SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #261  
Old 11-22-2006, 08:13 AM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Welcome back Crashless!
__________________
Clients: 1xHD200 Connected to 50" TH-50PZ750U Plasma
Server : Shuttle SFF SSH55J2 w/ Win7 Home, SageTV v7, Core i3 540, 2GB RAM, 30GB SSD for OS, 1.5TB+2x1TB WDGP for Recordings, BluRay, 2xHDHR, 1xFirewire
SageTV : PlayOn, SJQ, MediaShrink, Comskip, Jetty, Web Client, BMT


Having a problem? Don't forget to include a log! (Instructions for: PlayOn For SageTV v1.5, MediaShrink)
Reply With Quote
  #262  
Old 11-22-2006, 05:16 PM
iain's Avatar
iain iain is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 55
awesome

DUDE!

That's awesome news
I haven't stopped using this STV since I first installed sage because it is by far the most super sweet interface of any PVR.

It's going to be weird having some bugs fixed like the delete button actually working after 2 years
Reply With Quote
  #263  
Old 11-22-2006, 06:32 PM
Crashless's Avatar
Crashless Crashless is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by iain
DUDE!

That's awesome news
I haven't stopped using this STV since I first installed sage because it is by far the most super sweet interface of any PVR.

It's going to be weird having some bugs fixed like the delete button actually working after 2 years
So glad to hear you've stuck with me! Yeah, sorry about that delete button...

Thanks so much!

No bugs yet?
__________________
Give the Meekell STV a try!
Reply With Quote
  #264  
Old 11-23-2006, 11:38 AM
LJSSageUser LJSSageUser is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Crashless,

I'm crushed. I've used your STV exclusively and haven't wanted to update my SageTV since I use analog and SD TV, but it appears you're not going to release an update to your earlier STV. Say it isn't so......
Reply With Quote
  #265  
Old 11-23-2006, 01:32 PM
Crashless's Avatar
Crashless Crashless is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,224
Do you mean? Are you looking for a v5 compatible version, or an SDTV version? I haven't reformatted any of the screens for widescreen if that's what you mean. I still have an SD client, so I have good reason to keep things readable on 4:3 too.

If you mean you don't want to have to upgrade to v6, I'm very sorry. Its nearly impossible to maintain two versions of an STV. You can of course try it on v5 and it _might_ work. but the new v6 compression etc won't work for obvious reasons.

IMHO, the new compression stuff is worth the price of admission.

What can I do to help you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LJSSageUser
Crashless,

I'm crushed. I've used your STV exclusively and haven't wanted to update my SageTV since I use analog and SD TV, but it appears you're not going to release an update to your earlier STV. Say it isn't so......
__________________
Give the Meekell STV a try!
Reply With Quote
  #266  
Old 11-24-2006, 11:01 AM
LJSSageUser LJSSageUser is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Yah, that's it. El Cheapo doesn't want to upgrade because everything is working great, and I don't want to spend money to drive myself crazy trying to get it back to the condition it's in now.

Maybe I the problem is in the zip file. There is no STV in it; just an XML file, some class modules, and a bunch of png files. Did I miss something?
Reply With Quote
  #267  
Old 11-24-2006, 11:09 AM
Crashless's Avatar
Crashless Crashless is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,224
Hmm. I thought they had already switched to the XML format for v5 - the issue is v0.5.0 of my STV wouldn't list xml files when you're looking for an STV to load. Try opening the default STV then v0.6.0 of mine. OR you could try renaming the XML to STV and see what happens.

If this doesn't work, I'm truely sorry - but it's just WAY too much work to maintain two versions of the STV.

FWIW, v6 has been extremely stable for me and was a painless upgrade. Try backing up your .properties and .wiz and give v6 a try. Worst-case scenario - you go back to v5, right?
__________________
Give the Meekell STV a try!
Reply With Quote
  #268  
Old 11-24-2006, 11:16 AM
LJSSageUser LJSSageUser is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Changing the extension to STV worked... Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #269  
Old 11-24-2006, 11:25 AM
Crashless's Avatar
Crashless Crashless is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJSSageUser
Changing the extension to STV worked... Thanks.

Great! What version of SageTV are you using? I'd like to add it to the compatibility page at the start of the thread.
__________________
Give the Meekell STV a try!
Reply With Quote
  #270  
Old 11-24-2006, 11:41 AM
farfromuman farfromuman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 127
When I load the STV the menus start drawing on top of each other, looks like the screen is not cleared each time. I remember having a similar problem long time ago and it had to do with the background. I am on beta 6.15. Any hints on how to fix this?

Thanks,

Mariusz
Reply With Quote
  #271  
Old 11-24-2006, 12:46 PM
Crashless's Avatar
Crashless Crashless is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,224
It's probably an issue of where you've unzipped the file to. The Meekell_0_6_0.xml file must be in your 'SageTV/STVs' folder with the 'teehan-lax' folder there as well.

if the files aren't in the right place, it can't find the correct images to draw and you will get that artifact.
__________________
Give the Meekell STV a try!
Reply With Quote
  #272  
Old 11-24-2006, 03:32 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashless
Great! What version of SageTV are you using? I'd like to add it to the compatibility page at the start of the thread.
Just so you know -- an STV file created in v6 won't work correctly using SageTV v5 w/o some extra XML file editing after saving the STV in Studio. There is a discussion the the Studio section of the forum. Plus, there are lots of new API calls, so if any of those are used, that code won't work in v5 either.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #273  
Old 11-24-2006, 06:04 PM
Pretzelboy Pretzelboy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 42
I just installed Meekell 0.6.0 on a 6.0.15 beta installation and I found three problems:

Issue 1:

The 0.5.0 fix list contains "Fixed all Watch Conflict popups (I think)"

This doesn't seem to be the case. In 0.6.0 with Conflict Popups on I don't get any conflict notification. One of the first page posts in the thread stated turning popups off added a menu item for conflicts. This does happen but it creates its own problem.

When popups are disabled and the menu item for Conflicts adds I go to the conflict and resolve it. This leaves a blank window for conflicts. I can't move left and back into the menu system. Neither movement nor refreshing the Main Menu with the remote will allow me to escape the conflict menu selection. I have to move away from the Main Menu by going to something else directly with the remote such as the Guide. If I then move back to the Main Menu the Conflict entry is removed from the list and I can navigate normally.

Issue 2:

I went into my recordings list and attempted to delete a recording. A popup appeared that simply said "yes" or "no". The popup had no other information in it. If I select yes it does nothing. The Yes/No window remains. If I select no the Yes/No window disappears and I'm back at the recording selection screen again.

I switched back to the regular Sage interface and deletion worked just fine.

Issue 3:

I was watching live TV and there was a recording scheduled for 7-8pm. At 7:04 I realized the channel never changed. I went to the main menu and my upcoming shows listed the live TV I was watching as well as the show I should have been recording but saying it was going to record in 56 minutes. There were no other showings for this program other than the current playing. If I brought up the show information it stated 7-8pm even though the upcoming recordings indicated 8-9pm.

Last edited by Pretzelboy; 11-24-2006 at 06:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #274  
Old 11-24-2006, 08:03 PM
Crashless's Avatar
Crashless Crashless is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,224
Thanks so much for reporting these. They should be easy fixes, but since I'm at the in-law's place, I can't fix them right now.

I should be able to address them Sunday. Please let me know if you find anything else - I hope it hasn't caused you too much grief of missed shows.
__________________
Give the Meekell STV a try!
Reply With Quote
  #275  
Old 11-24-2006, 08:28 PM
Pretzelboy Pretzelboy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashless
Thanks so much for reporting these. They should be easy fixes, but since I'm at the in-law's place, I can't fix them right now.

I should be able to address them Sunday. Please let me know if you find anything else - I hope it hasn't caused you too much grief of missed shows.
Thank you so much for your quick response. I had to switch over to the default STV so be sure I didn't have any additional losses.
Reply With Quote
  #276  
Old 11-25-2006, 06:33 AM
Pretzelboy Pretzelboy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashless
Please let me know if you find anything else

I forgot to mention one more thing. I hadn't looked for it in the pages of this thread but I assumed, since it was so obvious, that someone had run into it already and said something.

Back when I was checking for that conflict problem I was intentionally setting recordings to conflict. When I was done checking I'd go to the upcoming recordings list and remove the conflicting recording. I discovered that after the deletion the recording was still in the list. I'd have to either press the menu button on the remote to get the list to refresh or move off to another selection, such as the Program Guide, and come back again for the deleted item to disappear and the conflicted item to reappear.

As I said, I assume that someone has deleted an item from their recordings and had it stay on the list before. It's too obvious and common for nobody else to have run into it.
Reply With Quote
  #277  
Old 11-27-2006, 02:51 PM
Crashless's Avatar
Crashless Crashless is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,224
Alright. I think I have all the bugs fixed that have been mentioned, along with a few that were not. I just need to theme the new conflict resolution screen a little better and I should be able to get a maintanence release out before the end of the week.

Has anyone come across any other issues? It might be a while before the release after this one because I'm integrating a lot of new features. Mainly Google Video, the Movie Times plugin and a couple of other things, so it might be a couple of weeks in limbo and I'd like to fix most outstanding bugs before I delve into that stuff.
__________________
Give the Meekell STV a try!
Reply With Quote
  #278  
Old 11-27-2006, 03:24 PM
mdnttoker mdnttoker is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashless
Alright. I think I have all the bugs fixed that have been mentioned, along with a few that were not. I just need to theme the new conflict resolution screen a little better and I should be able to get a maintanence release out before the end of the week.

Has anyone come across any other issues? It might be a while before the release after this one because I'm integrating a lot of new features. Mainly Google Video, the Movie Times plugin and a couple of other things, so it might be a couple of weeks in limbo and I'd like to fix most outstanding bugs before I delve into that stuff.
I've given it ago...no obvious bugs jump out at me...
Reply With Quote
  #279  
Old 11-29-2006, 12:09 AM
Crashless's Avatar
Crashless Crashless is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,224
Bug fixes galore!

Version 0.6.1 Release Notes:

UI Changes:
v6 Conflict Resolution (Disable "Conflict Pop-ups" to use)

Bug Fixes:

Delete Confirmation Popup works again
Conflict Menu issues resolved
Channel Change Request Resolved
A bunch of other stuff I forgot to write down

Get it while it's hot.
__________________
Give the Meekell STV a try!
Reply With Quote
  #280  
Old 12-08-2006, 09:31 PM
1fastvx 1fastvx is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Crashless...I hate to ask this, especially since I searched around and I am still not sure how to do this. How do I get the commercial skipping to work with yout STV? Do I need to add additional software, such as comskip?

PS...By the way the interface is awesome!!!

Thanks for any info!!

John
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.