SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV International User Forums > SageTV United Kingdom

Notices

SageTV United Kingdom SageTV and SageTV Recorder Users from the UK - This forum is for you to post about specific issues using SageTV software in the UK.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2012, 04:22 PM
paulie's Avatar
paulie paulie is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 158
Playon & netflix

Anyone using the playon plugin with netflix ? If so how's it working for you ?
__________________
Paulie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2012, 05:47 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulie View Post
Anyone using the playon plugin with netflix ? If so how's it working for you ?
A colleague at work is currently trying Netflix membership...he's saying that it's improving, but still the choice of what you can see and the stream quality is very limited, far away from what our fellows on the other side of the pond are experiencing

Personally I would prefer whether a service like LoveFilm would be available. I might try to contact them, signing an NDA, get the protocol specification and trying to make a plugin...
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 03-20-2012 at 06:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2012, 02:50 AM
paulie's Avatar
paulie paulie is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 158
I asked because I have been using the Playon plugin and netflix, hulu along with other playon channels. I have found it great, but few days ago netflix started having some issues. I couldn't get a Genres page but new releases work fine. I have contacted playon and the problem should be fixed asap.
__________________
Paulie
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2012, 03:25 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
So just to confirm you are using Netflix UK with playon and it generally works fine? If so may have to look into this as I use a Wii to access Netflix currently but would be great to use my HD300 - what is the video quality like?

Thanks.
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2012, 03:33 PM
paulie's Avatar
paulie paulie is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 158
The video quality is perfect. As I have said playon are updating their software in the next few days which will rectify the recent problem I have been having (genres section showing no videos). Playon also gives me some hulu access and more on my server and allows me get US netflix content using "unblock us". I find it great.
__________________
Paulie
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2012, 03:38 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
unblock-us.com rocks...
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2012, 03:17 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
I cannot get it to work with UK Netflix, when I choose Netflix from the Playon menu it says unavailable outside US/Canada?

Do you have it working with UK Netflix?
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-28-2012, 01:56 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
Answer my own question, Playon support advised they do not support Netflix UK yet and no date on plans to.
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners

Last edited by starfire; 03-28-2012 at 03:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-28-2012, 03:46 PM
paulie's Avatar
paulie paulie is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 158
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-16467432
__________________
Paulie
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-28-2012, 03:52 PM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
Playon
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners

Last edited by starfire; 03-28-2012 at 03:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-29-2012, 02:27 AM
paulie's Avatar
paulie paulie is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 158
Use "unblock" us on your server.
__________________
Paulie
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having problems with Playon plugin and netflix rdefino SageTV v7 Customizations 8 06-14-2011 02:11 PM
No Netflix tv shows through playon inssain96 SageTV Customizations 2 05-11-2010 01:12 PM
Playon Netflix, framerate robjen1019 SageTV Customizations 1 02-14-2010 08:59 AM
PlayOn/NetFlix - can use w/remote? APillowOfClouds SageTV Customizations 8 01-12-2010 04:59 PM
HD Netflix Content with Playon fyodor SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 0 03-14-2009 08:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.