SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2022, 10:39 PM
mgpaulus mgpaulus is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 190
Question about Schedules Direct and Streaming Services

I've been browsing and I keep getting tantalizing glimpses of folks using Schedules Direct to bring in listings for tv services such as Philo, etc. However, apparently my sleuthing skills are not what is necessary to ferret out the secret of how to do this.

I was wondering if someone could share with me how to go about accomplishing this? I have 2 basic wants:
1) I have set up ChannelsDVR TV Everywhere as a tuner for all of my xfinity/comcast freetorecord channels (all 6000+), and I would like to understand how to get that guide data into sagetv so I can utilize those channeldvr streams (I have done the OpenDCE generic pipe thingie, and I can record some stuff from my HDHomerunPrime devices that I have set up in channelsDVR).
2) I have set up FrndlyTV as a Source in channelsDVR, and I would like to know if there is a way to get that channel guide info somehow from Schedules Direct?

Seems like maybe I'm missing something, and if it is some critical piece of understanding, any enlightenment would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-2022, 10:07 AM
boukmandutty boukmandutty is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Norman OK
Posts: 195
For #1. I am assuming you mean how to get the data from ChannelsDVR.

Have you upgraded to the xmltv plugin as per @heavymetal here?

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66899

This is what allows you to draw your channels dvr guide into sagetv

You can model your config file off @nyplayer as you see it here:

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...4&postcount=62

Last edited by boukmandutty; 09-10-2022 at 10:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-10-2022, 10:17 AM
mgpaulus mgpaulus is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 190
Ok, had gathered that might be an option. I thought tho that I had been reading that some folks were getting their guide data directly from SD, and not using the xmltv interface. I will work on getting my xmltv connection up and running. Itís hard when I have about 10 minutes at a time and I have to schedule it around recordings also

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-10-2022, 10:34 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by boukmandutty View Post
This is what allows you to draw your channels dvr guide into sagetv
So Channels DVR runs $80/year. Does that include epg? In other words, can one avoid having to spend the additional $25/year for a Schedules Direct subscription by using the xmltv plugin? If so, that would mean it would only incrementally cost $55/year to migrate to Channels DVR.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.10.3, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.6)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-10-2022, 06:03 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,720
Potentially correct, Keith. Some folks have found that local channels via TVE aren't all there (in fact, if you have more than 3 or 4 locals, they definitely will not all be there), so you still need an antenna and a HDHR OTA tuner(s). I have my OTA tuners set up in SageTV because it has better tuner priority and conflict detection/warning/resolution, so I continue with the $25/year schedules direct sub in addition to the Channels DVR fee. If you set up your OTA tuners in Channels DVR, then you would not need the $25/year SD fee. That may be the better option, but I haven't tested it yet, and there is probably a scenario where Channels DVR would screw up the OTA tuner (like finding new channels in an adjacent city with poor signal quality that just magically appear in the guide without any notice for example, and wreaks havoc on your recording schedule).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Schedules Direct offers two data services? dc9mm SageTV EPG Service 2 05-28-2020 05:37 PM
Schedules Direct EPG is down SHS SageTV EPG Service 8 02-02-2020 01:18 AM
Switching services and Schedules Direct dc9mm SageTV EPG Service 6 03-08-2019 10:17 AM
Schedules Direct - How Far Out Does it Get? mike1961 SageTV EPG Service 7 06-17-2017 11:31 AM
Schedules Direct or what? Ryel SageTV EPG Service 6 01-25-2008 03:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.