SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2003, 02:33 PM
grot grot is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 50
Development Update?

I know you guys are hard at work. I sort of feel like we're all beta testing though, and I'm dying for more more more!

Can you give us an update on what you're working on, and when we all might be able to start testing stuff???

Your eager customer.

Grot
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2003, 09:33 PM
Mark Lamutt's Avatar
Mark Lamutt Mark Lamutt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: HDTV Wastland known as Denver, CO
Posts: 769
You're now going through what we went through in the initial beta process...

Exciting, isn't it?
__________________
Mark
mark@freytechnologies.com
The picture is of my kitty, Myko at 9 months old.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2003, 04:57 AM
justme justme is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Greater Baltimore/Washington Metropolitan area
Posts: 1,481
Exciting and madening I find myself checking every post by Dan and Jeff. At first I thought HD, then Hollywood+, now maybe transcoding to MPEG4. And of course my favorite a limited web client. To be honest I hadn't realized how caught up in this I was til I found no new betas for a week. I admit to being a software junkie, but usually my interest fades and I move on to another program. With SageTV, I just can't seem to get enough. It already has so much to offer and it's obvious it's just going to get infinitly better as time goes on.



PS:TO Narflex:Sorry if I keep hitting you with feature requests. There's just something about the software and community you've created that makes a user feel like they are a part of the project.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2003, 08:39 AM
insomniac's Avatar
insomniac insomniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Concord, Ca.
Posts: 1,104
Please just tell me that sage is going to do my laundry in the next release. Ive been waiting so long for that kind of software functionality!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2003, 10:09 AM
dkardatzke's Avatar
dkardatzke dkardatzke is offline
SageTV Co-Founder
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,220
You guys make me smile..... and laugh....
__________________
Dan Kardatzke, Co-Founder
SageTV, LLC
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2003, 05:02 PM
justme justme is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Greater Baltimore/Washington Metropolitan area
Posts: 1,481
Hopefully we will make you laugh all the way to the bank. You deserve it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2003, 07:01 PM
dkardatzke's Avatar
dkardatzke dkardatzke is offline
SageTV Co-Founder
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,220
Alright, you guys pushed me so I guess I'm going to break down and tell you.

Coming soon....

HDTV support
DVD Playback
CD Playback

We'll keep you posted on when beta versions will be available and what HDTV card we will support first. That's all for now.
__________________
Dan Kardatzke, Co-Founder
SageTV, LLC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2003, 07:14 PM
justme justme is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Greater Baltimore/Washington Metropolitan area
Posts: 1,481
Exclamation

Awesome I love the DVD and CD playback abilities. I can't wait for the first beta. Once you posted you knew this was coming so I'll ask the first question. Do you think you'll get DVD playback to work with the 350 HW decoder? I know this should be impossible but, you guys do the impossible all the time.



PS:Keep going at this rate and you'll make my modded Xbox with XBMP redundant.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-12-2003, 07:25 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,308
The 350's HW Decoder can't do CSS decryption (in the current driver at least). And that's required for playing back encrypted DVDs (which is essentially everything).
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-12-2003, 07:34 PM
insomniac's Avatar
insomniac insomniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Concord, Ca.
Posts: 1,104
Dirty laundry still
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-12-2003, 07:55 PM
grot grot is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 50
Psyched about embedding DVDplayback. And CD playback.

Still wish recording management or interface improvements we're top of mind, but as I've said in my reviews of Sage, you guys get the low level (read, the hard technical stuff) right, and seem to worry less about "pretty" - as opposed to MSFT and Snapstream, who are good at pretty, but not so good at "it works" (grin).

Allow me to toss yet another "open the interface" log on the fire. I know it's probably not "easy", but it would be SOOO cool if you could just open up all the front end stuff and let the opensource community do the skins and interfaces. THere are a lot of people who are very good at it who'd have you styling in a heartbeat, and we'd STILL all pay you 60 bucks because the hard stuff works (grin).
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-12-2003, 08:03 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,308
Grot, have you been reading my thoughts again????
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-13-2003, 06:48 AM
grot grot is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 50
Narflex -

Golly I hope so. I am just aching to get my "hooks" into, well, your hooks.

Grot
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-13-2003, 07:40 AM
Watter Watter is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally posted by grot
Golly I hope so. I am just aching to get my "hooks" into, well, your hooks.
No kidding. As a Java programmer, I've been dying to take a crack at making some changes to the interface to match my personal preferences.

-Watter
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-13-2003, 09:11 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,508
Now before you all start jump up and down on fact that 350 can't Decoder Commercial DVD Disk which has do with CSS encryption there reson for this know as MPAA hell which no one really want to hear about.
The 350 can Decoder Commercial DVD Disk but it not in the firmware rigth now.
So what would happing if do add support in the firmware well Hauppauge would no chosse but to enable that Dirty Laundry (Macrovision Hell that is) when come to Commercial DVD Disk which has CSS (Content Scrambling System) which need be enable on both input and output on Video Digitizer, Video DAC and Tuner in order to be licensed to legally decode DVDs for playback which end up on both the 250/350 as for NoN Commercial VCD/SVCD/CVD/DVD Disk this shouldn't be much of a problem for jeff on add support there.

I like that idea grot at the end of your message "open the interface" that sound cool.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-13-2003, 10:03 AM
Watter Watter is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 233
Honestly, and perhaps I'm just uninformed here, but I'm not sure I'd even use the my 350's DVD decoding if it were made available. After all, one of the main reasons to have a HTPC instead of a normal DVD player is the amazing quality and flexibility you can get on your DVD viewing by outputting the picture in the correct resolution from the VGA port and by using some of the incredible codecs that are available (The ones from the NVDVD player are the codec du jour it seems). If one were using the 350's svideo out for DVD viewing, wouldn't the quality be similar to just a standard (not even progressive) set top DVD player?

-Watter
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-13-2003, 10:15 AM
JJarmoc JJarmoc is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hanover Park, IL
Posts: 265
I agree with Watter. Being an HDTV user, if I can't play progressive DVDs at suitable resolutions for my TV, they won't get played.

I'm absolutely DIEING to see what this functionality looks like. HDTV and DVD support will pretty much make Sage the only app I need to run on my HTPC. That is, if it's got aspect ratio control, progressive scan support, etc..

Now that the cat's out of the bag, I just hope we don't have to wait long. I feel like a kid on christmas eve, or maybe the day before christmas eve.. i'm a kid with a bad sense of time who knows christmas is soon.
__________________
---
There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary, and those who don't.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-13-2003, 10:17 AM
JJarmoc JJarmoc is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hanover Park, IL
Posts: 265
Ohh, one more thing.. it'd be nice if you could tell us which HDTV cards will be supported a few days before the beta release, so we all have time to procure one :-)
__________________
---
There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary, and those who don't.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-13-2003, 10:31 AM
dkardatzke's Avatar
dkardatzke dkardatzke is offline
SageTV Co-Founder
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,220
We will tell you once we begin our test with a small subset of current users. Then we will open it up to others.
__________________
Dan Kardatzke, Co-Founder
SageTV, LLC
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-13-2003, 10:52 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,508
The thing is not every one will have option for HDTV hook or TV hook no space for it nor are rich enogth to go buy reg HDTV set most you HDTV user still seems alway forgot 95% of TV user are still 4x3 and there still 3yrs more to go before analog get dump.
If recall rigth you still going have to put with HDTV encryption recording jeff can only dump the stream.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.