SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2019, 01:31 PM
CptKirk CptKirk is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
DVD: Editing metadata

Hopefully a simple question.

I have a bunch of ripped DVD's. If I want to change the titles (how they show up in the DVD/BD menu), do I just change the title in the appropriate .properties file?

I tried that, but when I go back to SageTV-Video-DVD/BD the original title is still there.
__________________
SageTV running on: Win7 SP1 64 Pro
SageTV 9.1.9.778 (32 bit)
Java 1.7.0_80 (32 bit)
OpenDCT 0.5.29 (Comcast Music channels set to FFmpeg)
Clients: HD300 (x2)
HDHR3-CC Prime 20190621 (Comcast CableCard) - 3 Tuners
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 1)
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 2)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2019, 03:53 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,026
You have to get SageTV to re-import the ripped DVD. Rename the DVD file or folder (depending on how you ripped it), then Scan Imported Media, rename the file/folder back to the original name, and Scan Imported Media again. It should pick up the changes in the .properties file.

I'd love to know if someone has an easier way to force SageTV to re-import a previously imported DVD.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2019, 09:47 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,576
Just use BMT - it is the same process for DVDs or for imported video files.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2019, 03:23 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,175
Or if the files are in linux can use the touch cmd to update the time stamp and then rescan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2019, 03:32 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by CptKirk View Post
I have a bunch of ripped DVD's. If I want to change the titles (how they show up in the DVD/BD menu), do I just change the title in the appropriate .properties file?
Another option is the SageTV Web Interface, there is an Edit Metadata option under the Search DVDs and the Search Imported Videos screens. It looks like it updates both the .properties file and wiz.bin file when you click the Update button.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2019, 03:35 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
Or if the files are in linux can use the touch cmd to update the time stamp and then rescan
Update the time stamp on which file(s)? I don't think it works if you update the time stamp on just the properties file. I have all of my DVDs ripped to .iso files, I'll try updating the time stamp on one of those and see if the scan re-imports it.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2019, 03:56 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Update the time stamp on which file(s)? I don't think it works if you update the time stamp on just the properties file. I have all of my DVDs ripped to .iso files, I'll try updating the time stamp on one of those and see if the scan re-imports it.
Yes, it would be the iso files in your case.
It works for all the video file types (although I haven't done iso before)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-28-2019, 05:32 PM
CptKirk CptKirk is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
I went with 'SageTV Web Interface' since I already had it installed and setup.

The change is pretty much immediate when you click the update button.

Although I did notice a strange quirk. I picked a simple movie called Free Solo. Kinda cool movie about climbing without using any ropes.

Anyway, when I did Edit Metadata with that movie in SageTV Web Interface it showed all the fields available. I changed the title to Free Sole (test1) and clicked on update.

Then looked at SageTV-Videos-DVD/DB and it showed it as:

Free Sole (test1) - 'Free Solo'

??? What happened...

Went back to Edit Metadata and looked at all the fields a little closer. Found a field called EpisodeName. This had a copy of the title name. Changed EpisodeName to Free Solo (test2) and got:

Free Sole (test1) - 'Free Solo (test2)'

So found it, easy solution (I thought). I cleared the text Free Solo (test2) from EpisodeName and hit Update.

Web page refreshes and the text Free Solo (test2) is back in EpisodeName again.

There is a box to the right of each field and up at the top, it says Delete?.

So I cleared the text Free Solo (test2) from EpisodeName again, checked the Delete box and hit Update.

EpisodeName stays blank and I now have a DVD title only change.

So for me to edit an already entered DVD title:

1. Open SageTV Web Interface
2. Click Media Library - Search DVDs
3. Enter text in the search string (current DVD title)
4. Select - Search for Imported Media Files: DVD
5. Click Search
6. Click on the title of the found DVD I'm looking to edit
7. Click Edit Metadata
8. Find the Title field and make changes as needed.
9. Find the EpisodeName field, clear it and then check the delete box next to it (if there is no actual episode name).
10. Click Update
__________________
SageTV running on: Win7 SP1 64 Pro
SageTV 9.1.9.778 (32 bit)
Java 1.7.0_80 (32 bit)
OpenDCT 0.5.29 (Comcast Music channels set to FFmpeg)
Clients: HD300 (x2)
HDHR3-CC Prime 20190621 (Comcast CableCard) - 3 Tuners
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 1)
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 2)

Last edited by CptKirk; 04-03-2019 at 06:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Editing Metadata menuing problem? Brent94Z Gemstone for v7 8 10-24-2012 08:15 PM
change metadata not visible from Raw Metadata JonTom Batch Metadata Tools 2 08-30-2011 03:53 PM
4.9.20 Released - Metadata Editing enhancements stuckless Batch Metadata Tools 15 06-12-2011 09:08 AM
Displaying and editing metadata in a spreadsheet-like grid wayner Batch Metadata Tools 4 01-24-2011 10:08 PM
Clean out old metadata created by My Movies before creating new metadata for SageTV? Texas-Hansen SageTV Customizations 0 02-12-2009 10:31 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.