SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2010, 04:18 PM
Joe Bloggins Joe Bloggins is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Recording from STB with HDMI interface output only

Hi,

I have an IP-based STB (SA IPP430MC rebranded to Belgacom) that has only an HDMI output interface. I want to connect it to my Hauppauge HD PVR box that has only Component input. Will a HDMI to Component cable like the one listed below work?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Component-Cabl...item2eaa8ee239

Thanks

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2010, 04:32 PM
david1234 david1234 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 312
There is no cheap/easy way to convert a digital hdmi source to analog component.

That cable doesn't actually change the digital output of the hdmi to distinct analog signals that component video uses.

What this thing does is adapt a (usually DVI) video card output source, which the card is outputing an analog signal to specific pins, and splitting the individual analog signals to the correct component cable.

Sorry- this isn't stated very well, but it should make enough sense anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2010, 05:40 PM
jpt1303 jpt1303 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
You could go with an HDfury, not a very cheap solution though. You can check the converters out at www.hdfury.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2010, 07:27 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
The HDFury2 is really your only option, the HDFury "1" only offered RGB output AFAIK.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2010, 02:29 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
With each new version of HDMI will you need a new HDFury? It seems like they are on version 3 which works with HDMI 1.3.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2010, 03:20 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Not really. Not much changes WRT video in each HDMI revision, and given that the output of the HDFury is analog (VGA/Component) which doesn't support stuff like lossless audio bitstreams, 3D, ethernet, return commands etc, there's no reason you'd need a new HDFury.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
component, hd-pvr, hdmi, recording, stb


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
480i over HDMI - HD200 output not standard? cncb SageTV Media Extender 4 07-21-2009 10:28 AM
HD200 no HDMI output webwalker SageTV Media Extender 26 02-19-2009 11:17 PM
HD Extender Output HDMI + Analog Audio? jasoninva SageTV Media Extender 3 08-18-2008 03:14 PM
Output 1080p 120hz via HDMI? Grasshopper SageTV Media Extender 1 06-21-2008 10:16 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.