SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2005, 09:36 AM
DynamoBen DynamoBen is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 291
Lightbulb CallerID + Recording/Playback Status

I was reading through the developer section of YAC today and had a thought. Not only could this be a great way to display callerID info on servers/clients but also status about what sage is doing. Yac could send a text message (to clients) when a recording starts/stop or when a file is being played on the server. Nielm created a status monitor untility that does 1/2 of this task but Yac could be a 2 for 1 solution.
Unfortunatly I'm not a programer and would not know how to implement this. However, they do offer source code I'm sure there is a way to implement these two features. What would be great is to be able to pause sage when a call is recieved and possibly make it look more like Tivo CallerID (OSD).
Once altered it could be added to the Sage Community website. The best part about this solution is you wouldn't need an SVT to make it work.

http://www.sunflowerhead.com/software/yac/

Developer info:
http://sunflowerhead.com/software/yac/yac-sdk.htm

Let me know what everyone thinks....I'm using Yac now and would love to see it modified for Sage use.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2005, 11:03 PM
bebanovich bebanovich is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 52
I have been watching the caller ID thread with great interest, but I am in the same boat as you. I took a look at YAC and tried to fumble through making a listener that would work w/ Nielm's stv but it's currently beyond my reach.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2005, 04:46 AM
laurenglenn's Avatar
laurenglenn laurenglenn is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 601
Send a message via AIM to laurenglenn Send a message via MSN to laurenglenn
Quote:
Originally Posted by bebanovich
I have been watching the caller ID thread with great interest, but I am in the same boat as you. I took a look at YAC and tried to fumble through making a listener that would work w/ Nielm's stv but it's currently beyond my reach.
All you have to do is follow the instructions on the YAC web site. Change the default port in Nielm's popup plugin to 10629 -- Property "nielm/infopopup/bind_port")

Run YAC and set up a listening station at 127.0.0.1

I don't have a land-line phone, so I don't know if YAC works. But the test call pops up in Sage using Nielm's popup plugin.

Lauren
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2005, 04:57 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Lauren: Thats impressively easy!

DynamoBen: the reason for the STV import info popup is so that it looks 'integrated' into Sage and also so it would work on an MVP or an XCARD's or PVR-350's TV-out...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2005, 07:51 AM
Grey_Goose Grey_Goose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 150
is the popup plugin built into the STV, or is it a standalone download?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2005, 08:12 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
It's built into Laurens. For other STVs that have an 'import STV module' in detailed setup/Advanced, there is a plugin module here
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:44 AM
DynamoBen DynamoBen is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 291
The advantage in this situation, for me, is that I can see info pop up on not only the sage server (which has the modem) but also all the network clients. Thats ultimately what I'm after.

I will try in the instructions that laurenglen posted. I had hoped that someone would not only customize Yac to pause the currently playing file and change the look of it a little. Honestly, the text is way too small on my server.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2005, 11:37 AM
fafurd fafurd is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 47
For whatever reason, I had problems changing the infopopups port, so I changed the Yak port to 20001. It worked like a charm. Becuase of the Yak spec, the message comes up something like the following:
@CALLUnknown Caller~(555)555-1212

No big deal. Within Yak, I create a name substition and put a bunch of periods before the name to create a visual separation. Just to let you know, you can't change it after clicking the Add button; you will have to make the change in the INI file.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.