SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2003, 04:09 PM
sudipto sudipto is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 239
What's the BEST remote for use with SageTV ?

What is the BEST remote for use with SageTV ? By BEST I mean one that has the maximum number of buttons that closely relate to each individual function of SageTV (i.e. Home, Guide, TV, Full Screen, Ch Up/Down, Skip Fwd/Bkwd, Time Scroll etc. ... i.e. all commands listed on page 10-11 of the user manual)

I was planning on using ATI Remote Wonder, but there doesn't seem to be appropriate buttons for many of the above functions (i.e. Home, Time Scroll, Favorite, Don't Like etc.). Sure I can map some arbitrary button (sa button 'E') to "Home" ... but that is not intuitive at all. I would really like a remote control that so closely matches the SageTV functions, that I will have to minimum number of arbitrary mappings like that.

What is most people using as the remote for SageTV ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2003, 04:15 PM
JasonJoel JasonJoel is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,043
Re: What's the BEST remote for use with SageTV ?

Good luck. I personally think the Remote Wonder IS the best fit... At least until I can get a Remote Wonder II...

Although I also use a Streamzap remote on one machine. Same issue though, you have to use buttons labelled for other functions (or the unlabeled colored buttons on bottom) for SageTV functions...

Jason

Quote:
Originally posted by sudipto
What is the BEST remote for use with SageTV ? By BEST I mean one that has the maximum number of buttons that closely relate to each individual function of SageTV (i.e. Home, Guide, TV, Full Screen, Ch Up/Down, Skip Fwd/Bkwd, Time Scroll etc. ... i.e. all commands listed on page 10-11 of the user manual)

I was planning on using ATI Remote Wonder, but there doesn't seem to be appropriate buttons for many of the above functions (i.e. Home, Time Scroll, Favorite, Don't Like etc.). Sure I can map some arbitrary button (sa button 'E') to "Home" ... but that is not intuitive at all. I would really like a remote control that so closely matches the SageTV functions, that I will have to minimum number of arbitrary mappings like that.

What is most people using as the remote for SageTV ?

Last edited by JasonJoel; 11-14-2003 at 06:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2003, 04:21 PM
sudipto sudipto is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 239
Thanks for the quick reply, Jason !

Yes, based on everything I have seen so far, Remote Wonder seems to be the closes match. I'd be curious to know how you have mapped your buttons.

I have the StreamZap as well as the IRMan, so I can possibly use a Universal remote with IRMan ... that's why I was looking to see if anyone knew about any universal remote that would have buttons closely matching SageTV functions.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2003, 06:48 PM
JasonJoel JasonJoel is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,043
I guess you could always get something like a PDA-like remote a la the Pronto, and make it look however you want on the screen. Kind of expensive though.

On my remote wonder, I use the SageTV Remote Wonder plugin (available on the hardware forum). I'll double check my settings on them later. I know I put FF #2/RW #2 on buttons E&F though.

Jason


Quote:
Originally posted by sudipto
Thanks for the quick reply, Jason !

Yes, based on everything I have seen so far, Remote Wonder seems to be the closes match. I'd be curious to know how you have mapped your buttons.

I have the StreamZap as well as the IRMan, so I can possibly use a Universal remote with IRMan ... that's why I was looking to see if anyone knew about any universal remote that would have buttons closely matching SageTV functions.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2003, 07:11 PM
andrewswright andrewswright is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 75
The MCE remote available from Newegg is perfect for Sage. It has Dedicated Live TV and Guide buttons, channel up/down, FF/RW etc. Many buttons on the remote work out of the box if you have WinXP Pro service pack1 or Windows Media center edition. Other buttons can be easily mapped to SageTV using Girder. You can still use the remote with other versions of Windows, but you would have to have a separate IR receiver (such as the USB-UIRT) and use Girder to map all of the buttons.

Good Luck,
Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-14-2003, 07:13 PM
andrewswright andrewswright is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 75
Here is a picture of the MCE remote from Newegg. The remote that I received does not, however, say Microsoft on it.

Andrew
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mce remote.jpg (20.7 KB, 4346 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2003, 05:23 AM
justme justme is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Greater Baltimore/Washington Metropolitan area
Posts: 1,481
A Tivo remote also works great running thru a USB-UIRT. I just set up my Tivo and remote to think I had two Tivo's. Now I just slide a switch on my Tivo remote to go from Sage control to Tivo control.

PS:Obviously this won't work if you actually do have two Tivo's.
__________________
"Between you and me, my name's irrelevant."
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-15-2003, 06:11 AM
corykim corykim is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 153
Check out the Sony RM-AV3000. It's a wonderful remote that has a vast array of soft buttons, accompanied by a good selection of hard buttons.

http://www.remotecentral.com/av3000/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-17-2003, 11:00 AM
dkardatzke's Avatar
dkardatzke dkardatzke is offline
SageTV Co-Founder
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,220
I love my Home Theater Master MX-500. I use it with SageTV via the IRMan.

http://www.universal-remote.com/htm/mx500/index.html
__________________
Dan Kardatzke, Co-Founder
SageTV, LLC
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-17-2003, 02:10 PM
ToxMox's Avatar
ToxMox ToxMox is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,980
I second the Home Theater Master line of remotes! I love my MX-700. Love love love....got rid of all, and I do mean ALL of my other remotes. (when I say got rid of I mean I put them all in a safe place...I wouldn't get crazy and throw them all away or anything like that)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-19-2003, 10:19 AM
mrseidler mrseidler is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose. CA
Posts: 38
Andrew, that MCE remote control...on Newegg they say that it only works with XP Media Center, Is that true? Or are does sage recognize the usb receiver and allow you to map all of the commands?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-19-2003, 12:00 PM
mangriotis mangriotis is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 345
For me, the Pronto TSU-2000 was worth the investment. Since then, the cheaper Pronto Neo (which has more physical buttons) may be a better alternative... I love the flexibility of the Pronto.
__________________
m2
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-19-2003, 05:50 PM
salsbst's Avatar
salsbst salsbst is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,592
Quote:
Originally posted by mrseidler
Andrew, that MCE remote control...on Newegg they say that it only works with XP Media Center, Is that true? Or are does sage recognize the usb receiver and allow you to map all of the commands?
The remote itself works with any transceiver. I use it with a USB-UIRT. There is a plugin for SageTV that enables full use of the USB-UIRT, or you can use it through Girder (which is what I do).

There is a Girder plugin for the transceiver that ships with the remote, although there is no direct support for it in SageTV.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-19-2003, 06:48 PM
andrewswright andrewswright is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally posted by mrseidler
Andrew, that MCE remote control...on Newegg they say that it only works with XP Media Center, Is that true? Or are does sage recognize the usb receiver and allow you to map all of the commands?
The remote comes with it's own IR receiver that works with XP Media Center. It also works with XP Pro with service pack 1 installed (which is what I am running). With either of these OSs, many commands work out of the box (volume, all of the number keys, the arrow keys, enter, some of the transport keys). The keys that don't run out of the box can be used to drive Girder using a plugin specific to this remote. The green windows key on the remote is set out of the box to simulate the windows key on a keyboard, which normally brings up the start menu. I have mine remapped to return to myHTPC using a utility called hotkeyboard.

If anyone needs it, I can post my Girder file that uses the MCE remote to drive SageTV, Zoomplayer, and myHTPC.

If you don't have either of those operating systems, you can still use the remote but the included IR receiver will not work. You would then need another receiver, such as the USB-UIRT. You would also have to use the USB-UIRT SageTV plugin or Girder.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-19-2003, 07:52 PM
mrseidler mrseidler is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose. CA
Posts: 38
I'm running XP Pro SP1, so it sounds like I can manuever around right out of the box with that thing. Does it control Windows Media Player too? I like the XP MCE remote control, though I guess I really don't need anymore remotes around the house. Maybe the IRman or USB-UIRT with one of my existing remotes is a better way to go to eliminate clutter.

I appreciate the offer on the GML files but I just can't seem to climb the girder learning curve.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-20-2003, 03:09 AM
andrewswright andrewswright is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 75
The remote will control Windows Media PLayer out of the box.

Unfortunately, without girder you won't be able to make use of all the buttons. However, this remote is pretty simple to use with Girder. Just install Girder and the MCE remote plugin. There are exported groups made to control SageTV. All you need to do is select the SageTV command, click learn, and then press the appropriate button on the remote.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-20-2003, 07:20 AM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,235
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
Get an Airboard IR keyboard. It has its own IR receiver that works from the PS2 ports. Buy a Home Theater Master MX-500 or MX-700 remote and teach it all the keyboard shortcuts from the Airboard. Now you have a remote that can do anything a keyboard can, and an excellent keyboard when needed to boot.

No messing with Girder. No need for IRMan.

-Robert
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-20-2003, 07:26 AM
mangriotis mangriotis is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 345
Actually, that is nearly the exact setup I have. An airboard with a pronto. It's great because you can teach the remote any keyboard command with ease, thereby controlling anything except mouse movement via the remote, in Sage, Windows, anything...
__________________
m2
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-20-2003, 06:35 PM
sudipto sudipto is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 239
Anyone tried the URC-6131 ?

I would love to buy the Pronto or MX500 if I had the money

However, since I don't I have been looking at other cheaper alternatives. I recently came across the following remote, which seems perfect for use with SageTV.

OneForAll URC-6131 PVR Remote

The retail price is $19.99, but it is available in many places for around $10-12.

This has got enough buttons to assign all of the SageTV commands to appropirate individual button, and still have a few to spare.

I already have an IRMan, which, as I understand is fully supported by SageTV. So if I can set this remote up for use with Girder, with a little bit of work this could be my best solution ... until someone gives me a Pronto as a gift (hint for wife if she is looking)

Anyone here tried this remote with SageTV ? I hope this works with IRMan and Girder.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-20-2003, 06:56 PM
rkn555 rkn555 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
i agree with valnar....
i too have a wireless infrared keyboard.
and a Sony RM-AV2100 remote which i bought on ebay over a year ago for 99 bucks.
go into sagetv client settings and click on the command tab.
then assign keyboard shortcuts to all the functions of sage. then just use your "learning" remote controller and input all the keyboard shortcuts into your remote.
just finished setting up my remote last night!
works great.
even taught my remote to turn on my pc (pc can boot from keyboard activity)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.