SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2011, 09:12 AM
Mesh Mesh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 10
Colossus vs. 1212 HD-PVR

Colossus vs. 1212 HD-PVR

I'm at a point where I can select between these two devices. I have both and both are still within its return window (Colossus only about 3or 4 days). It will be my 4th device with the others being two 1212 HD-PVRs and one HVR-1600 using Directv and OTA. So, I have had colossus installed for about 3 weeks with Component + SPDIF input.. So far it's worked “Okay” – I have had a couple crashes (blue screens) and sage 7 locking up. It seems I have to reboot daily. The recordings have are been good – some times I get freezing at video at play back.. The only advantages of the device I see is its internal and it has HDMI input (which does not work with HBOZHD channel). My concern is the reliability of this device with sage (Google?). Where as the 1212 HD-PVR seems to be very stable.

I really want to stay with colossus thinking it will become more stable in time (I sure that the 1212 was a this point at some time) and that HDMI input that may become useful. However I keep thinking “stay with what works” – meaning the 1212. I have read many of the other posts and nothing is clear about colossus. What are some of the other experience with this configuration? I would appreciate some input.

Thanks,
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2011, 06:39 PM
wbarber69's Avatar
wbarber69 wbarber69 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hammond, La.
Posts: 512
Send a message via ICQ to wbarber69 Send a message via AIM to wbarber69 Send a message via MSN to wbarber69 Send a message via Yahoo to wbarber69
I really need to run a colossus and an hdpvr on the same system and cannot seem to find any relevant information as to whether or not this is a feasble solution. My cable provider recently digitized its entire catalog and an stb is my only option now. All I need to know is should I go ahead and purchase a colossus or just more hdpvrs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2011, 07:01 PM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marietta, Ga.
Posts: 813
Hi,

I run both an HD PVR and a colossus in my server. It is working ok with the right drivers. It does seem to need a reboot every couple of days.

If I were to do it again I would buy a second HD PVR instead of the colossus.

Jesse
__________________
Server: Asus P5Q-EM DO, Q6600, 8 Gigs ram, WHS 2011, 1 HDHomerun(x2 OTA), 1 HD-PVR, 1 Colossus, V7.1.9 sage, 3.3 TB vid storage.
HD100 X1
HD200 X2
HD300 X1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2011, 07:25 PM
wbarber69's Avatar
wbarber69 wbarber69 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hammond, La.
Posts: 512
Send a message via ICQ to wbarber69 Send a message via AIM to wbarber69 Send a message via MSN to wbarber69 Send a message via Yahoo to wbarber69
yes but I could buy 2 colossus for the price of an hdpvr and im getting low on usb ports unless I want to sacrifice my front ports
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2011, 08:00 PM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marietta, Ga.
Posts: 813
Hi,

I am seeing the HD PVR for about $60 more than the colossus. Based on my experience (and yes, it is just my experience) it is worth the extra $.

In any case, I would not spring for two right off the bat. See if your system will work well with one first.

My .02

Jesse
__________________
Server: Asus P5Q-EM DO, Q6600, 8 Gigs ram, WHS 2011, 1 HDHomerun(x2 OTA), 1 HD-PVR, 1 Colossus, V7.1.9 sage, 3.3 TB vid storage.
HD100 X1
HD200 X2
HD300 X1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2011, 09:29 PM
wbarber69's Avatar
wbarber69 wbarber69 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hammond, La.
Posts: 512
Send a message via ICQ to wbarber69 Send a message via AIM to wbarber69 Send a message via MSN to wbarber69 Send a message via Yahoo to wbarber69
I know I can get better prices but I have a charge account with bestbuy with platinum rewards so I kinda tend to lean that direction when it comes to electronics. I would like to run an hdpvr and colossus since I have an hdpvr now and since the usbuirt only has 3 zones the 3 stbs would be perfect so I'm hoping that I can run both smoothly. I know I'd need a daily restart with the hdpvr as I do that now and I would recommend it to anyone. I even bought a timer to hard reset the hdpvr everyday at the same time too to prevent lockups, and I love its performance that way. So I'm no against some seriously weird setups if it means it will be stable. I really need to run in an hdpvr + colossus environment in order to go forward.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2011, 07:20 AM
gambitpvr gambitpvr is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 64
I've been running a HD-PVR / Colossus setup for over 6 months myself. Personally, I like the Colossus better than the HD-PVR. It seems to have a slightly better image quality but I was hesitant to recommend it to anyone because of the stability issues I was having when I first installed it. I haven't tried using the HDMI input for recording yet but I may try that in the future just for kicks.

It took awhile but after a bit of testing and tweaking, I finally got my setup stable. Here's what I do:
  1. Run SageTV in 'Service' mode and use a bat file to do a 'net stop Sagetv' / 'net start sagetv' every morning to restart the service. This is mostly just a general preventative step but it will also reset the Colossus if it does have an issue.
  2. Loaded the newest Colossus drivers (v29192)
  3. Installed a fan on my HD-PVR. This completely stablized my HD-PVR (see my sig for a link). The HD-PVR has a tendency to overheat and lockup if you don't add extra cooling. I used to use a timer to reset the HD-PVR but the fan setup has actually worked out better.
  4. Locked the video output of my cable boxes to 1080i. This fixed the odd 'green screen' issue I was having with the Colussus. Sometimes the Colossus can't lock onto the image properly when the cable box switches resolutions and just records a green screen. The updated drivers resolved this issue for most of my recordings but, the issue was still there. Locking the cable box resolution basically just bypasses the root cause of the issue.
__________________
Sage TV 7.1.9
Intel I5| 8 GB RAM | Win10 Home 64-Bit
- 4TB Recording Pool + External USB storage
- Hauppauge HD-PVR (with fan mod) - HD Cable Box
- Hauppauge Colossus - HD Cable Box
- HDHomeRun (x3) - Over the Air HD
- HD300 x2
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-22-2011, 07:21 AM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marietta, Ga.
Posts: 813
I hear you.

I don't know if I should be glad that at least someone is making this kind of hardware, even if it is flawed, or be pissed that I am stuck with Hauppauge's not quite baked drivers.

I don't think it will get much better. Sage won't be doing any work to improve compatibility with any hardware, and Hauppauge now has no incentive to improve compatibility with sage.

Jesse
__________________
Server: Asus P5Q-EM DO, Q6600, 8 Gigs ram, WHS 2011, 1 HDHomerun(x2 OTA), 1 HD-PVR, 1 Colossus, V7.1.9 sage, 3.3 TB vid storage.
HD100 X1
HD200 X2
HD300 X1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-22-2011, 10:18 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
I really like my colossus. Since I've gotten it I've only had a few recordings where the colossus gets confused about what type of audio it was supposed to encode. Other than that no issues. I'm using HDMI with native resolution turned on and dolby digital enabled.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-22-2011, 11:39 AM
Rico66 Rico66 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 407
I like the Colossus better, because it's integrated - but not with Sage.

HD playback is fine, but SD playback is broken in my case. This looks like a splitter issue, since these "broken" recordings play fine elsewhere.
I know that this doesn't affect everybody, but it's a killer criteria for me and the reason why I left Sage.
Hauppauge drivers are hit or miss. Strange enough the one that's working great for me is v29168 as that's the only one for which I don't have any audio playback issues (the 29191 regressed this issue).
If you don't mind the box, then the hdpvr is probably a safer solution with Sage, since it's a more established product.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-22-2011, 11:56 AM
SteveD's Avatar
SteveD SteveD is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Alabama
Posts: 228
I have two hd PVRs. I never have to reboot or stop and restart the sage service. I did the fan mod on them and connected them to a UPS. I also run the optical inputs. No special usb cards. I am very satisfied with their performance. See attached
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0006.jpg (753.0 KB, 388 views)
__________________
Serv:ECS H61H2-T1 ITX I7 3770S CPU@3.1GHZ 8G Ram WIN1064 HDPVR, HD Homerun|network encoder Unraid Server:B75MU3B I5-3550 CPU@3.30GHz 9TB 16G Ram|Network HDPVR encoder:Win10 VM 8G Ram with Processor passthrough. Directv Http tuning to Genie, exemultitunplugin to Genie client. Http scheduled task bat file to defeat screensaver on Genie. Usb uirt scheduled task bat file to defeat screensaver on Genie client. Clients Android TV, Samsung TAB A
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-22-2011, 12:25 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rico66 View Post
I like the Colossus better, because it's integrated - but not with Sage.

HD playback is fine, but SD playback is broken in my case. This looks like a splitter issue, since these "broken" recordings play fine elsewhere.
I know that this doesn't affect everybody, but it's a killer criteria for me and the reason why I left Sage.
Hauppauge drivers are hit or miss. Strange enough the one that's working great for me is v29168 as that's the only one for which I don't have any audio playback issues (the 29191 regressed this issue).
If you don't mind the box, then the hdpvr is probably a safer solution with Sage, since it's a more established product.
SD recording doesn't work well at all with the Colossus. Lucky for me my hvr-1600 has an unused tuner for s-video that I can use for my sd directv recordings. Some may argue that the sd on the colossus looks better, but IMHO SD sucks no matter what so I don't worry about it.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-22-2011, 01:17 PM
Rico66 Rico66 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
SD recording doesn't work well at all with the Colossus. Lucky for me my hvr-1600 has an unused tuner for s-video that I can use for my sd directv recordings. Some may argue that the sd on the colossus looks better, but IMHO SD sucks no matter what so I don't worry about it.
For me it works perfectly fine on WMC. The quality should be better than through s-video, though probably not that much (and depending on the quality of the source channel)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-22-2011, 01:32 PM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marietta, Ga.
Posts: 813
Hey Steve,

I see I am not the only one to find it useful to have a hot water heater in their server room.

Jesse
__________________
Server: Asus P5Q-EM DO, Q6600, 8 Gigs ram, WHS 2011, 1 HDHomerun(x2 OTA), 1 HD-PVR, 1 Colossus, V7.1.9 sage, 3.3 TB vid storage.
HD100 X1
HD200 X2
HD300 X1
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-22-2011, 01:48 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rico66 View Post
For me it works perfectly fine on WMC. The quality should be better than through s-video, though probably not that much (and depending on the quality of the source channel)
My issue seems to be with the AAC audio. Every recording that has AAC has playback issues. Even in external players. All of my HD recordings use Dolby digital and have no issues at all.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-22-2011, 02:16 PM
SteveD's Avatar
SteveD SteveD is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Alabama
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse View Post
Hey Steve,

I see I am not the only one to find it useful to have a hot water heater in their server room.

Jesse
Helps keep them warm in the winter.
__________________
Serv:ECS H61H2-T1 ITX I7 3770S CPU@3.1GHZ 8G Ram WIN1064 HDPVR, HD Homerun|network encoder Unraid Server:B75MU3B I5-3550 CPU@3.30GHz 9TB 16G Ram|Network HDPVR encoder:Win10 VM 8G Ram with Processor passthrough. Directv Http tuning to Genie, exemultitunplugin to Genie client. Http scheduled task bat file to defeat screensaver on Genie. Usb uirt scheduled task bat file to defeat screensaver on Genie client. Clients Android TV, Samsung TAB A
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-22-2011, 03:04 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mesh View Post
The only advantages of the device I see is its internal and it has HDMI input (which does not work with HBOZHD channel).
Thanks for posting that I had no clue. Wonder why ONE channel would have hdcp encryption (or is it 1080p or something?). Very strange. I'm now thinking I have to check all of my channels to make sure they actually work. I'll plug in the component and spdif and create a lineup with one channel I guess. At least I know now.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-22-2011, 08:03 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mesh View Post
Colossus vs. 1212 HD-PVR

I'm at a point where I can select between these two devices. I have both and both are still within its return window (Colossus only about 3or 4 days). It will be my 4th device with the others being two 1212 HD-PVRs and one HVR-1600 using Directv and OTA. So, I have had colossus installed for about 3 weeks with Component + SPDIF input.. So far it's worked “Okay” – I have had a couple crashes (blue screens) and sage 7 locking up. It seems I have to reboot daily. The recordings have are been good – some times I get freezing at video at play back.. The only advantages of the device I see is its internal and it has HDMI input (which does not work with HBOZHD channel). My concern is the reliability of this device with sage (Google?). Where as the 1212 HD-PVR seems to be very stable.

I really want to stay with colossus thinking it will become more stable in time (I sure that the 1212 was a this point at some time) and that HDMI input that may become useful. However I keep thinking “stay with what works” – meaning the 1212. I have read many of the other posts and nothing is clear about colossus. What are some of the other experience with this configuration? I would appreciate some input.

Thanks,
Mike
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Thanks for posting that I had no clue. Wonder why ONE channel would have hdcp encryption (or is it 1080p or something?). Very strange. I'm now thinking I have to check all of my channels to make sure they actually work. I'll plug in the component and spdif and create a lineup with one channel I guess. At least I know now.
FYI: 08/22/2011 8:53pm CDT Ninja Assassin Live from HBOZHD DirectTV with HDMI and AAC audio. Plays fine on PC server but not on extenders. Just thought I would try it. Looks like it works but would have to convert the container after it is done to MP4 to get it to playback on extender - at least I think it will. The next program on HBOZHD that I actually want I will setup to record and check to see if it is AAC as well. If it is I'm going to try converting it to MP4 to see if extenders play it back. But the recording itself is working from playback on my server from HBOZHD anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-23-2011, 01:12 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,929
theoretically, you can run the HD-PVR on a lower-powered system, such as a laptop.
That equates to big energy savings over a year (my 380w HTPC box eats up $17 month where I live)
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300’s networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-23-2011, 09:53 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbarber69 View Post
I really need to run a colossus and an hdpvr on the same system and cannot seem to find any relevant information as to whether or not this is a feasble solution. My cable provider recently digitized its entire catalog and an stb is my only option now. All I need to know is should I go ahead and purchase a colossus or just more hdpvrs
I run both in my system (Win7 64-bit, Sage 7 in Service Mode). The Colossus did make things less stable, but not unusable.

I had the HD-PVR by itself for over 6 months with no corrupted recordings and no regular re-boots (only when needed for software upgrades, etc.). During that time, I never power-cycled the HD-PVR (even when re-booting the PC, I left the HDPVR powered-on and connected to a UPS). My STB is locked to 720p and I use analog stereo audio only. I have not needed extra cooling (but my server is in the basement of an air-conditioned house, so ambient temp is always less than 72F, even on the hottest summer days).

Once I added the Colossus, I started to see weird problems and crashes - some of them happened when the HD-PVR was recording and the Colossus was idle.

The first weird problem I had was that suddenly all my Colossus recordings had a greenish tint - upon closer examination I saw that it wasn't capturing anything that was red at all. I thought maybe I had a loose or bad component video wire, but that was not the problem. I tried re-starting my Sage client, and then re-starting the Sage service, but this did not help either. Re-booting the PC solved that problem and I haven't seen it re-occur since.

Anyway, I discovered that a weekly reboot has solved all my problems. At the moment, I just do this manually on the weekends.

Oh, my Colossus is configured the same way as my HD-PVR (using component video, analog stereo audio, and STB locked to 720p).

I'm not at home right now and don't remember which driver versions I am using, but I know they are not the latest for either HD-PVR or Colossus.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hauppauge HD-PVR vs. 1212 HD-PVR RetroBox Hardware Support 7 11-09-2010 08:56 AM
HD-PVR 1212 stops running after 14 hours golfbuddy Hardware Support 2 08-02-2010 12:05 PM
Hauppauge HD PVR 1212 Blank Screen mh0825 Hardware Support 5 01-23-2010 12:37 PM
Help with HDPVR 1212 and Sage Fencepost Hardware Support 33 09-13-2009 07:45 PM
Hauppauge HD PVR 1212 support fbures Hardware Support 13 07-07-2008 12:23 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.