SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2004, 08:56 PM
kpaske kpaske is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Problems with configuration

Hello all. I recently built a new system with the intention of creating a multimedia server linked to my home audio/video system. My new system includes a P4/800HT processor, a 160 GB HDD, a DVD Burner, and an ATI All-In-Wonder 9600 Pro video card/TV tuner. Thus far I've been fairly disappointed with my ATI card, mostly because it's software is just not compatible with digital cable, so many of the advertised features are either unavailable, or complicated to implement. Then I learned about SageTV and the Motorola plug-in, and my AIW card's future is looking much brighter!!

Anyhow, enough chit-chat... I've got some configuration problems I'm hoping the experts here can help me with. I've installed the demo version of SageTV 1.4.10, and the Motorola plug-in. The plug-in seems to be working correctly (it changes the channel on my cable box), but I can't seem to get a picture. The ATI software works, so I'm certain it's not an installation issue. Whenever I go to watch LiveTV, I get the following error:

The was a problem utilizing the specific capture configuration. Unable to configure audio capture portion of the filter graph. ErrCode=0x80004005

In addition, whenever I try to change the channel, the cable box changes channels, and the display at the top changes, but still no video, and I also get the following error:

There was a problem with time control in DirectShow. Failed seeking the DirectShow filter graph after switch files. ErrCode=0x80004001

I'm using an ATI AIW 9600 Pro video/tv tuner card, my motherboard's built-in soundcard, and a Motorola digital cable box. I would appreciate any help with these problems, as this software really looks promissing. Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2004, 10:29 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
ATI AIW is not supportted by SageTV, you need one of the cards listed on this page:
http://www.sage.tv/requirements.html

I'd recomend a WinTV PVR 250, a lot of people running Sage have them and they work great.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2004, 12:32 AM
kpaske kpaske is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Hmm... I find it hard to believe that one of the most popular brands of video/tuner cards is unsupported; can someone tell me why this is? Regardless, I've noted that at least a handful of folks on this forum said they were using ATI cards so they must work. Is there someone here who could offer me some suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2004, 01:24 AM
ErsatzTom's Avatar
ErsatzTom ErsatzTom is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 712
Send a message via AIM to ErsatzTom
Many people use ATI cards as a display adapter but Sage does not support capturing video through the AIW cards because they don't have a hardware mpeg encoder. Sage does not (wisely, imho) support software encoding.

t
__________________
Thomas Micheline
duff@sage-community.org
http://www.sage-community.org/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2004, 04:13 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
I fought with an ATI card for months (using various software including ATI's own efforts) before giving up... a Hauppage PVR-250 (and I guess any other card with a hardware MPEG encoder) is a world of difference in recording and picture quality, and the fact that it uses virtually no CPU when recording means no dropped frames, ever!.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-2004, 03:36 PM
kpaske kpaske is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Well I must say that I'm very disappointed. I read quite a few reviews on Media Center PC's, and most of them used ATI AIW cards. None of them mentioned the incompatibilities with cable boxes. Without the ability to change channels, prescheduled recording is virtually useless. I was hoping SageTV could solve the problem for me. Purchasing a second video capture card is one option, but then the ATI software won't support it. At least if I were to purchase a second ATI card I could use picture-in-picture features or watch a different channel than I am recording on.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.