SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2017, 06:54 PM
michaelh michaelh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 9
Compatible tuners list?

Does such a beast exist?


Somewhat related, is there any reason to keep the 2012 and older hardware posts stickied?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2017, 07:20 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,568
Depend on what your after
Analog Capture device as in set-top box
Antenna/Cable tuner
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2017, 07:21 PM
michaelh michaelh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 9
Both
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2017, 07:33 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,568
For analog could always get an HD-PVR 2 or Colossus 2 that cover Component and HDMI or 2nd HDMI option see here https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63177

For antenna like WinTV-dualHD or WinTV-quadHD tuner or HDHomeRun see this post https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62774

If need Composite or S-Video inputs best stick with HVR-1850 or HVR-1950/55 or HVR-2250/55
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2017, 10:19 AM
Scriber Scriber is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: AZ
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelh View Post
Does such a beast exist?

Somewhat related, is there any reason to keep the 2012 and older hardware posts stickied?

We need a new sticky! So much content and so little time....



Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post

If need Composite or S-Video inputs best stick with HVR-1850 or HVR-1950/55 or HVR-2250/55
Any issues with HVR-2250/55 co-existing with a QuadHD? Trying to decide between that (on ebay?) and the HVR-1955. I have 2 1800s but they're HW finicky and dont work on my current box (not detected by the BIOS or Windows) so gave up.




Curious about HDMI (with HDCP splitter). Whats the best HW now - reliability (no daily reboots, sound issues) more important than PQ? Any problems pairing with a QuadHD?


Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2017, 12:55 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scriber View Post
Curious about HDMI (with HDCP splitter). Whats the best HW now - reliability (no daily reboots, sound issues) more important than PQ?
Not a tuner specifically, but will capture from another source - the two most reliable options that I'm aware of;

Hauppauge HD-PVR1212 (has an option for 5.1 channel audio) component HD video
Network HDMI encoder (Stereo only) https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63177
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-22-2017, 06:45 PM
Scriber Scriber is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: AZ
Posts: 199
So the Colossus and PVRs are still on the naughty list as far as HDMI?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-25-2017, 10:46 AM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 882
I am still working on stability, but I have an UNRAID server up and running with a win7 VM that houses two Colossus 1 cards. The cards have a Dish VIP 211 and a Chromecast/splitter attached to them both via HDMI. I am able to capture dolby digital 5.1 sound from Dish. Not yet from chromecast, but I'm still working on it. Knock wood, I have never had the freezes with these cards before on both win7 and win10 standalone boxes. I did with the hdpvr 1212 though, that required nightly reboots.

Secret to 5.1 from dish for me was a setting inside hauppauge capture, had to uncheck "disable ac3", which I assume did something deep in the registry.

EDIT: I do have an optical cable running from the dish box to the colossus card. I don't know if it is using it though, as there is no option in Sage for HDMI/SPDIF, just HDMI. Not inclined to experiement though, as I have been battling this since July and am just happy it mostly works now.
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient

Last edited by btrcp2000; 12-25-2017 at 10:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTv Compatible ATSC / ClearQAM Tuners USB unclepoo Hardware Support 1 03-22-2016 06:01 PM
Supported / Compatible Tuner List? Galaxysurfer Hardware Support 7 12-23-2015 03:40 AM
64-bit XP & Compatible Tuners Savage1701 Hardware Support 19 01-21-2011 09:41 PM
HD-200 Compatible Wireless USB NIC List Inquiry lfilomeno SageTV Media Extender 0 12-30-2009 12:17 PM
Any USB HD Tuners Compatible with v4? jchiso Hardware Support 22 10-07-2009 05:05 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.