SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 09-25-2009, 11:28 AM
GJSNeptune GJSNeptune is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
It's running 2.4GHz.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-25-2009, 03:46 PM
GJSNeptune GJSNeptune is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
It's definitely the HD200. I can't even itialize a connection with someone else's unsecure network.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-25-2009, 04:01 PM
GJSNeptune GJSNeptune is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
Well this is interesting. Here's a snippet of my router's logs:

Quote:
Sun Feb 01 05:25:00 2004 xxxxxxx: Wireless system with MAC address xxxxxxxxxxxx disconnected for reason: Authentication Failed
The authentication shouldn't be failing. I'm entering the encryption key correctly.

Last edited by GJSNeptune; 09-25-2009 at 04:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-25-2009, 04:06 PM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,764
Encryption requires time sync.

B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-25-2009, 06:51 PM
GJSNeptune GJSNeptune is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
How do I look into that?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-25-2009, 06:56 PM
GJSNeptune GJSNeptune is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
Did you mean the router's date/time issue? I already fixed that. Didn't help my HD200 issue though.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-25-2009, 11:27 PM
GJSNeptune GJSNeptune is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
Support emailed me back and told me to send debug logs, but I'm completely lost about accessing the HD200 to retrieve them.

Quote:
Copy the file using a file browser on a networked PC if the Windows File Server option has been enabled. The 'messages' miniclient log will be located in the TempLogs\log folder. If in standalone mode, you can get the sagetv_0.txt log from the TempLogs folder.
How do I browse the files on the HD200 though?

Last edited by GJSNeptune; 09-25-2009 at 11:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-26-2009, 12:03 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,620
See this extender FAQ:
How can I get a debug log for the STP-HD200?

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-26-2009, 12:03 AM
GJSNeptune GJSNeptune is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
I already looked at it. I even quoted part of it. I have no idea how to retrieve the logs though. I have the Windows File Server option enabled, but I'm at a loss as to how to actually access the HD200 and browse the files. It's supposed to be in my Workgroup, but it doesn't show up.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-26-2009, 12:10 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,620
Can you connect via a wired connection? If so, set it to wired to start. Set it to wireless & let it try to connect. Set it back to wired, then browse over the network to the HD200's file system via your Windows file browser. As long as you don't turn it off while doing this, the log should cover the period where you attempted to use the wireless connection.

Or, is that what you already tried?

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 09-26-2009, 12:12 AM
GJSNeptune GJSNeptune is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
It's set to wired, but it isn't showing up in my Network.

Nevermind. The settings didn't stick the first time. Now it's showing up.

Should I hard reset, try to connect wirelessly, and then retrieve the log? The log right now has 874 lines.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-28-2009, 09:02 AM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
Quote:
Originally Posted by GJSNeptune View Post
Should I hard reset, try to connect wirelessly, and then retrieve the log? The log right now has 874 lines.
That would be fine, if you only try to connect over wireless and the log is short it will be easier to debug.

_Demo_
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-28-2009, 09:04 AM
GJSNeptune GJSNeptune is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
That's what I did, or tried to do. No idea what the log entries mean. Hopefully Support can find something. But I'm not the only person with the problem. Hope they can release a beta firmware tweak.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-28-2009, 05:19 PM
GJSNeptune GJSNeptune is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
It's a hex key bug. I used a short key, like eight characters, and it works now. _Demo_ is going to tweak some stuff and send me a beta firmware soon.

The Net light went out though. Maybe it'll light up upon a hard reset.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-28-2009, 05:43 PM
GJSNeptune GJSNeptune is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
Moved the HD200 to the living room. Got some stuttering. And the menus are pretty slow.

According to my router:

Mode:
802.11n (2.4GHz)

Rate (Mbps):
108

Strength:
74

Last edited by GJSNeptune; 09-28-2009 at 05:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 09-28-2009, 08:45 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by GJSNeptune View Post
I'm right behind you if Support can't help me get the wireless to work on my HD200.
WiFi and HD are incompatible mates. Even 11n. Not enough speed/latency.
Getting it to work at all is a different issue.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 09-28-2009, 09:16 PM
Yalbik Yalbik is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevech View Post
WiFi and HD are incompatible mates. Even 11n. Not enough speed/latency.
Getting it to work at all is a different issue.
Unfortunately, not according to Sage. From here

Quote:
Stream HD videos, music and pictures wirelessly to your SageTV HD Theater (HD200)!
Admittedly, they officially only support 1 specific wireless card, and they have a caveat that bitrate depends on the environment, but they do state it as a possible alternative.

Personally I'd never bother. Ripping out & repairing drywall really isn't that hard. Worst care, I think I'd try Ethernet over powerline before I tried wireless for HD...
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 09-28-2009, 09:29 PM
GJSNeptune GJSNeptune is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
I'm in an apartment.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 09-28-2009, 10:07 PM
kingwr kingwr is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by GJSNeptune View Post
I'm in an apartment.
Does your apartment have baseboards and carpet? (That may just be an American thing). If so, run cat-6 cable around the room and up the stairs, all under the baseboards and carpet. I had network cable running in every apartment I was in through 5 years of undergrad. That was, of course, before anybody had ever heard of wireless.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-29-2009, 06:19 AM
GJSNeptune GJSNeptune is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
It'll be a last resort. It's actually one floor, and my office is just down the hallway from the living room. The plan would be to get cable that closely matches the wall color, and then run the cable most of the way along the ceiling, and then drop it down a door frame and run it along the living room wall to the TV.

But it'd be quite an endeavor. My network speed is actually more than enough to stream HD content. I think the occasional stutters are the HD200's fault. Under wireless devices, my router showed that my HD200 was connected with a rate of over 100 Mbps with at least 70% signal. The HD200 doesn't exactly have beefy hardware. Even menus are slow. I'm still going to mess with stuff.

Has anyone modded HD200 files for smoother, more responsive operation?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV is trying to get me in trouble Radar The SageTV Community 2 08-22-2008 05:47 AM
QAM trouble uberliberal Hardware Support 3 02-10-2008 10:52 PM
Import Help - trouble using more than one malbec SageTV Customizations 0 06-05-2007 05:55 PM
Anybody else having trouble board? stanger89 General Discussion 4 06-13-2004 07:28 PM
IR Blaster Trouble ftlee SageTV Software 11 07-19-2003 05:49 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.