SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #821  
Old 12-08-2018, 03:20 PM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 832
I can post the apk but I donít know if thatís okay. You can google it though.

Put it on a flash drive. Go to the play store and turn off auto updates. This makes all apps manual update from here on out, but nothing you can do about it, otherwise you will wind I with 1.34 again. Then on the shield get ES file explorer. Plug the drive into the shield and use es to find the apk, and select it to install. You will have to jump through the usual hoops to allow es to install non play store files. Should be good after that
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #822  
Old 12-08-2018, 10:06 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 184
You can find it here:
https://apkpure.com/sagetv-miniclien...ad/2101030-APK

I believe this is a reliable source.

EDIT: Oops, didn't see the post above.
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.1.9 on Windows 7 x64 Home Premium, Core 2 Quad Q6600, 4gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.7u80
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs
Retired: ATI HDTV Wonder for OTA HD, VBox DTA-150 for OTA HD, Conexant 2388x (Blackbird) analog capture to Comcast DTA cable box with USBUirt, ATI Remote Wonder Plus, Fanless Radeon HD 6450

Last edited by waylo; 12-08-2018 at 10:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #823  
Old 12-09-2018, 08:30 PM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 242
stuckless, any chance you could re-upload the 1.30 to bintray?

--John
Reply With Quote
  #824  
Old 12-12-2018, 06:08 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpwegas View Post
stuckless, any chance you could re-upload the 1.30 to bintray?

--John
Unfortunately, I don't have the binaries I had to do a massive clean up on Bintray because they locked the account due to exceeding storage requirements. Sadly they don't tell you beforehand, and they don't actually tell you how much you are using, they just lock the account and hope that you figure it out. So, I purged almost everything. The reason 1.28 was retained, in addition to the latest, was that 1.28 appeared to be the most stable based on reports.

Personally, I'm using the latest on my 2 shields and on my MiBox and I have 0 issues. I try to understand how people have the issues they report and I can't explain it. One thing that I might do differently, is that, I always leave sagetv by killing the application. ie, I long press the "select" button and then select X to close it out. This ensures that the application gets completely torn down.... memory is freed up and caches are cleared, etc. I think it's the same effect as the "close on pause" setting which means that when you leave the app, it will close it out, I just do it forcefully.

Something else that people can try, is clearing the cached data for the app in the android settings. This will force a new client connection and go through that setup (unless you record your client id and then set the same client id). (this would be the same effect if you remove and then re-install the app, if you don't know how to clear cached data for the app).

I'm not sure when there will be a new release of this app. Feature wise there isn't much more I can add. I tend to update after a couple of ExoPlayer releases, especially if I see fixes in there related to mpeg and ts and ps parts. IjkPlayer doesn't appear to be actively developed any longer, so, not sure how much longer that player is going to be around.

I did start to look at rewriting the UI layer using native opengl, but, this is a huge task. Even using LibGDX (an opengl wrapper), it took months to do the UI. I thought that I could probably re-do it in a couple weeks, but, after a couple of weeks, I was still not even close, so, I put that on the back burner
Reply With Quote
  #825  
Old 12-12-2018, 06:52 AM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 832
Thanks for that explanation and all youíve done to bring it this far! The only thing Iím missing is 5.1 sound, which is not that big of a deal. in my limited understanding of the guts of all this, I believe that is a limitation of exoplayer? So I can put it to bed in my head, can you confirm whether 5.1 sound is at all possible?

Thanks either way!
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #826  
Old 12-12-2018, 07:10 AM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by btrcp2000 View Post
Thanks for that explanation and all youíve done to bring it this far! The only thing Iím missing is 5.1 sound, which is not that big of a deal. in my limited understanding of the guts of all this, I believe that is a limitation of exoplayer? So I can put it to bed in my head, can you confirm whether 5.1 sound is at all possible?

Thanks either way!
Exoplayer allows for bit streaming audio. You need something like an AV receiver to decode it though. 5.1 audio works for me that way, (SHIELD to receiver to speakers and display).
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #827  
Old 12-12-2018, 09:00 AM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Unfortunately, I don't have the binaries I had to do a massive clean up on Bintray because they locked the account due to exceeding storage requirements. Sadly they don't tell you beforehand, and they don't actually tell you how much you are using, they just lock the account and hope that you figure it out. So, I purged almost everything. The reason 1.28 was retained, in addition to the latest, was that 1.28 appeared to be the most stable based on reports.
That's annoying that they locked it. If you ever need some place to host future versions I'd be happy to help with that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Personally, I'm using the latest on my 2 shields and on my MiBox and I have 0 issues. I try to understand how people have the issues they report and I can't explain it. One thing that I might do differently, is that, I always leave sagetv by killing the application. ie, I long press the "select" button and then select X to close it out. This ensures that the application gets completely torn down.... memory is freed up and caches are cleared, etc. I think it's the same effect as the "close on pause" setting which means that when you leave the app, it will close it out, I just do it forcefully.
The Shield works well for me except for mpeg recordings (which is the majority for me unfortunately). It almost immediately hangs and exits shortly after I start playing. I've restarted and reinstalled and tried various options but the behavior is similar. I had read on a Plex or Myth thread somewhere that the MiBox may have better mpeg hardware playback but I haven't tried a MiBox yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I'm not sure when there will be a new release of this app. Feature wise there isn't much more I can add. I tend to update after a couple of ExoPlayer releases, especially if I see fixes in there related to mpeg and ts and ps parts. IjkPlayer doesn't appear to be actively developed any longer, so, not sure how much longer that player is going to be around.
I appreciate all the work you've done on this!

--John
Reply With Quote
  #828  
Old 12-15-2018, 08:16 AM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Exoplayer allows for bit streaming audio. You need something like an AV receiver to decode it though. 5.1 audio works for me that way, (SHIELD to receiver to speakers and display).
My receivers that play 5.1 through the hd300 fine, so i know the sources and equipt are correct. In the miniclient (shield tv) i've been playing with this and can't get exoplayer to play at all, let alone audio. it will pull the first frame, or maybe move forward every 15 seconds or so. My sources are HDHomerun Dual and r5000hd dish boxes. Both work fine if I leave the miniclient defaulted to IJK.
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #829  
Old 12-15-2018, 01:49 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by btrcp2000 View Post
My receivers that play 5.1 through the hd300 fine, so i know the sources and equipt are correct. In the miniclient (shield tv) i've been playing with this and can't get exoplayer to play at all, let alone audio. it will pull the first frame, or maybe move forward every 15 seconds or so. My sources are HDHomerun Dual and r5000hd dish boxes. Both work fine if I leave the miniclient defaulted to IJK.
Yeah, the miniclient for me has had mixed results with Exoplayer and my captured streams (OTA and Comcast CableCard on SD devices). Which is why I still use the HD300s. From what I've read the latest miniclient upgraded the Exoplayer version which has caused problems. I know recordings today are basically unwatchable for me now on the SHIELD. Some have reverted to earlier builds and there is another build coming with an even newer version of Exoplayer. But I do not want to turn off updates or sideload things. When Exoplayer likes the stream 5.1 works fine, but for now I still keep the HD300s around as a backup.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #830  
Old 12-15-2018, 02:56 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Yeah, the miniclient for me has had mixed results with Exoplayer and my captured streams (OTA and Comcast CableCard on SD devices). Which is why I still use the HD300s. From what I've read the latest miniclient upgraded the Exoplayer version which has caused problems. I know recordings today are basically unwatchable for me now on the SHIELD. Some have reverted to earlier builds and there is another build coming with an even newer version of Exoplayer. But I do not want to turn off updates or sideload things. When Exoplayer likes the stream 5.1 works fine, but for now I still keep the HD300s around as a backup.
I put in the latest ExoPlayer and things just get worse With every release of ExoPlayer it appears to do a worse job (for sagetv). I used to use ExoPlayer for all my h264 ts recordings, but, now, I have lots of seek issues Not sure how much I'll be able to work around that. And the new exoplayer also has a min requirement on Android 8.

IJKPlayer which is the player that I use mostly (now), is also on life support, with no new fixes/updates in over a year.

Not sure where we go from here. I've looked at the MPV library, and maybe, at some point I'll see if I can use mpv as the player library. The challenge is having to custom code all the player integrations to sagetv protocols, which took a long time for IJK and Exo.
Reply With Quote
  #831  
Old 12-20-2018, 07:33 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,483
I see lots of open issues where people are simply asking what the status of ijkplayer is since nothing has changed in while.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #832  
Old 12-20-2018, 08:02 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 973
Well, after the latest update I have watched a few things on the miniclient / Exoplayer with no problems after basically nothing working with the last update (OTA or CableCard). The app would just freeze. (Also after the update the icon was the Android logo, but today noticed it was back to the SageTV flower thingy).

Although now I have taken OTA out of the picture, so can't test with that. (I changed my attic antenna a few days ago because it was not working well with the one VHF channel in the area and while that channel comes in crystal clear now all the other UHF channels do not. And I got something that was supposed to be good for "High VHF" and UHF while the previous antenna was just for UHF. Ugh. So switched everything to CableCard for now while I figure out the antenna bit.)
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #833  
Old 02-11-2019, 08:50 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 859
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I put in the latest ExoPlayer and things just get worse With every release of ExoPlayer it appears to do a worse job (for sagetv). I used to use ExoPlayer for all my h264 ts recordings, but, now, I have lots of seek issues Not sure how much I'll be able to work around that. And the new exoplayer also has a min requirement on Android 8.

IJKPlayer which is the player that I use mostly (now), is also on life support, with no new fixes/updates in over a year.

Not sure where we go from here. I've looked at the MPV library, and maybe, at some point I'll see if I can use mpv as the player library. The challenge is having to custom code all the player integrations to sagetv protocols, which took a long time for IJK and Exo.
could sage miniclient be an add-on for something like MrMC or Kodi?
MrMC plays back sagetv recorded files without problem
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #834  
Old 02-12-2019, 09:37 PM
oldfolkie oldfolkie is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: California
Posts: 26
There is actually a SageTV add-on for Kodi - see: https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...3&postcount=70
It pretty basic and hasn't been updated in a long time, but it works for viewing and playing recordings within Kodi as long as you are still on Java 7.
Reply With Quote
  #835  
Old 02-17-2019, 04:38 PM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpwegas View Post
The Shield works well for me except for mpeg recordings (which is the majority for me unfortunately). It almost immediately hangs and exits shortly after I start playing.
I just noticed the same thing on my MiBox (posted about it yesterday in a different thread). No problems on my Galaxy Tab, though.
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally, a fully functional SageTV client on android and iphone! mkanet SageTV v7 Customizations 12 01-12-2013 12:22 AM
SageTV Placeshifter for Android nyle SageTV Placeshifter 5 12-31-2011 10:40 AM
Sage should get an android client running on this Deacon Crusher Hardware Support 1 09-29-2010 11:30 AM
Android client? equalize SageTV Placeshifter 1 07-22-2010 09:37 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.