SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #241  
Old 05-18-2017, 01:48 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbuszkie View Post
You can probably pick up a very cheap PCIe modem these days...
You can get USB modems on Amazon for as little as $11.

I remember the days of 300 baud modems on my Commodore VIC-20 and 64 in the 80s - you could read quicker than it could receive data.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #242  
Old 05-18-2017, 01:56 PM
jbuszkie's Avatar
jbuszkie jbuszkie is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westminster, MA
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I remember the days of 300 baud modems on my Commodore VIC-20 and 64 in the 80s - you could read quicker than it could receive data.
Now you are dating your self! [he says as he remembers fondly of his radio shack model III]
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old 05-18-2017, 04:05 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
You can get USB modems on Amazon for as little as $11.

I remember the days of 300 baud modems on my Commodore VIC-20 and 64 in the 80s - you could read quicker than it could receive data.
Heh, I remember when I saved up enough to add a 2400 baud modem and a 40M HDD to my C64. Who would ever want more speed or space .
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #244  
Old 05-22-2017, 06:32 PM
shadeblue.com's Avatar
shadeblue.com shadeblue.com is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 435
Exclamation

I have updated the plugin to v7.0.4 where I removed the STV dependency from the plugin manifest. I don't have a viable SageTV setup to test this change, but it is now updated on the plugin server for you to try out.

Thanks, SB
__________________
Server Hardware: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU, 4GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI Motherboard, GeForce 8600 GT, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 2.5TB
Operating System: Windows XP Professional
HTPC/DVR Software: SageTV 7
Capture Devices: 2 @ Hauppauge HD-PVR (1212), Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 ATSC/QAM, HD Homerun
Media Extenders: 2 @ Sage HD100 & 1 @ Sage HD200
Signals/Providers: AT&T UVerse, OTA ATSC
Set-Top-Box: 2 @ Motorola Box VIP 1200
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old 05-22-2017, 06:48 PM
shadeblue.com's Avatar
shadeblue.com shadeblue.com is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbuszkie View Post
Thanks, SB!

Has anyone got a linux version of YAC to work? Or is there a better way now to generate the YAC messages?

I'm moving to a linux Sage server soon and will do away with my windos box where my CID modem resides. It will no longer be on 24/7 so I want to move the modem to the linux sage box.

Anyone using linux to generate the CID info?

Thanks,

Jim

I remember a program called NCID (http://ncid.sourceforge.net/) that supposedly could send YAK formatted messages. I have not ever tested that program but it may be worth a look.

Thanks, SB
__________________
Server Hardware: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU, 4GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI Motherboard, GeForce 8600 GT, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 2.5TB
Operating System: Windows XP Professional
HTPC/DVR Software: SageTV 7
Capture Devices: 2 @ Hauppauge HD-PVR (1212), Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 ATSC/QAM, HD Homerun
Media Extenders: 2 @ Sage HD100 & 1 @ Sage HD200
Signals/Providers: AT&T UVerse, OTA ATSC
Set-Top-Box: 2 @ Motorola Box VIP 1200
Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old 05-22-2017, 06:51 PM
shadeblue.com's Avatar
shadeblue.com shadeblue.com is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
You can get USB modems on Amazon for as little as $11.

I remember the days of 300 baud modems on my Commodore VIC-20 and 64 in the 80s - you could read quicker than it could receive data.
I too remember setting up a 300 baud modem between a VIC-20 and C64 and communicating between them. It was the coolest thing ever! Then later using these modems to access CompuServe and other BBS systems.

-SB
__________________
Server Hardware: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU, 4GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI Motherboard, GeForce 8600 GT, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 2.5TB
Operating System: Windows XP Professional
HTPC/DVR Software: SageTV 7
Capture Devices: 2 @ Hauppauge HD-PVR (1212), Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 ATSC/QAM, HD Homerun
Media Extenders: 2 @ Sage HD100 & 1 @ Sage HD200
Signals/Providers: AT&T UVerse, OTA ATSC
Set-Top-Box: 2 @ Motorola Box VIP 1200
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old 07-05-2017, 10:39 AM
jbuszkie's Avatar
jbuszkie jbuszkie is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westminster, MA
Posts: 919
ok.. I'm starting to play with my V9 linux server..

I can't seem to get the YAC test messages to come through. Is there something I need to set in linux to get the YAC messages to come through?
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old 08-04-2017, 03:26 PM
rmac321 rmac321 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 194
Infopopup, v9, Linux Sage Server and Sage Extenders

Linux Server problem SOLVED.
Yes, you can have a Linux Sage Server and still use InfoPopup!

Turns out the solution is to NOT use the 127.0.0.1 localhost address. When you setup the plugin configuration for InfoPopup on your extender, use the actual address of your server. (It doesn't matter that there is no linux yac listener)

[original post edited to prevent confusion]
__________________
SageTV v9.1.10.479 on Ubuntu
(testing v9.1.10.479 on Debian and Win10)

Last edited by rmac321; 08-04-2017 at 04:02 PM. Reason: problem solved
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old 08-04-2017, 03:34 PM
jbuszkie's Avatar
jbuszkie jbuszkie is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westminster, MA
Posts: 919
If your Yak broadcaster is still on Windows you're still fine. The Listener works well you just need to setup the server with the IP address of the sage server. The sage server is the listener and will broadcast to all extenders
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old 08-04-2017, 03:45 PM
rmac321 rmac321 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 194
jbuszkie,
Wow, thanks for the fast response! I just figured out the address needed to be adjusted to the specific address and that got it working. Was about to edit/delete most of my post when I saw that you had responded.

Will go back and edit my post so I don't confuse anybody else.
__________________
SageTV v9.1.10.479 on Ubuntu
(testing v9.1.10.479 on Debian and Win10)
Reply With Quote
  #251  
Old 09-06-2017, 12:12 PM
rmac321 rmac321 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 194
stop icon stays on screen

Infopopup is working well now, but I have an anomaly that I didn't have in v7. When in screensaver mode (slideshow), after the phone rings and the popup displays, it doesn't go away completely at the end of the timeout period. A small popup window remains on screen with the stop icon in it. Hitting stop (or anything else) to make it go away breaks out of screensaver/slideshow mode.

Any thoughts?
__________________
SageTV v9.1.10.479 on Ubuntu
(testing v9.1.10.479 on Debian and Win10)
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 07-18-2019, 04:26 PM
rmac321 rmac321 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 194
ShadeBlue not available for download

It looks like ShadeBlue's InfoPopup download site is no longer active. I'm in the process of setting up a new SageServer and just about everything else is up and working. I don't mess with my Sage Server very often, so there is always a re-learning curve to getting it re-setup.

I imagine I can copy the appropriate jars and images for InfoPopup from my old server into the new one, but I don't know what dependencies they might have. Anyone have any insight as to what all I need to copy? (Debian server, HD200 and HD300 extenders)

Better yet, any chance ShadeBlue could revive the link?
__________________
SageTV v9.1.10.479 on Ubuntu
(testing v9.1.10.479 on Debian and Win10)
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 07-18-2019, 05:26 PM
rmac321 rmac321 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 194
Looks like just copying over the various files is not enough. If someone with more JAVA know-how could give me a little push in the right direction, I'd be grateful.
__________________
SageTV v9.1.10.479 on Ubuntu
(testing v9.1.10.479 on Debian and Win10)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
caller id, callerid, message, modem, yac


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin: MizookLCD (Alternate SageTV LCDSmartie Plugin) cslatt SageTV Customizations 48 06-11-2012 10:44 AM
STV Import: CallerID/Message popup plugin nielm SageTV Customizations 294 08-12-2010 03:16 PM
infopopup? Toddupton SageMC Custom Interface 1 10-18-2009 09:15 AM
callerID and VOIP snoopy SageMC Custom Interface 1 08-28-2008 06:02 PM
CallerID and Sage PAF General Discussion 20 08-07-2008 07:31 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.