SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2015, 10:50 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,194
Plex 4.0 - better peruse the Plex.forum before updating....

Wow, lots of venom over some pretty major changes to Plex and how it operates/interfaces with servers, etc.
Version 4.0 - especially iOS users, who seem particularly pissed off.
So, if you use it, read up at the forums before updating...
sounds like the creators have drastically changed the model after paying subscribers had signed up for something different.

https://forums.plex.tv/categories/plex-for-ios
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2015, 02:16 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I really hope they don't go to the 'have to sign into web site' model for all platforms, because that will seriously jack up my use of Plex when travelling.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2015, 07:55 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
sounds like the creators have drastically changed the model after paying subscribers had signed up for something different.
I mostly use Plex on Android and Windows devices, but I'm curious about this, particularly if changes in the iOS app foreshadow changes in other apps.

I read through some of the posts over the the forums. It looks like there are some bugs and some issues with the transition from the old app to the new one (particularly for synced content). Other than that, what changed with the model that is so controversial?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2015, 08:07 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
It appears the app needs to be signed into the plex.tv website for any sort of functionality, even to vie synced content. That's the part I take a huge issue with, as it's ability to sync and use offline is the primary reason I even have plex installed.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2015, 08:15 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
It appears the app needs to be signed into the plex.tv website for any sort of functionality, even to vie synced content. That's the part I take a huge issue with, as it's ability to sync and use offline is the primary reason I even have plex installed.
I'd find that very disruptive, too.

Are you sure that's what they changed, though? That seems like an incredibly bad move, given that a large reason for sync is for offline access. Are you sure you don't just need to log in once? There seems to be some bugs involving carrying over previously-synced content, too.

Edit to add:
I do, however, see multiple reports that you can't access offline servers from a LAN. I could see that being disruptive to some, although it probably wouldn't really matter to me as long as I can get to synced content on my device.

Last edited by reggie14; 08-12-2015 at 08:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2015, 08:18 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
You can view synced content without an internet connection. I upgraded mine before lunch on Monday. I was planning on watching Falling Skies that I'd synced to my iPad during lunch. I don't get a wifi connection in the break room. Even if I did the wifi here blocks Plex from connecting. Initially I had trouble but then noticed that you can select your local device to play synced content without a connection.

My biggest issue with Plex is that it does not de-interlace interlaced video. The "work-around" I have found is to sync content to the lowest quality. It seems to blur things enough so that the combing is not visible. Wish they would implement proper de-interlacing.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-2015, 08:26 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
My biggest issue with Plex is that it does not de-interlace interlaced video. The "work-around" I have found is to sync content to the lowest quality. It seems to blur things enough so that the combing is not visible. Wish they would implement proper de-interlacing.
I remember you posting about this before. I haven't noticed this problem, although I tend to use Plex with DVD/blu-ray rips more than recorded content.

Do you just see this with synced content, or also streaming? I don't see any problems with interlacing when streaming, although I should note I usually need to stream at pretty low bitrates (which is annoying, given that I have 75mbps upload).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-2015, 08:32 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
I remember you posting about this before. I haven't noticed this problem, although I tend to use Plex with DVD/blu-ray rips more than recorded content.

Do you just see this with synced content, or also streaming? I don't see any problems with interlacing when streaming, although I should note I usually need to stream at pretty low bitrates (which is annoying, given that I have 75mbps upload).
I see the issue with both streaming and synced content depending on the bitrate. It's most noticeable at home where I have the bitrate set relatively high. Synced interlaced content on the Medium and High settings both show artifacts. The Low setting is the only one that is either low enough in resolution or sufficiently blurs the video enough so that the interlacing artifacts are not visible.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-12-2015, 03:27 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
It appears the app needs to be signed into the plex.tv website for any sort of functionality, even to vie synced content. That's the part I take a huge issue with, as it's ability to sync and use offline is the primary reason I even have plex installed.
can you explain to me the concept of "synced" content with regards to Plex? I don't have a paid account - aka I just pay for the app on each device.

Also, what would be an example of using "offline"? Right now I have loads of material on my Synology NAS, and my Sage server, which I can access through both my local network and via my no-ip.dns servers.

From how you read this, will any of that change? I'm hoping we all don't have to route all our traffic thru Plex's servers, as that will at minimum be slower and less reliable
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-12-2015, 03:38 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
can you explain to me the concept of "synced" content with regards to Plex? I don't have a paid account - aka I just pay for the app on each device.

Also, what would be an example of using "offline"? Right now I have loads of material on my Synology NAS, and my Sage server, which I can access through both my local network and via my no-ip.dns servers.

From how you read this, will any of that change? I'm hoping we all don't have to route all our traffic thru Plex's servers, as that will at minimum be slower and less reliable
Syncing means it downloads the file to your device for playback locally without the need for streaming. Handy for when you're away from wifi and you don't want to eat up your mobile data.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-12-2015, 04:48 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Syncing means it downloads the file to your device for playback locally without the need for streaming. Handy for when you're away from wifi and you don't want to eat up your mobile data.
The other advantage is that the android clients can also function as servers, so any content that is synced to one device is available to any other devices on the local network. This works great for my daughters, because they each can sync a bunch of different movies and shows to their tablets, and watch them on either of them, as long as they are networked together. To serve this, my RV has a cheap router in it, so even without internet, there is still a local network, so all the various devices can share content with others (including the Raspberry Pi connected to the TV, which is incapable of syncing content).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-12-2015, 06:30 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
The other advantage is that the android clients can also function as servers, so any content that is synced to one device is available to any other devices on the local network. This works great for my daughters, because they each can sync a bunch of different movies and shows to their tablets, and watch them on either of them, as long as they are networked together. To serve this, my RV has a cheap router in it, so even without internet, there is still a local network, so all the various devices can share content with others (including the Raspberry Pi connected to the TV, which is incapable of syncing content).
The iOS app has this feature as well.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-12-2015, 06:37 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
The other advantage is that the android clients can also function as servers, so any content that is synced to one device is available to any other devices on the local network. This works great for my daughters, because they each can sync a bunch of different movies and shows to their tablets, and watch them on either of them, as long as they are networked together. To serve this, my RV has a cheap router in it, so even without internet, there is still a local network, so all the various devices can share content with others (including the Raspberry Pi connected to the TV, which is incapable of syncing content).
and up to this point, one didn't have to sign in the Plex server to accomplish this, but now one does?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-12-2015, 08:36 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
That is what the reports on the forum lead me to believe. I can't verify, as I've never owned an iDevice.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-12-2015, 09:57 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Syncing means it downloads the file to your device for playback locally without the need for streaming. Handy for when you're away from wifi and you don't want to eat up your mobile data.
I've never been able to get downloading on any device to work. do you need to be a paid subscriber?

edit: answered my own question - Sync is a premium feature $40 per year, or $150 lifetime.
guess I'll live with streaming
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 08-12-2015 at 10:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-16-2015, 09:56 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,194
So has anyone tried version 4.0 yet? Opinions?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-17-2015, 04:28 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
So has anyone tried version 4.0 yet? Opinions?
Too much hidden in the hamburger menu. Otherwise it works well.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-17-2015, 09:57 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Too much hidden in the hamburger menu. Otherwise it works well.
no problems with signing in, access, etc? I don't subscribe to Plex Plus, so I'm trying to figure out if the update makes my situation more restrictive, aka trying to force people to subscribe. As it is now, I use Plex remotely via no-ip DNS servers, not by using Plex's servers
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-17-2015, 10:16 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
no problems with signing in, access, etc? I don't subscribe to Plex Plus, so I'm trying to figure out if the update makes my situation more restrictive, aka trying to force people to subscribe. As it is now, I use Plex remotely via no-ip DNS servers, not by using Plex's servers
I think you at least need a Plex account. Not having Plex Plus will just restrict you from being able to sync and stuff like it always has.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plex noob question pjpjpjpj General Discussion 15 02-07-2017 12:23 PM
Plex On Xbox Taddeusz General Discussion 22 11-02-2014 10:20 PM
My time with Plex.. PLUCKYHD The SageTV Community 88 04-10-2014 04:35 PM
Comparing to Plex heffneil Batch Metadata Tools 20 01-08-2012 04:54 PM
Plex in a TV? What about sage? rwc General Discussion 9 09-05-2010 04:38 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.