SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2008, 04:46 PM
jqweber jqweber is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 16
Automatic timeout to kill live TV ?

I would like one of my clients to automatically "stop" live tv if nothing has been pressed for a while (let's say 2 hours). This would "free up" a tuner that might otherwise be stuck on live tv forever... Does anyone know of any way of accomplishing this? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2008, 09:02 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,993
This is not natively supported by Sage.

There is a customization that adds Sleep Timer Functionality: http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16310

I have not tried it myself, but it seems sort of like what you are asking for...

Just so you know, it may not always be a big deal if you leave live tv running. Sage handles this situation pretty gracefully. For example, say you have only 1 tuner and you have a show scheduled to record at 8:00pm (manual or favorite). Let's also suppose you are watching some live tv on a different channel at 7:30pm. At about 7:58pm, Sage will automatically pop-up a message asking you if it is OK for Sage to change the channel at 8:00 to record the other show. If you choose "NO", you get to keep watching live tv and your other show won't get recorded. If you choose "YES", the message gos away and when 8:00 rolls around, Sage just changes the channel and records your show. If you don't do anything (because maybe you left the room and didn't see the message), Sage will leave the message there until 8:00 at which time it decides for you and changes the channel, giving priority to the pre-scheduled recording. I have tested this functionality and it works.

This sort of thing holds true with multiple tuners too, but I wanted to keep the example simple.

One scenario I haven't tested where your idea may be useful is the situation where you have more clients than tuners. Say you have (again) only 1 tuner, but you have a couple of clients (or media extenders) in different rooms. If you leave one client turned on and "watching" live TV I don't know what will happen if someone attempts to use one of the other clients to watch live tv also. I would guess that the second client would a message that there are no tuners available and the first client would stay connected. A second possibility is that the 2nd client would get the option to "steal" the tuner and bump the 1st client.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2008, 02:14 AM
cactusbob cactusbob is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
I would guess that the second client would a message that there are no tuners available and the first client would stay connected.
This is exactly what happens.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
A second possibility is that the 2nd client would get the option to "steal" the tuner and bump the 1st client.
This would be the ideal functionality for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dropped favorite recording -- with debug logs Surtr SageTV Software 4 02-19-2008 10:48 AM
LIVE not always reported at First Run jelwood SageTV EPG Service 3 01-31-2008 08:56 PM
Live Tv and Sage Client behavior mattridings SageTV Software 7 12-26-2007 04:59 AM
Newbie Question: Live TV jbarr SageTV Software 1 08-30-2006 10:01 AM
MediaMVP Not Working -- TFTP Timeout jfgast SageTV Beta Test Software 13 05-22-2006 07:18 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.