SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-13-2003, 12:19 PM
JJarmoc JJarmoc is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hanover Park, IL
Posts: 265
Well, I'm ready for HDTV support and I'm sure there's many more people who are as well. It's true, we're a small portion of the market now, but given that there's really no viable HDTV PVR solution, the first person to deliver one probably stands to reach a sizeable market. I'd bet that HDTV enabled Sage could grow far quicker than SDTV Sage, given the competition in the SDTV PVR market, and the small number of people who have even heard of sage. Many HDTV user's already have HTPCs, so adding sage is relatively simple.

As for the encryption, there are already cards which allow HDTV recording, so clearly this has been tackled by others. I'm not even sure if OTA is encrypted, and so far the broadcast flag and HDCP haven't come to pass. If they do, they're going to have to allow some sort of backwards compatibility for existing HDTV and HDTV-Ready TV owners who lack HDCP support. I see these things as concerns for the card manufacturers more so than software developers and end users.

Anyhow, here's hoping I can Sage in HD soon!
__________________
---
There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary, and those who don't.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-13-2003, 12:28 PM
sub sub is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 127
How about getting some On Screen Display functionality going for the PVR350 tv out. Even some very simple OSD would help the usability for those of dont want to (or cant) have a monitor sitting next to the TV.

I know alot of people are buying this card for small Via EPIA based HTPCs, because they not really fast enough to do software mpg decoding. Also, the TV out quality on the PVR350 is also so much better than the tvout supplied by these EPIA motherboards.

Is this anywhere in the priority list?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-16-2003, 10:27 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,308
sub,
The 350 OSD is on the list for the future, can't give an estimate as to when yet. As for the EPIA based PCs. That's what I use for my client HTPC when I watch TV. And I use it's MPEG2 decoding acceleration and get great performance. And you definitely need to modify the color settings for the TV output...the defaults look horrible, but a little tweaking gets a pretty nice picture. And I use 30%CPU when watching TV.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-16-2003, 12:31 PM
sub sub is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 127
Narflex, what resolution and bitrate are you running? Also, what mpeg2 codec are you using? Anything else that may be relevant?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-16-2003, 05:36 PM
insomniac's Avatar
insomniac insomniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Concord, Ca.
Posts: 1,104
Narflex,

Can you give me your EPIA's exact specs? I believe I have tried every codec/card combo with DXVA enabled and have had nothing less than 80% cpu . Its been driving me crazy! Any input is appreciated.

I.

Quote:
Originally posted by Narflex
sub,
The 350 OSD is on the list for the future, can't give an estimate as to when yet. As for the EPIA based PCs. That's what I use for my client HTPC when I watch TV. And I use it's MPEG2 decoding acceleration and get great performance. And you definitely need to modify the color settings for the TV output...the defaults look horrible, but a little tweaking gets a pretty nice picture. And I use 30%CPU when watching TV.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-18-2003, 08:09 PM
insomniac's Avatar
insomniac insomniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Concord, Ca.
Posts: 1,104
Beuler?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-19-2003, 07:30 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,308
Look around the forums, I've posted them a dozen times....
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-19-2003, 09:19 PM
insomniac's Avatar
insomniac insomniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Concord, Ca.
Posts: 1,104
Youll have to forgive me, but thats not the response I was looking for. I have looked around, and have found tons of bits and peices. I have not yet found a complete combination of codec/card/drivers/etc/etc.. I was hoping that after all the problems that I have had with this particular board, that others would not have to.

If I find all the information that you have posted, I will compile it and post it for others.

I.

Quote:
Originally posted by Narflex
Look around the forums, I've posted them a dozen times....

Last edited by insomniac; 06-19-2003 at 09:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-20-2003, 01:54 PM
jmeeks jmeeks is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 309
Insomniac, I found the following threads in which Narflex posted his systems specs.

http://www.freytechnologies.com/foru...highlight=epia


http://www.freytechnologies.com/foru...highlight=epia


http://www.freytechnologies.com/foru...highlight=epia

In the last one Narflex talks about the codecs he uses.
__________________
John Meeks
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-20-2003, 05:48 PM
insomniac's Avatar
insomniac insomniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Concord, Ca.
Posts: 1,104
Thank you for the links. Link 2 and 3 are the same (no codec link), but I will look around more when I am less irritated.

I.

Quote:
Originally posted by jmeeks
Insomniac, I found the following threads in which Narflex posted his systems specs.

http://www.freytechnologies.com/foru...highlight=epia


http://www.freytechnologies.com/foru...highlight=epia


http://www.freytechnologies.com/foru...highlight=epia

In the last one Narflex talks about the codecs he uses.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 06-20-2003, 07:18 PM
sub sub is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 127
I'm also yet to see the CPU at less than %80 on my Epia M10000 (nehemiah core).

The most frustrating thing is the difference in picture between the TV out on my Epia motherboard and TV out on my PVR350. The TV out on the PVR350 is sooooo good and uses just about no CPU. The Epia's is just average, and consume virtually all the available CPU.

On the PVR350 I could live without OSD (over live TV picture) if only I could get the guide and other SageTV menus through the PVR350's TV out.

QUESTION TO FREYTECHNOLOGIES: How about it guys? Any chance you could MPEG2 encode the guide and menu screens so that they can be sent out the Hauppauge Decoder filter to the PVR350's TV out?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06-20-2003, 10:24 PM
comprat comprat is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally posted by sub
QUESTION TO FREYTECHNOLOGIES: How about it guys? Any chance you could MPEG2 encode the guide and menu screens so that they can be sent out the Hauppauge Decoder filter to the PVR350's TV out?
Come'on people! As Narflex stated earlier, OSD for the PVR-350 is slated for a future release and there is no release date as of yet. Have patience! As far as I'm concerned, development and progress on SageTV has been more than sufficient, and considering SageTV is such a new product, it has a lot more functionality than other PVR solutions out there already.

Keep up the good work Frey Technologies!

comprat
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06-21-2003, 02:28 AM
sub sub is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 127
Dont get me wrong, I think SageTV is a great product and coming along very nicely.

To be quite honest, I dont think Frey Technologies know how to implement OSD on the PVR350, so I'm just suggesting one possible approach. Hauppauge arn't the best at supplying technical information, and we've yet to see OSD on the 350 in *any* application (including Hauppauge's WinTV2K).

There seems to be a growing community of people like myself that have an underpowered EPIA motherboard and had hoped to rely on the PVR350's hardware decoder (& encoder) to ensure we can get good performance.

Frey Technologies owe me nothing, and I'm happy with my purchase - I'm just making a suggestion.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06-22-2003, 12:50 PM
sub sub is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 127
Thats great news! I look forward to it.

edit: Strangely I'm referring to Jeffs post after this one...

Last edited by sub; 06-22-2003 at 01:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 06-22-2003, 01:25 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,308
FYI - I do know how to do OSD on the 350. I've already done a proof of concept on it. The full integration of it; however, is time consuming.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.