SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2008, 01:16 AM
mediahome mediahome is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 90
Micro stutter with Dish HD content on HD100

When playing Dish HD local broadcast stations on the HD100 the picture stutters and starts to pixelate every second or so - continuously. I reported a bug on this back in January and Tech Support said that it was due to a bug in third party driver. Tech support also said that a previous version of the driver did not exhibit this behavior. Now I can't even get Tech Support to respond with a status report on the bug.

Five months later and it is still not fixed in the latest beta release. Given that this makes the HD100 pretty much unusable for watching CBS, NBC, and ABC content I can't believe that they have not fixed this problem. The least they could do is roll back to the version of the driver that works correctly.

How many people are impacted by this problem? Perhaps if everyone impacted chimed in we could get some attention paid to this problem.

Mediahome
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2008, 05:27 AM
BFisher BFisher is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 394
I'm curious, how are you getting Dish HD into Sage?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2008, 07:29 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,764
I'm curious, has the problem been reported to the third party driver company? Are you looking for SageTV to help you in the discussion with them?

B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2008, 09:27 AM
mediahome mediahome is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 90
BFisher - I am using a R5000 modded Dish reciever to capture the HD content.

bcjenkins - Sage TS told me that they reported the bug to the vendor. Resolution would be between Sage and the vendor. I would expect that Sage would either get prompt resolution or roll back the driver that they use to one that works correctly.

Mediahome
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2008, 10:42 AM
chrisc16's Avatar
chrisc16 chrisc16 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 205
I don't subscribe to locals on Dish, but all my other Dish mpeg4 HD channels play flawlessly on my HD100. This only happens to you on the local channels? I wonder why those are different.

-Chris
__________________
Win7, HDHomeRun, HD200
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-21-2008, 10:59 AM
mediahome mediahome is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 90
Correct, I don't have any problems with any of the other Dish HD channels. There is something different about the H.264 streams on the local re-broadcast channels. I sent a sample in the Sage TS and they confirmed that.

Mediahome
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2008, 11:48 AM
mediahome mediahome is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 90
I got got the following response from Sage TS.

"It's a fix required in the firmware. We're still waiting on the updated driver release (but we've been informed that they have fixed the bug; they just haven't packaged the new version with that fix yet)."

Hopefully we will see the fix soon. ???

Mediahome
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Live TV Choppy with CPU 80-100% using HD100 warkeke SageTV Media Extender 4 03-15-2008 11:06 AM
List of issues Sage 6.3.6 with HD extender Spriter SageTV Beta Test Software 5 01-24-2008 09:31 AM
HD100 micro stutters with D* MPEG4 content mediahome SageTV Media Extender 13 12-30-2007 04:29 PM
Multiple HD recording issue ptaylor Hardware Support 0 02-23-2007 11:10 PM
No HD playback stutter in VMR9 for me but... Chilli SageTV Software 4 02-23-2007 07:02 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.