SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2005, 01:25 AM
mdmint's Avatar
mdmint mdmint is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA USofA
Posts: 877
Question Intermittent ff then no audio

Anyone else seen this behavior? I've had this intermittent problem for quite some time through multiple Sage versions, at least since 2.1.10 and still here with 2.2.7, don't remember if it was present 2.0. Specifically 1 out of 10 or 15 times after ff (long or short doesn't matter) audio vanishes. Hit ff or fr again and audio back. Does it whether ff is via remote or automatically ff via comskip. Might go an hour show and not happen, might happen a couple times during an hour show. Seems totally random. I suspect it may be hardware related specific to my main HTPC Client, ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe sound output via SPDIF. Can't replicate problem on Client my or Debi's workstations, simple PC stereo speakers standard mini-plug output both with different mobos neither same mobo as HTPC.

It's about the only continuing bug or problem with Sage and WAF, thankfully a minor issue but annoying.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2005, 01:35 AM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,156
I have this as well. It was not there in 2.0.20.
But, I don't have to press ff again to get the sound back, although if I do it comes back. If I wait 4-5 seconds it comes back by itself.

It is minor, my WAF is not affected.

Have you placed a bug report?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2005, 01:40 AM
mdmint's Avatar
mdmint mdmint is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA USofA
Posts: 877
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucas
I have this as well. It was not there in 2.0.20.
But, I don't have to press ff again to get the sound back, although if I do it comes back. If I wait 4-5 seconds it comes back by itself.
I've never waited that long so didn't know!

Quote:
It is minor, my WAF is not affected.
Truth be told it's probably more annoying to me than Debi. I'm picky about things working!

Quote:
Have you placed a bug report?
No, but guess I should. If you haven't why don't you too! Are you also using SPDIF output?
edit: Support request has now been submitted.

Last edited by mdmint; 03-09-2005 at 01:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2005, 10:03 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,620
I remember this coming up on the forum a long time ago, but it hasn't been mentioned much lately. I don't know if that means it went away for most people or they got used to it. It used to happen to me, but I haven't had it happen in probably nearly a year.

Audio decoder related, perhaps? I don't remember what the conclusion was back then. If the old one was taken care of, maybe this one has a new cause.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-09-2005, 10:06 AM
ToxMox's Avatar
ToxMox ToxMox is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,980
I believe this only happens when using the InterVideo NonCSS Audio Decoder. If you change your Audio Decoder to MPEG Audio Decoder it should fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-09-2005, 11:18 AM
mdmint's Avatar
mdmint mdmint is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA USofA
Posts: 877
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToxMox
I believe this only happens when using the InterVideo NonCSS Audio Decoder. If you change your Audio Decoder to MPEG Audio Decoder it should fix it.
Good catch. The HTPC was set for Intervideo audio decoder, tested playback via multiple 10sec jumps, lost audio problem occurs. Then tested with Cyberlink & Sonic audio decoders, it be okie-dokie.

Since the Intervideo is the included audio decoder with Sage (IIRC) it would indeed be a bug.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2005, 11:22 AM
ToxMox's Avatar
ToxMox ToxMox is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,980
Thats not true. Sage includes the SageTV MPEG Audio & Video Decoders. The Intervideo ones came with the tuner card.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-09-2005, 11:25 AM
mdmint's Avatar
mdmint mdmint is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA USofA
Posts: 877
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToxMox
Thats not true. Sage includes the SageTV MPEG Audio & Video Decoders. The Intervideo ones came with the tuner card.
That's why I said IIRC, which I apparently didn't!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.