SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2011, 06:13 AM
MrLarkins's Avatar
MrLarkins MrLarkins is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Central Arkansas
Posts: 100
Tuner Suggestions

I just cancelled my DirecTV service. Been a customer of theirs for the last 10 years and I don't have any complaints, they've been great. However, with 4 kids, I don't get much TV time, and frankly, thats ok, b/c I play more of my online games than watch TV.

I had a Hauppauge Colossus and an ATI TV Wonder HD 600 for over the air HD. I plan on selling my Colossus and HDPVR (and possibly my HD600) on ebay and purchasing a single tuner HD tuner. However, I'd like to take the single from my antenna to a dual tuner card. SO I suppose my question is this, what is a great dual HD OTA tuner card...and can I use the signal from the same antenna? Its a homemade one, you know, a plank of wood, hangers, etc. anyone have experience with the Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual Hybrid Tuner?

I'll end up saving $80 / month for tv I wasn't watching anyway and several hundred from the ebay sales.
__________________
ASUS M4A79 Deluxe | AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition | Sapphire Radeon 7750 | 52" Sharp LED LCD TV | Xonar Audio | 4GB Kingston HyperX DDR 1066 | 64GB SSD for Win10 64-bit | 1TB HDD for Local Recording | ASUS DVD Burner | Drobo 5N (3x4TB & 1x2TB) | Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 (8851)

Last edited by MrLarkins; 06-16-2011 at 06:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2011, 06:29 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLarkins View Post
anyone have experience with the Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual Hybrid Tuner?
Yes, it's a great tuner, I wouldn't hesitate to use it for OTA. However, what I would more strongly recommend is the SiliconDust HDHomeRun dual tuner, which is a network tuner so it does not even occupy a slot. The 2250 and the HDHR are approximately the same price, so cost shouldn't be a factor.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2011, 06:38 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
+1 on the HDHR.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2011, 06:51 AM
MrLarkins's Avatar
MrLarkins MrLarkins is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Central Arkansas
Posts: 100
network? thats a bummer, i have no more ports open on my home network...
__________________
ASUS M4A79 Deluxe | AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition | Sapphire Radeon 7750 | 52" Sharp LED LCD TV | Xonar Audio | 4GB Kingston HyperX DDR 1066 | 64GB SSD for Win10 64-bit | 1TB HDD for Local Recording | ASUS DVD Burner | Drobo 5N (3x4TB & 1x2TB) | Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 (8851)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-16-2011, 09:04 AM
bhyman1 bhyman1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 347
Add a switch for more ports
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-16-2011, 04:28 PM
MrLarkins's Avatar
MrLarkins MrLarkins is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Central Arkansas
Posts: 100
ah, yep, but that is more $$$ now isn't it?
__________________
ASUS M4A79 Deluxe | AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition | Sapphire Radeon 7750 | 52" Sharp LED LCD TV | Xonar Audio | 4GB Kingston HyperX DDR 1066 | 64GB SSD for Win10 64-bit | 1TB HDD for Local Recording | ASUS DVD Burner | Drobo 5N (3x4TB & 1x2TB) | Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 (8851)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-16-2011, 04:59 PM
thomaszoo thomaszoo is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 485
If you have a second unused NIC on your server you can plug the HDHR into that. Then you don't even have to worry about the additional traffic.

Wayne
__________________
i5-6400, MSI B150M Micro ATX MB, 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 - WD Green 2TB SATA Drives, Lite-On SATA 4X Blu-ray Reader, Corsair 400W 80+ Power Supply, Silverstone Sugo SG02-BF MicroATX Case, Windows 10 (64), HDHR Dual X2, Quatro and Prime, 5 x HD300 + 2 x HD100
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-16-2011, 05:08 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomaszoo View Post
If you have a second unused NIC on your server you can plug the HDHR into that. Then you don't even have to worry about the additional traffic.

Wayne
Second that I direct plugin one of mine (can't really do 2 of them without allot of effort directly)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-16-2011, 05:46 PM
MrLarkins's Avatar
MrLarkins MrLarkins is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Central Arkansas
Posts: 100
my motherboard only has one port...that Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual Hybrid Tune is looking like the better solution for me.
__________________
ASUS M4A79 Deluxe | AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition | Sapphire Radeon 7750 | 52" Sharp LED LCD TV | Xonar Audio | 4GB Kingston HyperX DDR 1066 | 64GB SSD for Win10 64-bit | 1TB HDD for Local Recording | ASUS DVD Burner | Drobo 5N (3x4TB & 1x2TB) | Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 (8851)

Last edited by MrLarkins; 06-16-2011 at 05:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-16-2011, 06:06 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLarkins View Post
ah, yep, but that is more $$$ now isn't it?
8-port gigabit switches can be had for less than $40. Hardly in the $$$ category. If you don't already have a switch and are running everything through the built-in ports on your router, then you really ought to add a switch anyway to keep your local LAN traffic out of the router, which is probably not optimized for high-bandwidth video streaming.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-17-2011, 05:31 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,065
To answer the antenna part of your question, if you have a working antenna now, it will still work. However, adding a splitter will introduce some signal loss, and every tuner is different (more/less sensitive), so you might see issues with a new device and splitter that you didn't see with the old setup. How long is your run of coax from the antenna to the tuner? Your first step (if the splitter causes problems) might be to try to shorten it, if possible. This is an advantage of the HDHR - you can locate it nearer to the antenna to shorten the coax length and then just run network cable back to your (switch/NIC). If that's still got problems, next step may be to introduce an amp in your line.

BTW, I had the "coat hanger antenna" too, and had a few small glitches. I recommend that you replace the coat hangers with 12ga copper (buy about 4' of 12-3 copper "Romex" house wire from your local HD/Lowes and strip out the pieces from their insulation, if I remember correctly, that should be enough linear footage). You'll see noticeable improvement and the copper won't rust.

First things first, though - pick a tuner and see how it does. You might be just fine anyway.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.

Last edited by pjpjpjpj; 06-17-2011 at 05:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-17-2011, 05:53 AM
MrLarkins's Avatar
MrLarkins MrLarkins is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Central Arkansas
Posts: 100
yea, the above dual tuner doesn't require two inputs or a splitter. I may give the copper a try, if i get glitches...however, i do have an amplifier on it.
__________________
ASUS M4A79 Deluxe | AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition | Sapphire Radeon 7750 | 52" Sharp LED LCD TV | Xonar Audio | 4GB Kingston HyperX DDR 1066 | 64GB SSD for Win10 64-bit | 1TB HDD for Local Recording | ASUS DVD Burner | Drobo 5N (3x4TB & 1x2TB) | Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 (8851)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-17-2011, 08:26 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLarkins View Post
yea, the above dual tuner doesn't require two inputs or a splitter. I may give the copper a try, if i get glitches...however, i do have an amplifier on it.
Oh, right, I forgot that these tuners are now coming out with one connection. My old HDHRs came with two jacks, two short pieces of coax, and a splitter.

Of course, I don't know how the internal wiring is done - do they just split it inside after the jack? I'm sure someone here knows....
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-17-2011, 09:43 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
Oh, right, I forgot that these tuners are now coming out with one connection. My old HDHRs came with two jacks, two short pieces of coax, and a splitter.

Of course, I don't know how the internal wiring is done - do they just split it inside after the jack? I'm sure someone here knows....
Per SiliconDust, the HDHR3 has an internal zero-loss active splitter.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-17-2011, 11:29 AM
PhilH's Avatar
PhilH PhilH is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edinburg, TX (Deep South Texas)
Posts: 95
I have to chime in with the Avermedia Duet for OTA use. I have 2 of these in my WHS SAGETV box for a total of 4 tuners & have had great luck with them. At least with my OTA stations the Duet seems to lock on to the channels faster & the signal is more stable then the 2250's. I had 2 of those in my box & traded them out for the Duet's & never looked back. I have been very happy with the Duet's.

Phil
__________________
SageTV v7.1.9 Gemstone WHS + 3 HD200's, 1 Client & 1 Placeshifter
WHS - Dual Xeon 2.8ghz - 3gig ECC Ram - 25 Drives - 30 Terabytes
Blu-ray Titles 498
HD-DVD Titles 166
DVD Titles - Too Many To Count..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9 tuner system. Need help / suggestions. joe4 Hardware Support 16 11-10-2009 11:22 AM
Dedicated tuner for LiveTV - suggestions? wado1971 SageTV Software 6 04-20-2008 10:33 PM
Tuner Card Suggestions JayeTH SageTV Linux 2 01-13-2007 12:54 AM
TV Tuner Suggestions ausm Hardware Support 5 03-30-2006 04:57 PM
Tuner Suggestions? polarhyte Hardware Support 3 09-17-2005 05:58 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.