SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

View Poll Results: What are you going to do now?
Keep Sage for now. Use EPG as long as possible. 197 73.23%
Keep Sage for now, but look for alternative soon. 57 21.19%
Look for replacement ASAP. I needed another license and can't get it! 15 5.58%
Voters: 269. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2011, 06:58 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,239
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
What are you going to do now?

Please answer this poll using the best option available.
I'm curious to where everyone stands.
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2011, 07:35 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
My desire to switch to a replacement will be hampered by the lack of a comparable replacement. I'm not going to stick with a largely unsupported product with no replacement parts (i.e. extenders) available. But at the same time, what am I going to switch to?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2011, 07:38 PM
ranger ranger is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 256
I'll keep using SageTV for now simply because it works. Sooner or later that will give way to something shiny and new. Also depends on what Google/SageTV turns into.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2011, 07:41 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,644
I am keeping Sage and will look for alternate EPG sources.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2011, 07:42 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I voted "Keep Sage for now. Use EPG as long as possible." but reality is something between the that and looking for an alternative "soon". Basically I'm going to watch for, research, and keep a lookout for alternatives. But it's going to take a lot of research and careful weighing of the options.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2011, 07:45 PM
Spectrum Spectrum is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 720
I voted "Keep Sage for now. Use EPG as long as possible." But I'll be moving in the next 6 months so things could change for me efore the EPG servers go down. I'll also be watching Stanger and his research, he hasn't pointed me in the wrong direction on anything yet
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2011, 07:46 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
I'm going to use Sage until I can't make it work. No end in sight for me.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-21-2011, 07:49 PM
rnadeau's Avatar
rnadeau rnadeau is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 500
I'll keep using sage and also install alternatives to get the program guide when the time comes. I have a system that works flawlessly and will do what it takes to keep it that way. I have searched and have not yet found an alternative that even comes close to what sage does and how stable it is.
__________________
Sage Tv Server-Amd 4200FX quad core, Asus Nvidia EN610 Hdmi out , 8 Gig Ram ,(3) HVR-1800, 3.5 terrabyte storage, Windows 8 Pro on sage 9.09 system . Media Server- 6 Terabytes on 5 drives, Amd x2 6000 8 useable gig ram on win 7 32 bit media server.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-21-2011, 07:50 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,215
Some of those leaving will provide spare parts for the rest of us staying behind!
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-21-2011, 08:03 PM
ThePaladinTech's Avatar
ThePaladinTech ThePaladinTech is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
I'm going to use Sage until I can't make it work. No end in sight for me.
I'm going to use it until bialio and other smart folks can't make it work anymore

I *am* however going to be researching other options to be ready when that day comes.

-or-

until Jeffs new project comes to life.
__________________
(current) SageServer: SageTV Open Source V9 - Virtual Ubuntu on Win10 HyperV MSI 970A-G46, AMD FX-8370 , SD Prime via OpenDCT, Donater ComSkip
Clients: HD-200, Nexus Player w/ Android miniclient
Storage: "nas" 16 drive Win10 w/ DrivePool running Plex, Emby, & SD PVR
Retired - Hava, MediaMVP, HD-100, HD-PVR, HVR-2250, Ceton InfiniTV4, Original (white) HDHomeRun Died - HD-100, HD-300
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-21-2011, 08:09 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePaladinTech View Post
until Jeffs new project comes to life.
Let's hope the non-compete isn't too long and after he leaves Google we can get something new.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-21-2011, 08:13 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,239
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Some of those leaving will provide spare parts for the rest of us staying behind!
Here here!

For those who remember, there used to be a suite of MyHD cards (MDP-120, MDP-130) that was discontinued ages ago but was kept alive for years because of how good it was. Honestly, it took the first Sage HD100 extender to get me and some others to retire it.

Edit: I could have sworn it was discontinued, but I now see it is still for sale.
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter

Last edited by valnar; 06-21-2011 at 08:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-21-2011, 08:14 PM
bits bits is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 398
I will keep using Sage + HD300s for as long as the guide works. After that who knows.......maybe I will find something better to do with my time than watching boob tube stuff!
__________________
bits (Windows Media Center Convert)

PC: W7 32bit, Intel Q9550 2.83 Quad, 4GB DRAM
Cap Devices: Colosuss+UIRT+Cable STB; HDHR QAM+OTA, USB MediaSonic (6TB)
Network Players: HD200, (2) HD300s
Viewing: Samsung 55" 8000, Sony 50" and HP 37"
The more complicated it is the more likely it will break!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-21-2011, 08:23 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
I'm going to use Sage until I can't make it work. No end in sight for me.
You're not concerned one of your extenders will die? That's really the thing that makes me nervous about sticking with it indefinitely.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-21-2011, 08:26 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
I'm going to use Sage until I can't make it work. No end in sight for me.
+1
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-21-2011, 08:32 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
You're not concerned one of your extenders will die? That's really the thing that makes me nervous about sticking with it indefinitely.
I have two client licenses and 1 spare extender - so if push comes to shove I can build some small clients if/when the hd300 stop workin'
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-21-2011, 08:36 PM
RazorUK RazorUK is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 23
Somewhere between the top and the 2nd one. If I could buy replacement extenders indefinately I'd not be concerned, and would be in it for the long haul, but I do not want to go back to client PC's in my main viewing areas.

The problem is, I've not looked for a replacement in the last few years because I've never found anything that is close in the past, so I don't even really know where to start.

Hopefully this is all mute, and Google/Sage release a HD400/GoogleTV 2.0 and it will have an app to connect to my current Sage install
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-21-2011, 08:48 PM
bastafidli bastafidli is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 728
Look for alternative between soon and ASAP. I need new extender but cannot buy it therefore I will need to look for another option. My Sage license is not going anywhere so if they come back with HD400 I may look at it again.
__________________

TV: Samsung UN46D8000
Server: Intel Core i3 540, 4G RAM, Matrox G450, 70GB EXT3 encrypted software RAID1 system drive, 1TB XFS tv recording drive, 2TB EXT3 encrypted data drive mirror across 2 machines, 2TB EXT3 encrypted media drive mirror across 2 machines, CentOS 6 64 bit, Experimenting with DNLA servers
1Gb wired network
Disconnected after G day[HD 100 Media Extender, Placeshifter 7.x, SageTV 7.x, HDHomeRun]
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-21-2011, 09:05 PM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
I'll keep Sage up for now because of my wife, but as soon as Apple updates the ATV2 with 1080p support (probably in the fall) things will change. I don't think DVR's have much of a future anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-21-2011, 09:09 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
I have two client licenses and 1 spare extender - so if push comes to shove I can build some small clients if/when the hd300 stop workin'
Ahhh, ok, that makes sense. Just the one spare extender alone gives you some fault tolerance. If I were you I wouldn't be too concerned until I had to break out the spare.

I just remember how awful it was in my house when my HD100 first went down to the capacitor failure, and we couldn't watch tv for over a week while I waited for my hd200 to get in (since I didn't have the equipment or know-how to fix it myself). Sage was not popular here that week. I'm really nervous about getting in a situation where an extender fails and I need to quickly switch to a completely different system.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.