SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2008, 02:09 PM
jqweber jqweber is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 16
Comskip / client woes

I just installed comskip on both my server and client. I comskipped all my .mpg files. Comskip works fine on the server, but the client doesn't seem to see the .edl files. I understand that they both need to access the same path --

On the server, all my recordings are in "F:\TV Recordings" (and the .edl files are there also). The F drive is shared. On the client, the server's F drive is mapped to the server F, so that the client also thinks that the recordings are in "F:\TV Recordings".

Does anyone have any idea why this would not work?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2008, 02:23 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,846
Did you import the Comskip STVI on your client? You need to import it on your clients in order for comskip to work.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2008, 04:01 PM
jqweber jqweber is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 16
Yes, it is imported ok -- shows up in the menus.

Is it at all possible that the problem is that I am running different versions of Sage on the server and on the client -- I am running 6.2.10.152 on the server and 6.3.5.159 on the client. I am loathe to update the server since it is running so well...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2008, 07:06 PM
gveres gveres is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 404
I don't know if this is a necessity, but I use UNC names instead of drive letters and it works

\\fileserver\PVR files\Sage Recordings

I use that as the recording directory on my Sage Server(called fileserver in this example). Then the database entries are all listed as \\fileserver\PVR Files\Sage Recordings\file.mpg

Now the client can use the UNC path to get at the edl files.

Beware this doesn't work when your server is a windows box and your clients are linux or mac. (my situation).

Greg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New client setup issue Lucas SageTV Software 2 01-10-2008 11:31 PM
Comskip and Sage Client and SageMC chadman SageMC Custom Interface 4 12-10-2007 09:09 PM
Wired MVP Losing Connection MeInMaui SageTV Media Extender 12 09-20-2006 05:53 PM
Issues with MVP client, Neilm's Customizable Menus, and java version zubblwump SageTV Customizations 8 09-07-2006 10:12 AM
Comskip different on client Box8489 SageTV Customizations 3 11-23-2005 03:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.