SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2018, 03:47 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,021
Network Encoders and corrupted recordings??

So I still am using a Windows XP box as a network encoder for a DirecTV receiver (running SageTV v7). It works fine, but... a while back after something changed, it was either the upgrade to SageTV v9 or Windows 10 on the server, can't remember which, my recordings started getting corrupted from the network encoder. Looked like packets were getting dropped and this would manifest itself through audio drops and video garbage. It appears almost like an analog glitch.

How I fixed it as the time was to change the recording quality to VBR for that "tuner." I think this was successful because this effectively reduced the amount of data being set over the gigabit wired network in the house, by having the HD-PVR2 do the compressing in the file itself. I was reminded of this just recently because I tried to set the recording quality back to full CBR "Best" and that corruption came back on that tuner. Currently I'm experimenting with a different method by changing the Intel Pro/1000 Ethernet cards on both machines to use 9k jumbo frames and that seems to work.

Something broke somewhere with one of the mentioned updates, because this use to work just fine a couple years ago. I think it was Windows 10, but like I said I'm not sure. Did anything change with v9 that could have caused this?

Anyways, the recent I'm typing all this is I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2018, 07:01 PM
lewispm lewispm is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Collierville, TN
Posts: 72
I'm using a Win10 server and USB encoders and I got audio drops and video garbage last fall. Haven't seen it lately. I posted a few times about it to try to troubleshoot, but never figured it out, outside of maybe a bad hard drive.

Mine didn't look analog, mine looked digital. Lots of pixelation and squares on the screen with dropped audio.

Sounds different than yours, but are you sure yours is network encoder related?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2018, 01:31 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,021
Since I changed both the server and network encoder PC's to use jumbo frames on their NICs I haven't had the issue again. Fingers crossed it'll continue to work.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestions required regarding Network Encoders / Network Streams Jabroni SageTV v7 Customizations 2 03-27-2015 12:13 PM
v7 Network encoders dhorth SageTV Software 2 03-06-2011 04:42 PM
What's the secret to Network Encoders ? brewston SageTV Software 2 07-28-2008 12:48 PM
Linux Network Encoders Mahoney SageTV Linux 2 10-01-2007 06:33 AM
PVR-500 SageTV Network Encoders davey_fl Hardware Support 1 06-19-2005 12:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.