SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2009, 07:55 PM
JohnBick JohnBick is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dutchess County, NY USA
Posts: 7
Potential Newbie - Questions re Netflix and WHS

New to the community although I have been browsing for several days now in anticipation of ordering the "SageTV HD Theater with SageTV Media Center for Windows Bundle". I really want to have it set up failry quickly to use with Netflix but I need some guidance...

(1) What do I need to get in order to use Netflix with the HD200 on a stand-alone basis? Playon? (And where do I get that? Need a link!) The Netflix plug-in? (Saw comments that this is not so hot. True?)

(2) Does being in a Windows Home Server (WHS) environment change any of the responses above? Do I need something more? Less?

(3) My main machine is a desktop running Windows/7 Ultimate/32. Any different options for that? (I am MUCH more inclined to want to use the WHS unit than the desktop.)

THANKS in advance for any help you can provide!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2009, 12:55 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
PlayOn should be all you'd need to stream netflix to the HD-200. That said, if this is your ONLY purpose for getting the HD-200, there are better options (ones that actually support netflix directly).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2009, 08:20 AM
JohnBick JohnBick is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dutchess County, NY USA
Posts: 7
Thanks, Fuzzy, for your response! Greatly appreciated.

For the record, Netflix is NOT my only reason for getting the HD200! I like the overall feature set very much and it comes highly recommended. I expect to be adding a TV Tuner and certainly want to access videos (from my WHS). But I also do not want to have to have something else for Netflix. I am looking for a single-box extender with a clean (simple/understandable) user interface. (I do not want to be the only one in the house that can operate it!)

Where do I get PlayOn? I ass-u-me this is at http://www.playon.tv/index.php -- specifically http://www.playon.tv/purchase after the free trial? I ask only because I had thought it was more like $79 rather than $39. Want to make certain I have the correct item! (And I am surprised the Sage site does not provide a link!)

Another question: I have a Wireless-G network with very little activity on it (and probably none when the HD200 would be in use). Excellent signal strenbgth in the room the HD200 would be located. I know there are no guarantees in life, but would the USB Wireless b/g/n Adapter for HD Theater stand a realistic chance of working for me? SD? HD? Are there other options (wired, obviously) or adapters that might work better?

And, naturally, one more: Any recommended tuners? Since I want to use this with an HP MediaSmart Server (WHS) I'll be needing a tuner that is on the network (or USB-connected). Will the networked tners provide the same level of quality as ones installed in a PC?

Thanks again...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2009, 12:53 PM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
The link for Playon that you found is the correct one. It is $39, and you can catch it on sale from time to time as low as $19. Wired connections are always best… That said, people are reporting successful wireless configurations. I don’t use the HD200 wirelessly since I dropped Cat5 all over my house. I think Sage is recommending the Encore wireless adapter. As far as I know it goes cheap. I would just buy one and try it. Not out too much if it does not work, then you may just have to go to an N router… Check around to find out if there are other adapters that people are reporting good success with.

As far as tuners it really depends on what your source(s) are and expandability options of your WHS box… If you plan on doing OTA I would definitely look at the HD HomeRun HDHR. If you can provide more details about your setup/wishes I’m sure others will help chime in about your tuners and options.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2009, 01:44 PM
JohnBick JohnBick is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dutchess County, NY USA
Posts: 7
Thank, wrems.

As for PlayOn I will add that to the list tonight. Will also grab the recommended wireless adaptor ($29.95). If the "G" does not hack it I'll have to choose between pulling CAT6 (older house) and adding "N". I do have a long CAT5 cable to temporarily drag along the floor if necessary.

As for my configuration... I have a Windows/7 Ultimate/32 desktop and a HP EX475 Media Smart Server connected with Gigabit switches and a Linksys WRT54G router into a Cablevision ISP. (The LAN also has some security cameras and a DIY Dual-boot WHS/Ubuntu unit used for test purposes only.) Basic cable at the moment but that may change soon. The HP MSS has no connectivity other than USB, eSATA and ethernet. For the moment I expect to watch TV at either the desktop (WMC/7) and/or at an LCD TV. We have a laptop but no way that would be used. Also have an older tube-type TV in the kitchen but, other than an occasional sporting event, that is only used for casual viewing, about 90% of which is my wife watching Oprah. We're completely Cablevision at this point with no OTA hookups any more.

We're "empty-nesters" at this point so there are no computer games any more and we have no other extenders. No Wii, no Xbox, etc. We have a Panasonic VCR/DVD combo unit and that's it.

So it looks like the best approach is probably a tuner that connects to the ethernet, preferably a dual tuner. I looked at the HomeRun and it looks like a good match. (Thanks!) Need to figure out which model to get.

When I loon on the SiliconDust website ( http://www.hdhomerun.com/products/hdhomerun_home_atsc ) I see two units listed. When I look on NewEgg I see three ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...onDust&x=0&y=0 ). I have pretty much eliminated the single tuner model but could use a little guidance as to the choice between the other two.

Differences? Recommendations?

I am really appreciative of the timely responses, guys! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2009, 02:56 PM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
You don't want the $300 version. This is the one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-005-_-Product shop around a bit sometimes you can get them cheaper. I know they were just running a deal at Radio Shack...

Check the silicon dust website to see what you can get with the HDHR as far as clearqam and OTA. Beyond basic cable then you're looking at getting into HDPVR's or R5000 or if possible firewire from the STB or possibly even s-vid out to an analog tuner...

If you can't easily pull Ethernet lines consider a MoCA adapter. There is also some powerline products but the coax is reportedly better.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2009, 07:44 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
It looks like the HDHR will not be getting you much more from cablevision than you could get from an antenna... Locals only... well, throw in CSPAN and QVC... either way, the HDHR is not going to get you what you can get from your cable box. You'd want an HD-PVR for that.

And sage doesn't link to PlayOn, because it is not their software, and they do not 'support' it. It is implemented in sage via a 3rd party plugin available here on the forums.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-13-2009, 08:03 PM
MitchSchaft MitchSchaft is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 717
Hey John! Your WHS box will serve you well with this project.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-13-2009, 10:37 PM
JohnBick JohnBick is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dutchess County, NY USA
Posts: 7
I saw that comparison indicating 46 channels for OTA and 71-83 for Cablevision. Frankly, I don't know anyone actually receiving close to 20 OTA around here. (And my neighbor is almost at the high point in town, right next to the Cablevision ground station.)

What, specifically, will the HD-PVR gain me over the HD-200?

You were the first to mention PlayOn, now you sound negative about it. Did i miss something? Could you elaborate?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-14-2009, 01:30 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Not meaning to sound negative about PlayOn, it is great, for what it does. Understand though, that it has serious quality limitations, in that it is basically screen capture software, which then encodes the capture, to send it to a device. There are devices that support NetFlix directly, which do not need to go through the decode/capture/encode process that PlayOn does.

Also, the HD-PVR is not a substitute for the HD-200, it is a recording device. It can capture from component video (the output from your cable Set-Top-Box), and can be used by Sage as a source, which can then be played back on the HD-200.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-14-2009, 07:17 AM
bits bits is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 398
I have been using PlayOn on my HD200 for a while and before that I used it on my x280n. Fuzzy is correct in that the pic quality leaves something to be desired but it is quite watchable. For $20-40 for a life time service I think it is a good add. We have used it for viewing episodes of the current popular TV series in cases where I missed a recording. We also view a lot of the older shows as well.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-14-2009, 08:04 AM
JohnBick JohnBick is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dutchess County, NY USA
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
... the HD-PVR is not a substitute for the HD-200, it is a recording device. It can capture from component video (the output from your cable Set-Top-Box), and can be used by Sage as a source, which can then be played back on the HD-200.
But if I have a WHS unit in the mix I would not need the HD-PVR, correct?

Currently I have a Sharp HDTV, a W7 desktop (with multiple displays), an HP MSS (WHS) and now, on it's way, the HD200/MC bundle. NO set-top box and no HD-HR or other "computer" tuner at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-14-2009, 09:04 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,301
There is always a lot of confusion when you first start looking at all this together. So I thought I would throw out a couple of the more popular terms.

SageTV software = the glue that makes it all work. Need to run on the computer with the tuner cards installed in it.

HD-200 = a stand alone media box that allows you to playback material at your TV without having a computer hooked up to it. Connected to SageTV software it allows you to view all recorded show, the TV guide, schedule recordings, etc.

SiliconDust HDHomeRun (HDHR) = a network tuner card that allows you to record up to two concurrent stream of ATSC OTA digital or unencrypted QAM cable stations.

Hauppauge HD-PVR = a USB tuner that allows you to record ANY Component video stream. Used to record the output from cable or satellite STBs after the box has decrypted the signals. It is one of the few ways to record encrypted digital broadcasts from cable or satellite (the others being via firewire with some cable STB and the R5000 modified STB for some cable companies and DishTV satellite STB).
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all

Last edited by sic0048; 12-14-2009 at 10:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-14-2009, 09:31 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnBick View Post
But if I have a WHS unit in the mix I would not need the HD-PVR, correct?

Currently I have a Sharp HDTV, a W7 desktop (with multiple displays), an HP MSS (WHS) and now, on it's way, the HD200/MC bundle. NO set-top box and no HD-HR or other "computer" tuner at this point.
With those items, you will be able to watch any content stored on your network. Installing the SageTV Software on the WHS box will have it act as the server. You can then add the folders containing your data to sage, and it wil be available to the HD-200 connected to your TV, and to SageTV Placeshifter (which you will have one free license for if using WHS) which can be run on any PC (such as your win7 desktop). However, without a tuning card, you will be missing the best features of sage (that being it's DVR capabilities).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-14-2009, 12:07 PM
autoboy autoboy is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 477
Quick question. Is his WHS box running a Sempron single core at 1.8ghz enough CPU to handle the PlayOn encoding?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-14-2009, 12:44 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
probably not, however, there is nothing saying the PlayOn has to be run on the WHS box. PlayOn could just as easily be installed on the Win7 desktop machine and do it's work there.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-14-2009, 02:16 PM
JohnBick JohnBick is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dutchess County, NY USA
Posts: 7
I have the original HP MSS EX475 with upgrades for 2GB RAM and an LE1640 CPU.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
netflix, playon, whs, windows home server


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Potential Buyer...Questions jrdavis80 SageTV Media Extender 7 06-10-2009 02:36 PM
Potential User Questions - Look at my current setup ohpleaseno Hardware Support 3 04-19-2009 08:57 PM
WHS Login Needed For Netflix SageMC Import Usage voorhees SageMC Custom Interface 9 04-05-2009 01:48 PM
questions from a potential vista media center user jagowar SageTV Customizations 2 05-29-2008 07:01 AM
Questions From a Potential Mythtv Emigrant OnTheFence SageTV Software 1 07-23-2005 02:31 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.