ the first attempt cmf SageTV Software 2 02-23-2008 04:09 AM
D'OH! STV install attempt FRAGGED SAGE!!! lonndoggie SageTV Customizations 6 01-24-2005 10:41 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.