SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-11-2012, 11:20 AM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
Now to answer the question above.
SageTV Recordings imported into plex will work with any of the clients that can connect to plex. Quality and all of that will very based on client of course, but that is no different than any other media that is served up by plex.
Let me just add a bit to quality as it may apply to the ATV which has limited playback ability (e.g. resolution and formats). If the local client can't play the media file natively (e.g. incompatible format for whatever reason), then the Plex Media Server will try to transcode the file on the fly to an appropriate format. The quality of that transcoding will depend on the horsepower of the Plex Media Server and the settings.
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-11-2012, 11:30 AM
jnmfox jnmfox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 106
Thanks again for the quick responses!

Seeing as I only have one HD300 sounds like this finally may be the way to get my Sage recording and movie rips onto our bedroom TV.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-11-2012, 11:44 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
K, so the plex scanner and agent will only be used for your recordings directories right now. you will need to use the standard OOTB plex series scanner and TVDB lookup for all other content you want to add to your plex library.
Understood. So now I have to find a way to rename my imported TV shows to make sure that they have a valid naming convention for Plex. If the file does not contain any sort of ID in the filename then I don't think there is any way for Sage to know that you have just changed the filename and that it should propogate over all of the metadata. However BMT should be smart enough to recognize the renamed file as a TV recording and pull down the data from TVDB as if it was a brand new imported TV show. Assuming that the filename is "Plex-compliant" for TV shows then it should be good for Plex as well.

For example I have an imported TV file called:
\\servername\Videos\Kids Shows\Dora the Explorer\Dora the Explorer -- Beaches.avi

I will rename this file to:
\\servername\Videos\Kids Shows\Dora the Explorer\Dora the Explorer -- S01E04-Beaches.avi

I believe that will break the link to the metadata in Sage. But when I do a new media scan in Sage it will say that the old filename was deleted and it found a new file with the new filename. BMT will kick in and get metadata. The default Plex scanner should be smart enough to recognize the show from the filename and the show will now appear in Plex as well.

Does that sound right?

I am glad that Slugger wrote the rename script in groovy to add the S&E info to filenames as I will need it, not for my SageTV recordings, but for Imported TV shows.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-11-2012, 11:47 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Understood. So now I have to find a way to rename my imported TV shows to make sure that they have a valid naming convention for Plex. If the file does not contain any sort of ID in the filename then I don't think there is any way for Sage to know that you have just changed the filename and that it should propogate over all of the metadata. However BMT should be smart enough to recognize the renamed file as a TV recording and pull down the data from TVDB as if it was a brand new imported TV show. Assuming that the filename is "Plex-compliant" for TV shows then it should be good for Plex as well.

For example I have an imported TV file called:
\\servername\Videos\Kids Shows\Dora the Explorer\Dora the Explorer -- Beaches.avi

I will rename this file to:
\\servername\Videos\Kids Shows\Dora the Explorer\Dora the Explorer -- S01E04-Beaches.avi

I believe that will break the link to the metadata in Sage. But when I do a new media scan in Sage it will say that the old filename was deleted and it found a new file with the new filename. BMT will kick in and get metadata. The default Plex scanner should be smart enough to recognize the show from the filename and the show will now appear in Plex as well.

Does that sound right?

I am glad that Slugger wrote the rename script in groovy to add the S&E info to filenames as I will need it, not for my SageTV recordings, but for Imported TV shows.
If i read it correctly, that sounds about right.

Theoretically, if we feal so inclined...we could add the ability to use the sage scanner for more than just recordings...if there is a demand for it
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-11-2012, 08:45 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
I got .ts files scanning in, metadata from bmt being pulled in now via the agent with the new scanner, and both scanner and agent are working together nicely on mac. still a few kinks to work on with the scanner on windows.

we are getting close!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-11-2012, 08:52 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Let me know when I should test again!
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-12-2012, 07:53 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
Let me know when I should test again!
Will Do.

windows is being finicky on me though!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-12-2012, 08:11 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
Will Do.

windows is being finicky on me though!
Scanner running on windows is now working! that was a tough bug to figure out but i got it.

things are working nicely! Darci we are just about ready for ya
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-12-2012, 08:14 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Excellent!
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-12-2012, 08:36 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
I don't know who is really following this thread... could just be me Darci and Brian, but when I am waiting for something I love and appreciate updates and progress with pics....so here ya go if youre like me

if not then don't look
Attached Images
File Type: jpg plex1.jpg (299.4 KB, 294 views)
File Type: jpg plex2.jpg (268.0 KB, 263 views)
File Type: jpg plex3.jpg (117.5 KB, 250 views)
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 01-12-2012, 08:45 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Now? Can I try again now?
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-12-2012, 08:49 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
New scanner isn't in google code yet :-)

I'm taking a break :-)

Check ur email though darci...
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 01-13-2012, 08:22 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
I'm taking a break :-)
Taking a break?? You just started
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 01-13-2012, 08:27 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Taking a break?? You just started
HA!

i meant for the night :-)
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 01-13-2012, 08:30 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
HA!

i meant for the night :-)
OH... when I "Take a break" from BMT and Phoenix.. it usually lasts months (as it is now )
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 01-13-2012, 08:31 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
OH... when I "Take a break" from BMT and Phoenix.. it usually lasts months (as it is now )
Thats cause youre a slacker

i kid...i kid
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 01-13-2012, 02:56 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
I don't know who is really following this thread... could just be me Darci and Brian, but when I am waiting for something I love and appreciate updates and progress with pics....so here ya go if youre like me

if not then don't look
I'm following it. I'm just waiting for you to release it so I can test it. Plex is pretty good about grabbing info now with the exception of sports.

Nice work so far.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 01-13-2012, 03:11 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Plex is pretty good about grabbing info now with the exception of sports.
Not only that, if you have NFO files for recorded movies, Plex does a really good job. I used Ember Media Manager to create NFO files for my SageTV recorded movie files so that Boxee could identify them properly and it turns out Plex is just as good at using them.

BUT having it fully automated will be better still
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PlexNFOSageTV.jpg (93.1 KB, 206 views)
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 01-13-2012, 04:30 PM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 516
I've been using SageTV for about 6 years now, but I just discovered Plex.

I just wanted to drop a line here to say that I'm eagerly waiting to see what your scanner can do. Looks great so far!

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 01-13-2012, 04:51 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
Is there any reason why Plex won't scan in your Recorded Movies if you move them to a folder in your Video Library but retain the original SageTV name?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comparing to Plex heffneil Batch Metadata Tools 20 01-08-2012 04:54 PM
Need help with SJQv4 remote agent coppit SageTV v7 Customizations 4 12-19-2010 11:03 AM
Plex in a TV? What about sage? rwc General Discussion 9 09-05-2010 04:38 PM
Possible to get SageTV to handle my library more like Plex? DAMAC SageTV Mac Edition 0 06-10-2009 10:33 AM
SagetTVService Virus Win32.Agent.dwo Ponchera SageTV Software 6 02-04-2008 06:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.