SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2010, 09:12 AM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Plugin: Sage Recording Extender (SREv3)

Welcome to the support thread for SREv3. This version of SRE requires SageTV v7. There are many key changes introduced in SREv3. The highlights include:
  • Support for the new SageTV event model
  • Support for the new SageTV Plugin Manager
  • Configuration of SRE settings via STV
  • Migration to new web service for event data (http://www.livepvrdata.com)
  • Complete overhaul of web interface

I apologize in advance for the lack of documentation, but I've been busy porting all my plugins to SageTV v7. Those familiar with SRE should find that, new looks aside, everything is pretty much the same.

One key change in SREv3 is the need for a Google Account. The Live PVR Data web service requires Google Account authentication. You must provide your Google Account id and password in order to use SREv3.

SREv3 is currently in beta. The beta tag is mainly to do with incomplete features. The port is not done, but monitoring of supported events is functional. Things like editing the global override map have not been ported yet, but will be before too long.

Please feel free to provide feedback and post support questions in this thread.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2010, 12:10 PM
ohpleaseno ohpleaseno is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 464
What does livepvrdata.com scrape?
__________________
Server: WHS with 11TB of storage
Clients:1) HD-200 to a Samsung 32" Slimfit CRT HDTV 2) HD-200 to a Pioneer 26" X1 LCD
Tuners: 1) HD-Homerun 2) Avermedia USB ATSC
Twitter: ohpleaseno
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2010, 01:15 PM
Stuntman's Avatar
Stuntman Stuntman is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hemet, CA - USA
Posts: 784
Can't find web pages...

I just upgraded to Version 7 and installed your SRE plugin.. but the Sage web pages and the SRE pages no longer come up! They worked before upgrading, so I'm sure there is just something I've missed..

SRE shows as an installed plugin.. I have the webserver running on port 8500, at least that is what the GUI shows and it is where I had previously run it..

Has the directory structure changed? I used to use http://localhost:8500/sre

Is there some way to verify that the web service is running, other than NOT seeing the pages being served?
__________________
Intel Q6600 Quad Core, 8GB RAM on Windows 7 Professional x64
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2010, 01:57 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohpleaseno View Post
What does livepvrdata.com scrape?
Whatever it needs to determine the status of the requested event. With the move to this web service, SRE is no longer concerned with web scrapers, XML/JSON parsers, etc. SRE simply makes an RPC call to livepvrdata.com and livepvrdata.com returns a status object, which SRE then acts on. If you look at the source code for SREv3 you'll notice it's significantly smaller and makes no reference to espn.com or any other web site. All those yucky details of figuring out where to go for event info and how to parse it is no longer SRE's concern!
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2010, 01:59 PM
ohpleaseno ohpleaseno is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slugger View Post
Whatever it needs to determine the status of the requested event. With the move to this web service, SRE is no longer concerned with web scrapers, XML/JSON parsers, etc. SRE simply makes an RPC call to livepvrdata.com and livepvrdata.com returns a status object, which SRE then acts on. If you look at the source code for SREv3 you'll notice it's significantly smaller and makes no reference to espn.com or any other web site. All those yucky details of figuring out where to go for event info and how to parse it is no longer SRE's concern!
I guess what I'm getting at is the list of sports that SRE can monitor expanded with livepvrdata.com expanded? That site isn't all that helpful because there is nothing there.

Specifically, is NASCAR now supported?
__________________
Server: WHS with 11TB of storage
Clients:1) HD-200 to a Samsung 32" Slimfit CRT HDTV 2) HD-200 to a Pioneer 26" X1 LCD
Tuners: 1) HD-Homerun 2) Avermedia USB ATSC
Twitter: ohpleaseno
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:03 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuntman View Post
I just upgraded to Version 7 and installed your SRE plugin.. but the Sage web pages and the SRE pages no longer come up! They worked before upgrading, so I'm sure there is just something I've missed..

SRE shows as an installed plugin.. I have the webserver running on port 8500, at least that is what the GUI shows and it is where I had previously run it..

Has the directory structure changed? I used to use http://localhost:8500/sre

Is there some way to verify that the web service is running, other than NOT seeing the pages being served?
What do you get when you go to the url? Do you get a page not found (404) error or do you get a connection timed out error? If debug logging is enabled then you should be able to tell that Jetty started based on the output in the logs.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:07 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohpleaseno View Post
I guess what I'm getting at is the list of sports that SRE can monitor expanded with livepvrdata.com expanded? That site isn't all that helpful because there is nothing there.

Specifically, is NASCAR now supported?
No, but it may eventually be added. Currently, it's just the big 6: MLB, NFL, NHL, NBA, NCAA hoops, NCAA pigskin.

As to livepvrdata.com, it's a closed beta (very closed). Eventually that site will come to life with content, but for now it's just the web service that's running.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-20-2010, 03:17 PM
Stuntman's Avatar
Stuntman Stuntman is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hemet, CA - USA
Posts: 784
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slugger View Post
What do you get when you go to the url? Do you get a page not found (404) error or do you get a connection timed out error? If debug logging is enabled then you should be able to tell that Jetty started based on the output in the logs.
I get the following.. which isn't a 404...

Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage

How do I turn on debug logging and where does it keep it's logs? I'll turn it on, if it isn't already..

Thanks!
__________________
Intel Q6600 Quad Core, 8GB RAM on Windows 7 Professional x64
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-20-2010, 03:40 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 860
are you sure this is working? i went to livepvrdata.com (your link above) and got the message 'come back later'
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-20-2010, 04:47 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat6man View Post
are you sure this is working? i went to livepvrdata.com (your link above) and got the message 'come back later'
Yes, it's working. The web service portion is up and running, there's just no public web site yet. Everything works though.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-20-2010, 04:49 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuntman View Post
I get the following.. which isn't a 404...

Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage

How do I turn on debug logging and where does it keep it's logs? I'll turn it on, if it isn't already..

Thanks!
Look for the plugins/sre directory under SageTV directory. In there should be an sre.log file. Is it being written to? Did you also install the web interface? Is it working? If not, disable and reenable the Jetty plugin; that may get you up and running as well.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-20-2010, 06:39 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 860
thanks so much for porting over SRE for us.
this is my one indispensable plugin.

however, since i have a game to record tonight, i won't get to play with v7
until tomorrow afternoon....i have to work in the morning, but i'll take a 1/2 day
vacation tomorrow to play with v7

cheers
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-21-2010, 11:09 AM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuntman View Post
I just upgraded to Version 7 and installed your SRE plugin.. but the Sage web pages and the SRE pages no longer come up! They worked before upgrading, so I'm sure there is just something I've missed..
i'm probably being dumb here but after a flawless 8 minute upgrade which went so smooth i almost couldn't believe it, i find that i cannot find SRE or nielm's web interface in the plugins.

what am i doing wrong?

thanks in advance

edit: my dumb.............looked for "sre" not sage recording extender
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.

Last edited by cat6man; 05-21-2010 at 11:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-21-2010, 11:16 AM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
As in you've installed them, but they don't appear to be loading or you can't find them in the plugin manager to install them? If the latter then you'll find them under the Standard plugin type.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-21-2010, 11:32 AM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 860
found it and it installed itself beautifully.
i had to give my cat an email account on gmail, but SRE is now
working fine.........i'll have to give her a kitty snack as a reward.

i checked the log and it seems to be operating fine.

first test is red sox vs. phillies tonight.

thanks again slugger

digression
{
why the *&&!@ do we get the phillies when the yankees get
the mets?
}
end digression
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-21-2010, 12:27 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 860
using

http://192.168.1.111:8500/sre/SREClient.html

using the old web interface address, i get 404 not found error.

nielm's web interface works ok.

is there something else i need for web interface in SRE?
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-21-2010, 12:30 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat6man View Post
using

http://192.168.1.111:8500/sre/SREClient.html

using the old web interface address, i get 404 not found error.

nielm's web interface works ok.

is there something else i need for web interface in SRE?
Try /sre/SRE3.html

EDIT: /sre/ by itself should also work.

(I know, I know It's been kind of a mad scramble to get all the plugins ported to v7 so you'll have to bare with me on the outdated/missing docs).
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-21-2010, 03:05 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slugger View Post
Try /sre/SRE3.html
that one works for me!
now that plugin options can be changed within sage7 or the hd200, the only reason (i think)
to use the web access is for overrides.........is that your thinking also?

thanks once again

do you still want to get rid of the 'slug'?

edit: how often does SRE go out to check? i don't see a variable /option for that and i also didn't see
tonight's phillies/sox game with a check mark (that would indicate it was found?)
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.

Last edited by cat6man; 05-21-2010 at 03:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-21-2010, 03:32 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat6man View Post
that one works for me!
now that plugin options can be changed within sage7 or the hd200, the only reason (i think)
to use the web access is for overrides.........is that your thinking also?
Yes.

Quote:
do you still want to get rid of the 'slug'?
??

Quote:
edit: how often does SRE go out to check? i don't see a variable /option for that and i also didn't see
tonight's phillies/sox game with a check mark (that would indicate it was found?)
Check frequency is no longer a configurable option - I'm limited by the web service constraints. Prior to the day of an event SRE will check the validity once a day. On the day of an event it will check approximately 30 mins before the scheduled start time of the recording (however, I don't think SRE is doing this permitted check [yet]). It will check again when the recording starts then it will sleep until 30 mins before the scheduled end of the recording at which time it will check every two minutes until the event is determined to have completed.

Do you have a warning symbol? Or just blank? When the recording starts it will definitely check again. Keep an eye on SageTV\plugins\sre\sre.log. Ensure there are no Google Account auth errors - that will prevent SRE from doing anything.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-21-2010, 06:00 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slugger View Post


Do you have a warning symbol? Or just blank? When the recording starts it will definitely check again. Keep an eye on SageTV\plugins\sre\sre.log. Ensure there are no Google Account auth errors - that will prevent SRE from doing anything.
i see only yellow triangles for all recordings.
i'll check log file shortly

p.s. vernon wells?
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin: Sage Recording Extender (SRE) Slugger SageTV Customizations 428 06-19-2010 11:03 AM
Sage Recording Extender (SRE) new release notifications Slugger Customization Announcements 8 03-28-2010 07:56 AM
How to edit plugin settings when using a HD extender? blade SageTV Customizations 1 12-08-2008 10:21 PM
IMDB Plugin for Extender tonysathre SageTV Customizations 6 08-20-2008 09:15 PM
Online Radio plugin for Extender koelec SageTV Customizations 23 02-28-2008 12:27 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.