SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2008, 10:52 AM
mcbrems's Avatar
mcbrems mcbrems is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 78
Mac Users and new SageTV build 6.4.0

Can we compare some notes?

I'd like to hear experiences from everybody who has tried
out the new build. Have you encountered any bugaboos
during installation, or any funkiness in the normal use of
Sage to schedule, record, or view programs?

How many Sage Mac users are there? Judging by the quantity
and frequency of posts on this forum, I must be only one of
a small obscure handful of Mac SageTV enthusiasts. Of all the
apps I have attempted to integrate into my HTPC, Sage is by
far one of the friendliest, most powerful, and customizable
interfaces for Mac I have used. I think more Mac users should
know about it.

Personally, I have encountered video stuttering in playback
in the new build that makes the video unwatchable. I trust
that the new renderer will eventually be solid and better than the
old, with better PQ as promised, and better framerate handling.

Once it's fixed, I can reinstall all of my SageMC enhancements
and get back to the business of enjoying my HTPC, including
knocking the socks off all my friends and family with my rig.

Thoughts?

MB
__________________
MacMini 2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB SDRAM OSX v10.6
Nvidia GeForce 9400M
Sony SXRD-A502000
Silicon Dust HDHomerun Dual OTA Tuner
2TB My Book External Firewire
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2008, 05:15 PM
jtm76 jtm76 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cottage Grove,WI
Posts: 2
No EyeTV Hybrid

I had been really looking forward to this new build to be made available as I really don't like evetv software. I had tried out the released version of SageTV and found that it would not recognize my Eyetv Hybrid with QAM. With this build, the Hybrid shows up in the device configuration screen, however, the usb stick never shows any sign of power and there is no preview displayed. Any suggestions would be most appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2008, 08:09 PM
mcbrems's Avatar
mcbrems mcbrems is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 78
I had read elsewhere that SageTV recognized the first gen Elgato EyeTV Hybrid, but did not recognize the 2nd gen Hybrids until the newest SageTV Mac build. Mine is the 1st gen, shows up as the Hauppage950, and works fine with the new and older Mac builds, although there are no indications on the USB stick that it has power. Under what name does Sage recognize your Hybrid?
__________________
MacMini 2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB SDRAM OSX v10.6
Nvidia GeForce 9400M
Sony SXRD-A502000
Silicon Dust HDHomerun Dual OTA Tuner
2TB My Book External Firewire
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2008, 09:25 PM
SprDtyF350 SprDtyF350 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 436
I am not running the Mac server but I am using the Mac Client. I used to run at almost 100% cpu while watching HDTV but using the 6.4.0 beta I am seeing more like 55-60% with no stuttering. Big difference. I would love to be able to watch DVD's on my server with it like I can with the PC version.

I am running it on a Mac that isn't really supposed to be a Mac using OS X 10.5.1 with 2gb ram, a Celeron D 356 processor, Nvidia 7300 graphics, and a Griffin Firewave for sound. I think a real Mac has me out powered but I'm pretty happy with it..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-23-2008, 10:33 AM
iconic's Avatar
iconic iconic is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtm76 View Post
...found that it would not recognize my Eyetv Hybrid with QAM...
The newer hybrid with QAM support is not supported (yet), there was some confusion about models and IDs earlier. The same applies to the newer Hauppauge HVR-950q (720xx) model that's replacing the older HVR-950.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-23-2008, 11:26 PM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
You need to share more information about your setup. Issues like stuttering can be caused by lots of things.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-24-2008, 06:40 PM
karljayne karljayne is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 74
In your setup are you doing capture and playback on the same machine and are there other processes running?

On my configurations, I've tracked stuttering down to network throughput and processor bandwdth. Of course, there are other things that could be causing your symptoms.
__________________
Server WIN7PRO, AMD Phenom II Deneb, 4GB RAM, Gigabyte GeForce 7300 GS 512MB, RAID0 600GB, Hauppauge 500MCE, HD PVR w/ DCT-6200, HDHomerun, SageTV 7.0.12
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-24-2008, 11:28 PM
inlvnv inlvnv is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 95
I have an iMac to access media contents in WHS. Latest build of Client and Placeshifter seem to be working fine and no stuttering even when watching HD QAM channels. One major shortcoming that prevents me from purchasing the client version is no ripped DVD playback ability with Mac Client.
__________________
Server: Norco 450B server case w/ 1kw PS. Intel i3-530, 3GB RAM and HVR-1800.
Drives: 500GB sys, 2x 2TB, 9x1.5TB, 2x1TB and 1x750GB pooled. 750GB non-pooled for SageTV

Routers: DIR-655 and DIR-825 Bridges: 2xDAP-1522.
Installed: WHS OS, SageTV for WHS, PlayOn and Orb.
SageTV Plugins: PlayOn in OnLine Services.
SageTV clients: HD-200->Samsung LN52A750 and HD-100->Samsung LN40A650
Clients: 5 HP laptops, home built PC, iMac, PS3, PSP, XBox360, 3 iPhones 3gs (through OrbLive).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-12-2008, 05:32 PM
galileo5 galileo5 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Is there any chance that HVR-950q will be supported soon ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.