SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2014, 10:40 AM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
Spinning circle when playing back TV Recordings

For the last few days, I'm seeing a spinning circle when I start to playback TV Recordings or tune into a TV channel.

One important thing to note... when I see the spinning circle, I also see an instance of SageTVTranscoder.exe sometimes actively consuming CPU.

I'm not sure why this would happen since this happens even when playing back files locally (SageTV client on the SageTV Server PC).

Does anyone know what's wrong? I already replaced the TV Recordings hard drive. I also replaced my Wiz.bin with a new one. I have more than enough RAM and unused Java heap memory.

So, what could trigger this kind of behavior? When the SageTV client has a spinning circle, the onl;y way to stop it is top restart my SageTV server.

Edit: It looks like the problem went away on its own...
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***

Last edited by mkanet; 08-01-2014 at 08:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2014, 05:43 AM
ranger ranger is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 256
I've had 2 different things cause this. One was a flaky hard drive in my library, not in my recording drives. It impacted playback of any file.
The other was the system time being off. Don't remember if it was the server not synched correctly with real time or the server and client not in synch. At any rate you can check the server time to make sure it is good.

Last edited by ranger; 08-01-2014 at 05:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2014, 08:54 AM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
Thanks for the tip ranger. Although, its not happening anymore, I'll probably end up swapping out my TV Recordings HDD anyway. The disk is quite old.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger View Post
I've had 2 different things cause this. One was a flaky hard drive in my library, not in my recording drives. It impacted playback of any file.
The other was the system time being off. Don't remember if it was the server not synched correctly with real time or the server and client not in synch. At any rate you can check the server time to make sure it is good.
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spinning circle when FF or RWD on client only m1abrams SageTV Software 15 01-19-2016 07:09 PM
Spinning circle when trying to play .mpg recordings Patrick25 SageTV Software 1 01-12-2011 07:20 PM
Spinning Circle - somewhat fedup Islander SageMC Custom Interface 38 04-21-2010 07:24 AM
Spinning circle in when accessing recordings autoboy SageTV Software 11 04-08-2009 03:41 AM
FF and spinning circle (strange) bmac.to SageTV Software 7 03-09-2009 10:12 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.