SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2011, 04:13 PM
ttiell ttiell is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 38
sage software won't turn on in server

I had lightning hit a tree outside today. I don't know how that affects this but ever since that, my sagetv software won't turn on. The electricity stayed on and everything but the HD300 froze where it was. The server was also frozen when I went downstairs. I had to do a hard reboot. everything else on my server works fine. However the sagetv software won't turn on. When I watch my windows task manager, the sagetv.exe pops up for less than a second and then goes away. I tried uninstalling and then reinstalling (that didn't wokr). any ideas?
windows xp
sagetv 6
hd300
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2011, 07:46 PM
ttiell ttiell is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 38
I unistalled sagetv again and installed sagetv 7 now. this got it running on the server. I can bring up recorded shows and everything. however the hd300 still can't find server. the server option and extender are both enabled. i even re-ran the entire setup wizard and have everything that I can't think of set properly. I've been up and running for over a year until today. any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2011, 09:39 AM
Savage1701 Savage1701 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 668
Is your server seeing your extender? If not, try these ideas:

Your ethernet switch took damage; I have had ethernet ports go out on switches from static in the winter. My friend actually lost one of the ports on his router from an electric strike, but the other three and the cable modem were fine. Go figure.

Your Sage Server computer's ethernet port took damage or your HD300's ethernet port took damage. But, since you re-installed XP, we know you ought to have internet, a good port on the computer, and a good port on the switch/router. So that should be ok.

Try another port on your switch/router for you HD300. Can it see the web for updates, weather, etc.? If so, that's good - no port damage to it.

Make sure the HD300's IP address of the Sage Server and the Sager Server's actual IP are the same. I use static IP's for my home system so my Sage Server always has the same IP.

The other usual stuff - XP firewall blocking Extender, XP not getting a valid IP from router's DHCP server.
__________________
Asus P5Q Premium MB, E6750, 4GB RAM, 32-bit XP Pro SP3, 3Ware 9590SE controller, 80GB 7.2K Laptop boot drive w/SuperSpeed Cache Utility & eBoostr, (1) KWorld ATSC-110, (1) 950Q USB, (1) 2250 tuner, (1) HD-PVR using USB-UIRT, (1) 1600 Dual card, (1) DVICO Fusion 5 Gold, (1) Hauppauge 1250, (1) Hauppauge 2250, 8 various storage HD's, NEC-based x1 USB add-on card, 2 outdoor antennas capturing 2 different OTA markets, Dish Network w/HD Receiver for HD-PVR.

Last edited by Savage1701; 08-05-2011 at 09:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new server: WHS emulating software? Konig The SageTV Community 9 07-24-2011 01:27 PM
Sage TV for Windows Home Server Software, HPMediaSmart Server, and HD homerun tuners c309 SageTV Software 15 08-17-2008 06:03 AM
Using Sage to Archive DVDs (Library Software) or Software Recommendations Please ... Exile SageTV Software 8 12-20-2006 01:18 PM
How do you turn off ir.exe support on Server? mdmint Hardware Support 2 01-24-2005 12:17 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.