SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #781  
Old 10-21-2021, 07:40 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
I bought a TiVo Stream4k a while back.
Finally got around to using the Mini Client on it (I believe itís based in Android TV).
When I played a Sage recording, pulled up the transport overlay, and then tried to FF 2:30 or :30, the recording kept jumping backwards, sometimes to the start.
Totally at random, with no rhyme or reason.
Anyone see this behavior with the Mini Client, with a Stream4k or any other HDMI plug-in stick? Sorry, if no one has a Stream4k, itís a Firestick by Tivo.
If you are not using OPENDCT have you tried to set the miniclient to always remux it takes very little CPU ... of course you need an updated SageTV and MiniClient.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #782  
Old 10-21-2021, 07:45 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
If you are not using OPENDCT have you tried to set the miniclient to always remux it takes very little CPU ... of course you need an updated SageTV and MiniClient.
I am running the most recent Sage build on Windows 10, not OPENDCT, and have the most recent version of the MiniClient installed I believe.
Does remuxing apply in my case?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #783  
Old 10-21-2021, 07:51 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
I am running the most recent Sage build on Windows 10, not OPENDCT, and have the most recent version of the MiniClient installed I believe.
Does remuxing apply in my case?
Try setting the client to always remux
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #784  
Old 10-21-2021, 08:08 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Try setting the client to always remux
for the technically inept, what exactly does that do
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #785  
Old 10-21-2021, 09:34 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
for the technically inept, what exactly does that do
Remuxing is a lossless process that simply takes the video and audio streams from one container and puts them into a new container.

It does this at the server serves it to the client in an MKV container.


Sage by itself is terrible in cleaning up streams before it reaches the Client so a simple remux might help.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #786  
Old 10-21-2021, 06:26 PM
t4runnr t4runnr is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 68
EDIT: I figured it out. Took some work but I had to clear out the BMT image cache and the gemstone image cashe in windows explorer. Then I refreshed all the movies within BMT. Any images that didn't come out the way I wanted, I manually downloaded them for that particular movie. I've fixed most of them and still working on the rest. But its working now.

EDIT #2: Back to square one. When I thought it was working, that still isn't the case. I still have some issues with the posters and backgrounds. I turned off backgrounds for now and just focusing on the posters.

So this issue is not a show stopper. Well, there are 2 issues.

Using the miniclient and Gemstone (BMT and Phoenix). I migrated everything to a new server PC with a fresh install of v9.

1. Some of the posters do not show up. No amount of cache clearing or making a poster default works.

2. Some of the background wallpaper for a movie appears very zoomed in. I'm using a 1080p display and have confirmed that the images I'm having trouble with are 1080p wallpapers.

The miniclients are used on Nvidia Shield Pro and Amazon firestick 4k. They were working fine prior to the server move.

When I use the v9 client on a windows PC, I do not have these issues.



Are there any steps I need to take to alleviate these?


Thanks

Last edited by t4runnr; 10-22-2021 at 02:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #787  
Old 10-28-2021, 06:54 AM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by phelme View Post
FYI. look what one can do under Windows 11 as of today

I have been watching that on my news feed! Very cool.
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary
SageTVTranscoder

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
  #788  
Old 10-28-2021, 07:14 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by phelme View Post
FYI. look what one can do under Windows 11 as of today

Just curious, besides the coolness factor, are there any benefits to running the Android miniclient on Windows 11 versus running the native Windows SageTV client?
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV (java11) & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #789  
Old 10-28-2021, 08:24 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Just curious, besides the coolness factor, are there any benefits to running the Android miniclient on Windows 11 versus running the native Windows SageTV client?
No advantage just something new. Running a Windows Client it reads the UNC Paths directly without the server streaming it. The Windows Client takes most of the load from the Server. Plus the miniclient requires more memory at the server.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 10-28-2021 at 08:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #790  
Old 11-01-2021, 08:24 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,037
another stupid question? remote connection

Using the MiniClient app on a Amazon Firestick, and a dynamic dns service, whatís the proper text entry to connect to Sage remotely, using the Miniclient?
yourdnsservice:8080?
Something like that?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #791  
Old 11-01-2021, 09:52 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 275
I used the Locator ID option after selecting 'Add Server' on the miniclient.
__________________
Server: Intel i5-11400 @4.4GHz 6 cores Windows10 Pro, Sage 9.2.6.976, Comskip Donators
Capture: Now> Xfinity/TVEverywhere/Channels OpenDCT_0.5.32_x86.
Future> remote HDHR Prime with Firmware version 20150826
Storage: 120gB SSD, 6tB HD on Server
Network: Now> gb LAN; Future> 500Mb Comcast to WAN to 20Mb rural ISP.
Playback: FireStick 4K
Tech Level: Hobbyist
Reply With Quote
  #792  
Old 11-02-2021, 10:21 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by hb4 View Post
I used the Locator ID option after selecting 'Add Server' on the miniclient.
and if youíre away from home and donít know what the Locator ID is? Can that be discovered somehow?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #793  
Old 11-02-2021, 10:49 AM
wayner wayner is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,214
Pretty sure you can just use your external IP with the port. But you have to have forwarded your port, which is 31099, I think.

So http://99.21.15.12:31099 should work if that is your external IP. or http://yourdnsservice:31099. Port 8080 is (usually) for the web client, which you may want to forward as well to allow you to use the Web UI remotely.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #794  
Old 11-02-2021, 11:01 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Pretty sure you can just use your external IP with the port. But you have to have forwarded your port, which is 31099, I think.

So http://99.21.15.12:31099 should work if that is your external IP. or http://yourdnsservice:31099. Port 8080 is (usually) for the web client, which you may want to forward as well to allow you to use the Web UI remotely.
Would using a Firestick work with the same definition, ie http://dns:31099?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #795  
Old 11-02-2021, 11:26 AM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Would using a Firestick work with the same definition, ie http://dns:31099?
Yes, I did that recently from a hotel room. And I don't believe you have to tell it the port number if you are forwarding the default port, 31099, in your home router to your Sage box.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #796  
Old 11-02-2021, 02:44 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,644
What a difference when using the miniclient on the 4K MAX ... no problem at all playing MPEG2 with hardware decoding. Quick response on GUI.


@Josh ...

Is there any reason why SageTV cannot be moved to a USB Internal Storage flash drive. ?
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 11-02-2021 at 02:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #797  
Old 11-02-2021, 05:07 PM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
What a difference when using the miniclient on the 4K MAX ... no problem at all playing MPEG2 with hardware decoding. Quick response on GUI.


@Josh ...

Is there any reason why SageTV cannot be moved to a USB Internal Storage flash drive. ?
I am not sure what you mean? Running SageTV Server off of a flash drive. Like moving it from computer to computer?
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary
SageTVTranscoder

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
  #798  
Old 11-02-2021, 05:09 PM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 759
New release version 1.9.3 posted to Github/Amazon/Google. This is a minor release. Work and personal life have been busy. Not as much me time to work on SageTV. Still have a good list of enhancements I would like to get into the Android Client. Anyway below is the change list. I will update the first post as well.

Josh

- Updated to 2.15.1 of ExoPlayer and FFmpeg extension
- Cleaned up a number of deprecated calls in ExoPlayer implementation
- Added VP8, VP9, H.263 as valid video codecs
- Removed MPEG4 as a valid codec, because Android TV support is very limited. All non H.264/AVC content will be transcoded
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary
SageTVTranscoder

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
  #799  
Old 11-02-2021, 05:23 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
I am not sure what you mean? Running SageTV Server off of a flash drive. Like moving it from computer to computer?
No big deal do not worry about it but I will explain ... Firetv 4Kmax has the option to use a flash drive to increase internal storage ... Which I have done by adding a 64gig FlashDrive. I moved Plex Client and Channels Client to the USB Drive but the SageTV miniClient cannot be moved for some reason.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #800  
Old 11-02-2021, 05:44 PM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
No big deal do not worry about it but I will explain ... Firetv 4Kmax has the option to use a flash drive to increase internal storage ... Which I have done by adding a 64gig FlashDrive. I moved Plex Client and Channels Client to the USB Drive but the SageTV miniClient cannot be moved for some reason.
Ahhhh. That makes much more sense. I would assume I might need to do some magic to allow it. Did it give any errors, or is the option just greyed out? If it is an easy change I would try and make it. I can not think of any specific reason it would not be moveable.

Josh
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary
SageTVTranscoder

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV MiniClient for Android Indiegogo Campaign (Thanks) stuckless SageTV Clients Development 13 10-27-2020 01:49 PM
Android MiniClient 1.4.3 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 20 03-25-2019 10:32 AM
Android MiniClient 1.2.9 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 53 04-16-2018 07:30 AM
Android Miniclient and UK TV rickgillyon SageTV Clients Development 6 12-01-2016 05:58 PM
Android Miniclient on Mi Box Crashing SageTV Server v9 mackb SageTV Clients Development 9 11-27-2016 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.