SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2011, 10:16 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,610
Is this a possible HD300 replacement?

I just happened to come across this release about the popbox v8.

The design of the unit is almost the same as the HD300, which makes me wonder if the internals are the same as well. ie, I wonder if it would be possible to flash this using a firmware from an existing HD300?

I'm not willing to spend the money to find out... but maybe someone will
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2011, 10:31 AM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
The design of the unit is almost the same as the HD300, which makes me wonder if the internals are the same as well.
They do say that the chip used is:

Chipset
Sigma Design 8671, 700Mhz CPU, 256 Mb DDR2 DRAM, 256 MB NAND Flash

Which might be a slightly newer version of the one in the HD300 (Sigma 865X). Since they allow plugins, and already have 80+, someone could probably develop a SageTV one.

Quote:
I wonder if it would be possible to flash this using a firmware from an existing HD300?
It has been asked before for various boxes, and it's highly improbable...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2011, 10:39 AM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Also keep in mind, not available in the US as of yet.

http://www.popbox.com/onlinestore/in...tedpg=reseller but a nice review of it here: http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2011...iew-popbox-v8/
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2011, 10:40 AM
aflat aflat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I just happened to come across this release about the popbox v8.

The design of the unit is almost the same as the HD300, which makes me wonder if the internals are the same as well. ie, I wonder if it would be possible to flash this using a firmware from an existing HD300?

I'm not willing to spend the money to find out... but maybe someone will
Not even worth trying, I asked that already about similar hardware

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...&postcount=903
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2011, 11:08 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
I have faith in ya Sean. I think you can get it working :-)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2011, 12:22 PM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 354
It can run custom Flashlite/ ActionScript 2.0 apps and Syabas do partially expose their media player via an API so it provides more power than other customizable players like the Boxee Box. Apps for it will also run on the Syabas products A2x00, C200 and A300.

I have been trying to write a player for NextPVR using this but LiveTV support via the API seems to be limited and tech support for small developers is pathetic.

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-20-2011, 08:45 AM
Torkild Torkild is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by emveepee View Post
It can run custom Flashlite/ ActionScript 2.0 apps and Syabas do partially expose their media player via an API so it provides more power than other customizable players like the Boxee Box. Apps for it will also run on the Syabas products A2x00, C200 and A300.

I have been trying to write a player for NextPVR using this but LiveTV support via the API seems to be limited and tech support for small developers is pathetic.

Martin

Thats so sad to hear.
NextPVR was/is my backup if Google dosnt come out with a enhanced "sagetv" product.
Live TV support and hardware ekstender with support of "what ever grab from the web of media files" + native output is a must have.

Keep trying - I migth end up with useing your good work if Google dosnt come true.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RMA HD-PVR, replacement from Amazon, do nothing? limiter Hardware Support 2 08-11-2009 02:00 PM
replacement osd bradlewa SageTV Customizations 3 09-19-2007 02:57 AM
Replacement MCE remotes? GTwannabe Hardware Support 1 09-10-2007 02:13 PM
Replacement for PVR-350 TV-Out SkierHiker Hardware Support 2 01-03-2006 04:58 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.