SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2010, 03:53 AM
radiopaque's Avatar
radiopaque radiopaque is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 44
SCART RGB through breakout cable on the new 300?

Hi,
Will I be able to simply use a converter cable to get a SCART output, or does the 300 not do RGB? This latter bit is important, as one of my TV's can only understand RGB SCART, no other types and no digital at all, either!
Thanks,
Mark
__________________
CQC home automation and SageTV Server on Dell PE840 with 6TB RAID5 and two hauppauge tuners ; UPC cable TV ; Secondary headless unRAID on old Pentium 4 system with 3.8TB storage ; SageTV and AnyDVD on HTPC ; Arcam FMJ AV9 and P7, Anthony Gallo Reference AV speakers L/R/C and Gallo spheres for surround ; 50" Panasonic Plasma ; SB players throughout the house.

Last edited by radiopaque; 09-01-2010 at 03:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2010, 12:01 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
As far as I know, the only outputs available through the breakout cable are component video, composite video, and analog stereo audio. There is no S-Video output, for instance. So I'm guessing there's no easy way to get RGB SCART out of it.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2010, 12:36 PM
radiopaque's Avatar
radiopaque radiopaque is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 44
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by GKusnick View Post
As far as I know, the only outputs available through the breakout cable are component video, composite video, and analog stereo audio. There is no S-Video output, for instance. So I'm guessing there's no easy way to get RGB SCART out of it.
It is my experience that almost nothing with component connectors from the USA can actually be switched to RGB, unfortunately. My Arcam amplifier can do either RGB or component on the same R, G, B connectors, pretty neat. Then again, Arcam is British.

I think I'll be using a 300 in the home theater, and a 200 (bought JUST in time!) with the older TV. The 200 does have s-video, fortunately, and it works flawlessly.
__________________
CQC home automation and SageTV Server on Dell PE840 with 6TB RAID5 and two hauppauge tuners ; UPC cable TV ; Secondary headless unRAID on old Pentium 4 system with 3.8TB storage ; SageTV and AnyDVD on HTPC ; Arcam FMJ AV9 and P7, Anthony Gallo Reference AV speakers L/R/C and Gallo spheres for surround ; 50" Panasonic Plasma ; SB players throughout the house.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Full RGB MorfiusX SageTV Media Extender 10 05-12-2009 09:56 AM
Video quality on PC monitor or TV with RGB ChrisR Hardware Support 4 02-02-2006 06:04 PM
VGA -> RGB SCART cable; flickery image Mahoney Hardware Support 6 08-25-2005 01:57 AM
VGA to Scart Converter Spies Hardware Support 0 08-18-2005 08:50 AM
RGB Downscaling Beelzebub Hardware Support 0 07-28-2004 05:52 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.