SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2003, 06:09 PM
Mark Lamutt's Avatar
Mark Lamutt Mark Lamutt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: HDTV Wastland known as Denver, CO
Posts: 769
Hauppauge PVR-350 composite input

I tried connecting my dish network receiver video via composite video cable and the svideo-to-composite dongle that came with the 350. I didn't get what I expected out of Sage - the picture was completely black and white. No color, no matter what channel it was tuned to.

Driver problem? Dongle problem? Other suggestions? When I connect via svideo cable, all is good.

I'm running the latest drivers posted on SHS's site, after going through the cleaning procedure he lists there.
__________________
Mark
mark@freytechnologies.com
The picture is of my kitty, Myko at 9 months old.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2003, 06:38 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
To fix the b/w problem, do the following:
1 - Quit SageRecorder/SageTV
2 - Open the SageRecorder.properties or Sage.properties (for SageTV) file with Notepad
3 - Find the lines that have (... will be a large number):
mmc/encoder/..../3/0/video_crossbar_index=0
mmc/encoder/..../2/0/video_crossbar_index=0
and change them to be
mmc/encoder/..../3/0/video_crossbar_index=1
mmc/encoder/..../2/0/video_crossbar_index=1

NOTE: if you have multiple tuner cards, you'll need to find the encoder section that refers to the Hauppauge card. The /3/ property fixes S-Video, the /2/ property fixes composite.
4 - Save the file and quit Notepad
5 - Start SageRecorder/SageTV and you should have color on the s-video/composite instead of b/w.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2003, 10:41 PM
Mark Lamutt's Avatar
Mark Lamutt Mark Lamutt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: HDTV Wastland known as Denver, CO
Posts: 769
When I changed the svideo (the /3/ setting) from 0 to 1, I lost the entire picture when connected via svideo cable. Setting it back to 0 restored the picture. When I changed the composite setting from 0 to 1, went through the setup wizard again to modify the source from svideo to composite_2 (that's what was listed), exited SageTv, and then restarted, I had color from the composite input.
__________________
Mark
mark@freytechnologies.com
The picture is of my kitty, Myko at 9 months old.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.