SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2006, 09:59 PM
c309 c309 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 29
instructions for beginners on placeshifter?

it works at home, but when I go anywhere, It doesnt work.

Port forwarding, upnp? says I have no upnp and I do. Manual configuring gives me no results except: "The locater server could not connect the Ip address registered for this locator id."

myport range forward info:

just picked a port number 12-------any suggestions, a differnt number?

Port Range
Application Start End Protocol IP Address Enable
Placeshftr 12 to 31099 tcp 192.168.1.101 X


UPnP Forwarding
Application
Name

placesshftr

Protocol
TCP


External Port

12



Internal Client
192.168.1.101

Internal
Port

31099

Enable

X

testing this gives me the same results everytime-cant connect.("The locater server could not connect the Ip address registered for this locator id.")


any help would be appreciated. I have a linksys srx WRT54GX router and ZA security suite

thank you in advanced

tom
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2006, 02:20 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
forward 31099 to 31099 -- you may be confusing things by forwarding a different external port.
__________________
Check out my enhancements for Sage in the Sage Customisations and Sageplugins Wiki
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2006, 07:42 AM
c309 c309 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 29
Thank you

MY CURRENT SETTINGS are:

under Port Range Fwd:
____________________

Start: 31099 to End: 31099 TCP Ip 192.168.1.101 enabled X


Under Port Triggering:
___________________

Start: 31099 to End: 31099
TCP IP: 192.168.1.101

enabled X


Under UPnP Forwarding:
____________________

Protocol: TCP External Port: 12 Internal Port 31099 Enabled X

Those are my settings

It still Does Not work.

I still get The locater server could not connect the Ip address registered for this locator id.

any further instruction will help me not

thank you

tom
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2006, 08:02 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
Try either restarting SageTV or toggling the "SageTV Server" option off & back on in order to make sure the Placeshifter server is actually enabled & active.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2006, 08:35 AM
c309 c309 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 29
thank you

nothing different, tried all that. In both administrator without password and my name with password. Turned off sage tv and even reinstalled the whole thing.

It has worked before.

disabled sage tv server and restarted disabled media extender and placeshifter server and restarted.

why does this have to be so hard to do?

very frustrated.............

thank you for your help

tom
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-29-2006, 08:52 AM
c309 c309 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 29
uninstalled sage and reinstalled again

this time it worked..................? Dont know why?



woo hoo

thanks for all help

tom
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2006, 01:44 PM
Silky1 Silky1 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 32
I've recently purchased Sage Media Center and a Placeshifter license. During the trial all worked fine.

Now Placeshifter shows a blank screen as soon as I 'Connect'.

Are you suggesting that I have to uninstall and re-install Sage Media Center along with all of the STVi customization I've fought with for 3 weeks, just to get Placeshifter working?

That is ridiculous! It seems it should have been tougher in Trial mode, not the other way around.

Are their any other suggestions. Also, my port say '0' and the 31099 forwarding is going to that port zero. Can't remember how it was in Trial mode, but I didn't change anything then.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.