SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2003, 08:01 AM
Goran Goran is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1
Setting capture resolution and streaming

Hi

I am trying to figure out how to set the capture resolution in SageTV? I have found that I can select quality, but the capture resolutions listed for the different qualities seems to be based on NTSC resolution. I would like to use something based on PAL. For high quality I have been using 720x576 with Showshifter for a year, and I would like to try SageTV/PVR250 with the same resolution to see what kind of quality I get.

The main reason for trying SageTV/PVR250 is the possibilities of streaming the recordings. Will a 802.11g WLAN connection be enough to stream recordings with a 720x576 resolution?

With regards

Gøran
Oslo/Norway
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2003, 08:39 AM
dkardatzke's Avatar
dkardatzke dkardatzke is offline
SageTV Co-Founder
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,220
Information on Custom Quality settings is available at http://www.sage.tv/HPquality.txt
__________________
Dan Kardatzke, Co-Founder
SageTV, LLC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2003, 11:01 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
I was surprised at first by this too, but the PAL PVR250's can only record at PAL line resolutions(288,576), so despite Sage using 480 lines in the quality settings, the MPEG stream will be 576 lines.

'Best' quality gives 720x576 for me...

Record something and check the output in an MPEG2 editor (eg Hauppages' nano mpeg editor, or the vidomi re-encoder), or play it back in WMP and do file->properties to see the resolution.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2003, 07:35 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,313
It automatically uses the respective PAL sizes (576/288) instead of NTSC (480/240) if the video format is PAL.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.