SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2010, 07:10 AM
Hunter69 Hunter69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
Keytool not recognized

I am trying to get ssl going. I get the following error:

Microsoft Windows [Version 5.2.3790]
(C) Copyright 1985-2003 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd\




C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV>keytool -genkey -keyalg RSA -keypass 123456 -stor
epass 123456 -validity 365
'keytool' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

from my reading i think keytool is not installed. So now I am trying to figure out where to download keytool from and should I shutdown sagetv when I do find install the keytool?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated
Bill
__________________
Server: Antec 300, AMD Phenom 9750, 4 gig ram, 4 tb-with pooled recording , Lite on Blu-ray drive
Tuners: 2 HD-PVR, 1 HDHR
Clients: 2 HD200
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2010, 07:45 AM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
It's part of Sun's Java JRE. So, you have to first cd to something like C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin and run keytool from there.

NOTE that if you ONLY have the JRE bundled with SageTV, then keytool is not part of that. In that case, go to java.com, and download and install the latest JRE. If you do that, you WILL want to stop SageTV before installing the new JRE. (I've seen some complaints about the latest JRE, although I've been running it for a little without any issues.)
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html

Last edited by KarylFStein; 04-19-2010 at 07:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2010, 09:07 AM
Hunter69 Hunter69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
Ok I finally got it to generate the certificate. Stupid me I answered a question incorrectly, so is there a way to delete what i have done and rerun the keytool command?

Thanks
Bill
__________________
Server: Antec 300, AMD Phenom 9750, 4 gig ram, 4 tb-with pooled recording , Lite on Blu-ray drive
Tuners: 2 HD-PVR, 1 HDHR
Clients: 2 HD200

Last edited by Hunter69; 04-19-2010 at 10:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2010, 11:08 AM
JetreL's Avatar
JetreL JetreL is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 388
You should just be able to rerun the tool and re-answer the questions. If not do a search for files created after that point that appear to be SSL related and rename them.

I am unfamiliar with windows/Java's key tool but that's how it works in Linux.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2010, 12:53 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter69 View Post
Ok I finally got it to generate the certificate. Stupid me I answered a question incorrectly, so is there a way to delete what i have done and rerun the keytool command?

Thanks
Bill
You can do a keytool -delete -alias .... Or just delete the %USER%\.keystore file if you don't mind wiping everything. If you're not sure of the alias, do a keytool -list -v.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2010, 12:56 PM
Hunter69 Hunter69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
Thanks, I did a search for the file and found it and removed it. I was then able to create a new file. So now that I have created the .keystore file it is placed in the folling location

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator

I found another .keystore file here:

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\Sage\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\jetty\etc

do I need to replace the one in the etc directory with the .keystore that I just created?

Thanks
Bill
__________________
Server: Antec 300, AMD Phenom 9750, 4 gig ram, 4 tb-with pooled recording , Lite on Blu-ray drive
Tuners: 2 HD-PVR, 1 HDHR
Clients: 2 HD200
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2010, 01:44 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter69 View Post
Thanks, I did a search for the file and found it and removed it. I was then able to create a new file. So now that I have created the .keystore file it is placed in the folling location

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator

I found another .keystore file here:

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\Sage\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\jetty\etc

do I need to replace the one in the etc directory with the .keystore that I just created?

Thanks
Bill
Yes, that's the easiest way to do it, (note there is no leading '.' in the file name in the jetty\etc folder).

You can also edit the JettyStarter.properties file, uncomment the jetty.ssl.keystore and jetty.ssl.truststore parameters, and set them to whatever ".keystore" file you want to use, (both parameters point to the same file). That's what I do because I store my keystore in a common location with other certificate data.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:01 PM
Hunter69 Hunter69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
ok thanks.

Step 4 of the jetty ssl found here:
http://tools.assembla.com/sageplugins/wiki/JettySSL
confuses me.

In short what does running this command do

java -cp JARs/jetty-6.1.19.jar:JARs/jetty-util-6.1.19.jar:JARs/jetty-starter.jar sagex.jetty.security.Password sage ?

right now the i am using the default username:sage
and password:frey for logging in. It is not exposed to the web yet. I am going to change this once ssl is working.

When I generated the certificate I believe I used the default password of 123456.

When i run the above command it asks for a password, what password should I input?

Thanks
Bill
__________________
Server: Antec 300, AMD Phenom 9750, 4 gig ram, 4 tb-with pooled recording , Lite on Blu-ray drive
Tuners: 2 HD-PVR, 1 HDHR
Clients: 2 HD200

Last edited by Hunter69; 04-19-2010 at 02:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2010, 06:54 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter69 View Post
ok thanks.

Step 4 of the jetty ssl found here:
http://tools.assembla.com/sageplugins/wiki/JettySSL
confuses me.

In short what does running this command do

java -cp JARs/jetty-6.1.19.jar:JARs/jetty-util-6.1.19.jar:JARs/jetty-starter.jar sagex.jetty.security.Password sage ?

right now the i am using the default username:sage
and password:frey for logging in. It is not exposed to the web yet. I am going to change this once ssl is working.

When I generated the certificate I believe I used the default password of 123456.

When i run the above command it asks for a password, what password should I input?

Thanks
Bill
You don't need to worry about that step; you should be good to go.

If you really want to know what that's for...

You know how you can put the keyfile and password in the JettyStarter.properties file? Well, if you don't want it to be plain text--i.e. 123456--you can use that command to make it unreadable. (If you want to see what that looks like, open the jetty\etc\jetty-ssl.xml file and see the "password" line.)
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-20-2010, 07:49 PM
Hunter69 Hunter69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
Thanks very much. I really appreciate your time. I thought I had it but something is wrong. Here is a copy from the jettystarter.properties:

jetty.ssl.keystore=$(user.home)/.keystore
jetty.ssl.password=xxxxxx
jetty.ssl.keypassword=xxxxxx
jetty.ssl.truststore=$(user.home)/.keystore
jetty.ssl.trustpassword=xxxxxx

I replaced my password with the x's, but I think I need to fix the "jetty.ssl.keystore=
if that is incorrect, what should I change that to?

I have the .keystore in two different places

C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\jetty\etc
and
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator

Thanks again for all your help
Bill
__________________
Server: Antec 300, AMD Phenom 9750, 4 gig ram, 4 tb-with pooled recording , Lite on Blu-ray drive
Tuners: 2 HD-PVR, 1 HDHR
Clients: 2 HD200
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:47 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
1) Comment all that stuff out in the JettyStarter.properties file about SSL.

2) Put the Administrator/.keystore file in the jetty/etc folder as keystore, (replace the existing file that DOES NOT have the leading ".").

You've used all the default settings as far as I can tell, so hopefully the above will do it for you. Anything more I say will surely confuse the issue (my fault, not yours).
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-21-2010, 07:14 AM
Hunter69 Hunter69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
ok so changes I am making is not making any progress, so here is my jettystarter.properties (without the pw of course).

Thanks
Bill
__________________
Server: Antec 300, AMD Phenom 9750, 4 gig ram, 4 tb-with pooled recording , Lite on Blu-ray drive
Tuners: 2 HD-PVR, 1 HDHR
Clients: 2 HD200
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-21-2010, 07:16 AM
Hunter69 Hunter69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
did not realize it did not attach to the above post.
Attached Files
File Type: txt JettyStarterproperties.txt (3.0 KB, 100 views)
__________________
Server: Antec 300, AMD Phenom 9750, 4 gig ram, 4 tb-with pooled recording , Lite on Blu-ray drive
Tuners: 2 HD-PVR, 1 HDHR
Clients: 2 HD200
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-21-2010, 10:03 AM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
You need to use the full path to the keystore file e.g. "c:/documents and settings/administrator/.keystore." (I think you need the quotes because of the spaces, but not sure.)
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-22-2010, 04:41 AM
Hunter69 Hunter69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
I finally got it going. The trick was definitely the last step you assisted me with. I am using a custom user name and pw, port and certificate pw. Thats just about as secure as I can get without going overboard.

Thanks again for all the time you spent with me
Bill
__________________
Server: Antec 300, AMD Phenom 9750, 4 gig ram, 4 tb-with pooled recording , Lite on Blu-ray drive
Tuners: 2 HD-PVR, 1 HDHR
Clients: 2 HD200
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-22-2010, 02:25 PM
jreichen's Avatar
jreichen jreichen is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,192
KarylFStein and JetreL: thanks for helping out, I've been out of town.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter69 View Post
Step 4 of the jetty ssl found here:
http://tools.assembla.com/sageplugins/wiki/JettySSL
confuses me.
Thanks for pointing this out. I made some changes to hopefully clear it up.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5 760 Quad, Gigabyte GA-H57M-USB3, 4GB RAM, Gigabyte GeForce 210, 120GB SSD (OS), 1TB SATA, HD HomeRun.
Extender: STP-HD300, Harmony 550 Remote,
Netgear MCA1001 Ethernet over Coax.
SageTV: SageTV Server 7.1.8 on Ubuntu Linux 11.04, SageTV Placeshifter for Mac 6.6.2, SageTV Client 7.0.15 for Windows, Linux Placeshifter 7.1.8 on Server and Client
, Java 1.6.
Plugins: Jetty, Nielm's Web Server, Mobile Web Interface.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
capture card not recognized howieg53 Hardware Support 4 10-02-2009 11:40 PM
DVD's not recognized Crocky SageTV Media Extender 4 05-05-2009 09:41 PM
Drive not recognized JDizzy SageTV Software 0 08-15-2008 10:10 AM
Getting a new .frq file recognized Dvid SageTV Software 12 06-10-2008 11:14 PM
DVD disk not recognized OferL SageTV Software 0 10-27-2006 02:50 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.