SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2007, 07:03 PM
GTwannabe's Avatar
GTwannabe GTwannabe is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 434
NBC-HD stuttering

Received my shiny new HDHomeRun today. Got it installed and and set up the 7 unencrypted HD stations I get through Cablevision. All the channels are silky-smooth, except for NBC-HD. Playback in SageTV Client results in noticeable choppiness. Viewing the stream directly with the HDHR manager and VLC is smoother, but still rather twitchy. CPU is not pegged in either case.

Here is my setup:

AthlonXP 2.2ghz
Geforce 7800GS @ 460/1400
nVidia PureVideo, w/ Smart and VMR Pixel Adaptive (tried other combinations, no difference)
VMR9 rendering
3D Acceleration enabled
FSE off (still too buggy to use regularly, and made no difference)

Any ideas?
__________________
Intel NUC SageTV 7 server - HDHomeRun PRIME - 2TB iSCSI ReadyNAS storage
Intel i3 HTPC SageTV 7 Client - Win 7 x64 - Onkyo TX-674
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2007, 07:22 PM
millers_35 millers_35 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vonore, TN
Posts: 228
Send a message via AIM to millers_35
I found that setting "mmc/encode_digital_tv_as_program_stream=true" helped out with my stuttering quite a bit but my nvidia 6200 out putting at 1920 x 1200 is still limited in what it can do. So therefore its not as smooth. It was very choppy and completely unwatchable when I had that property set to false.

Miller
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+, 2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2 6400 Ram, 1 X Hauppage PVR-150MCE, HDHomerun, 500GB HD + 1TB HD.
STX-HD100 connected to a Sammy HLT-6187S and Placeshifter.
Software: Vista Business(Server), SageTV 7.0.9, Java 1.6_20.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2007, 07:45 PM
GTwannabe's Avatar
GTwannabe GTwannabe is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 434
Thanks, that tweak smoothed it right out.
__________________
Intel NUC SageTV 7 server - HDHomeRun PRIME - 2TB iSCSI ReadyNAS storage
Intel i3 HTPC SageTV 7 Client - Win 7 x64 - Onkyo TX-674
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2007, 07:53 PM
millers_35 millers_35 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vonore, TN
Posts: 228
Send a message via AIM to millers_35
Dont think its a tweak it just records the show as a program stream instead of a transport stream. And according to Narflex in this post http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...&postcount=142 transport streams are no longer supported. Anyway glad it helped out.

Miller

Edit: Disreguard the greyed out text since it has been confirmed that ts files are supported and I don't want to mislead anyone in the future. Check here.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+, 2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2 6400 Ram, 1 X Hauppage PVR-150MCE, HDHomerun, 500GB HD + 1TB HD.
STX-HD100 connected to a Sammy HLT-6187S and Placeshifter.
Software: Vista Business(Server), SageTV 7.0.9, Java 1.6_20.

Last edited by millers_35; 03-23-2007 at 11:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2007, 07:56 PM
GTwannabe's Avatar
GTwannabe GTwannabe is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 434
Hmm... then it seems that Sage should have set that option to True if they no longer support transport streams.
__________________
Intel NUC SageTV 7 server - HDHomeRun PRIME - 2TB iSCSI ReadyNAS storage
Intel i3 HTPC SageTV 7 Client - Win 7 x64 - Onkyo TX-674
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2007, 08:01 PM
millers_35 millers_35 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vonore, TN
Posts: 228
Send a message via AIM to millers_35
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTwannabe View Post
Hmm... then it seems that Sage should have set that option to True if they no longer support transport streams.

Agreed.

Miller
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+, 2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2 6400 Ram, 1 X Hauppage PVR-150MCE, HDHomerun, 500GB HD + 1TB HD.
STX-HD100 connected to a Sammy HLT-6187S and Placeshifter.
Software: Vista Business(Server), SageTV 7.0.9, Java 1.6_20.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2007, 08:37 PM
12three45 12three45 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 29
Miller, which file do you change?

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-21-2007, 08:41 PM
UFGrayMatter's Avatar
UFGrayMatter UFGrayMatter is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by millers_35 View Post
I found that setting "mmc/encode_digital_tv_as_program_stream=true" helped out with my stuttering quite a bit but my nvidia 6200 out putting at 1920 x 1200 is still limited in what it can do. So therefore its not as smooth. It was very choppy and completely unwatchable when I had that property set to false.

Miller
I figured I check into this. I don't have this setting. I record from firewire. Would that make a difference?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-21-2007, 08:55 PM
millers_35 millers_35 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vonore, TN
Posts: 228
Send a message via AIM to millers_35
Check out the first page of this thread. According to that I wouldnt think it would make a difference.

Miller
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+, 2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2 6400 Ram, 1 X Hauppage PVR-150MCE, HDHomerun, 500GB HD + 1TB HD.
STX-HD100 connected to a Sammy HLT-6187S and Placeshifter.
Software: Vista Business(Server), SageTV 7.0.9, Java 1.6_20.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-22-2007, 05:51 PM
GTwannabe's Avatar
GTwannabe GTwannabe is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 434
OK, so I found another reason why NBC-HD looks lousy.

1080i is supposed to be 1920x1080 @ 60fps, interlaced. Deinterlacing yields the original 30fps, so no problem there.

NBC-HD comes in as 1920x1080 @ 30fps, interlaced. If you have your nVidia control panel set to enable Inverse Telecine, you see a progressive-scan slideshow at 15fps.

The setting is under nVidia Control Panel -> Video and Television -> Adjust video color settings -> Enhancements
__________________
Intel NUC SageTV 7 server - HDHomeRun PRIME - 2TB iSCSI ReadyNAS storage
Intel i3 HTPC SageTV 7 Client - Win 7 x64 - Onkyo TX-674
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-22-2007, 06:08 PM
millers_35 millers_35 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vonore, TN
Posts: 228
Send a message via AIM to millers_35
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12three45 View Post
Miller, which file do you change?

Andy
The sagetv.properties file.

Miller
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+, 2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2 6400 Ram, 1 X Hauppage PVR-150MCE, HDHomerun, 500GB HD + 1TB HD.
STX-HD100 connected to a Sammy HLT-6187S and Placeshifter.
Software: Vista Business(Server), SageTV 7.0.9, Java 1.6_20.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple HD recording issue ptaylor Hardware Support 0 02-23-2007 11:10 PM
HDHomeRun success story jbarr Hardware Support 9 02-22-2007 04:46 PM
Set HD preferences for a specific show? bwillet SageTV Software 1 02-19-2007 01:42 PM
HD OTA Questions crowland Hardware Support 8 02-14-2007 05:06 PM
In search of HD quality playback garyellis SageTV Software 0 01-27-2007 09:15 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.