SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1761  
Old 02-21-2017, 02:44 AM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,650
Updated script for readability and logging.

Syntax for command: (tune.ps1)

tune TunerNumber=<tunerNumber> ChannelNumber=<channelNumber> EnableDebug=<True | False>


Run from command shell:

powershell.exe -ExecutionPolicy ByPass -File "PATH\tune.ps1" -TunerNumber <tunerNumber> -ChannelNumber <channelNumber>"


tune.ps:

Code:
Param([string]$TunerNumber, [string]$ChannelNumber, [ValidateSet("true", "false")]$EnableDebug="false")

switch($EnableDebug.ToLower()) {
    "true" { $EnableDebugBool = $true }
    default { $EnableDebugBool = $false }
}

$ChannelNumberArray = $ChannelNumber.ToCharArray()

$HostName = "10.0.0.25"
$HostPort = 8080
$TuningCommand = "http://" + $HostName + ":" + $HostPort + "/sagex/api/?c=TransmitCommandUsingInfraredTuningPlugin"
$TuningPlugin = "USB-UIRT Transceiver"
$TuningPluginPort = "0"
$BaseRemoteName = "PaceRNG150"
$RemoteName = $BaseRemoteName + "-" + $TunerNumber
$RepeatFactor = "2"

$LogFile = "log.txt"

$Username = "sage"
$Password = "frey"
$Headers = @{ Authorization = "Basic {0}" -f [Convert]::ToBase64String([Text.Encoding]::ASCII.GetBytes(("{0}:{1}" -f $Username,$Password))) }

if ($EnableDebugBool) {
		$ChannelText = "***** Tune " + $ChannelNumber + " *****" 
		Write-Output $ChannelText | Out-File $LogFile -append
}

foreach ($Digit in $ChannelNumberArray) {

	

	$Uri = $TuningCommand + "&1=" + $TuningPlugin + "&2=" + $TuningPluginPort + "&3=" + $RemoteName + "&4=" + $Digit + "&5=" + $RepeatFactor

	if ($EnableDebugBool) {
		Write-Output uri:$Uri | Out-File $LogFile -append
	}

	$Result = Invoke-RestMethod -Uri $Uri -Headers $Headers
	
}

if ($EnableDebugBool) {
		Write-Output "*******************" | Out-File $LogFile -append
}
This can work with any Tuning Plugin.

To find the parameters for your system - here is a sample of the following commands to run in a browser:

Quote:
/ CAPTURE DEVICE
http://10.0.0.25:8080/sagex/api/?c=G...CaptureDevices
![CDATA[
DCT-HDHomeRun Prime Tuner 131104FC-0 on 127.0.0.1:9000
]]>
</Item>
<Item>
<![CDATA[ STB-2 on 127.0.0.1:9000 ]]>
</Item>
<Item>
<![CDATA[ STB-1 on 127.0.0.1:9000 ]]>


// CAPTURE DEVICE INPUT
http://10.0.0.25:8080/sagex/api/?c=G...127.0.0.1:9000
<Result size="1">
<Item>
<![CDATA[ STB-1 on 127.0.0.1:9000 HDMI ]]>
</Item>
</Result>

// TUNER REMOTE NAME
http://10.0.0.25:8080/sagex/api/?c=G....1:9000%20HDMI
<Result>
<![CDATA[ PaceRNG150-1 ]]>
</Result>

// TUNING PLUGIN
http://10.0.0.25:8080/sagex/api/?c=G....0.0.1:9000%22
<Result>
<![CDATA[ USB-UIRT Transceiver ]]>
</Result>

// TUNING PLUGIN PORT
http://10.0.0.25:8080/sagex/api/?c=G....1:9000%20HDMI
<Result>0</Result>
Reply With Quote
  #1762  
Old 02-21-2017, 03:05 AM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,650
Having problem with tuner executable entry in OpenDCT config...

Entered the following line:

Quote:
sagetv.device.79219558.tuning_executable="C\:ProgramData\OpenDCT\config\tune.bat" 1 %c%
And it gets converted to this when OpenDCT starts:

Quote:
sagetv.device.79219558.tuning_executable="C\:ProgramDataOpenDCTconfig\tune.bat" 1 %c%
NOTICE THE PATH IS ALL WRONG NOW

And in the OpenDCT log file:

Quote:
00:59:34.368 [SageTVRequestHandler-102:STB-1] ERROR GenericHttpCaptureDevice - Unable to run tuning executable '"C:ProgramDataOpenDCTconfig une.bat" 1 4' => java.io.IOException: Cannot run program ""C:ProgramDataOpenDCTconfig": CreateProcess error=2, The system cannot find the file specified
at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
at opendct.capture.GenericHttpCaptureDevice.executeCommand(GenericHttpCaptureDevice.java:156)
at opendct.capture.GenericHttpCaptureDevice.startEncodingSync(GenericHttpCaptureDevice.java:375)
at opendct.capture.GenericHttpCaptureDevice.startEncoding(GenericHttpCaptureDevice.java:265)
at opendct.sagetv.SageTVRequestHandler.run(SageTVRequestHandler.java:301)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.io.IOException: CreateProcess error=2, The system cannot find the file specified
at java.lang.ProcessImpl.create(Native Method)
at java.lang.ProcessImpl.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ProcessImpl.start(Unknown Source)
... 9 more

00:59:34.368 [SageTVRequestHandler-102:STB-1] ERROR GenericHttpCaptureDevice - Failed to run tuning executable.
00:59:34.368 [SageTVRequestHandler-102:STB-1] ERROR SageTVRequestHandler - SageTV sent: 'BUFFER STB-1 HDMI|2009279711|4|83886080|\\nas\public\RecordedTV\STB1on1000259000HDMI-0.mpgbuf|Great-H.264', Replied: 'ERROR Device Start Failed'
00:59:34.368 [SageTVRequestHandler-102:STB-1] ERROR SageTVRequestHandler - Encoder device is unable to start.
What is the proper syntax for the sagetv.device.<unique_id>.tuning_executable= on Windows?
Reply With Quote
  #1763  
Old 02-21-2017, 03:12 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,491
You need to escape the backslashes. \ needs to be \\
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #1764  
Old 02-21-2017, 03:20 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by sflamm View Post
Correct - my primary server needs to be different from the secondary (configured as a Network Encoder).

As a general configuration having a Network Encoder with local resources and tuning is VERY helpful... and really the point of a Network Encoder.

Why is it a problem to have a Network Encoder that uses Network Encoders? The Client of the Network Encoder doesnt see how the video sources of the Network Encoder are configured.
It's not that it'd be a 'problem' but I am still not clear on what you are using SageTV for on this remote machine - if you are using OpenDCT to interface with your capture device, why wouldn't you want the main sagetv server to simply connect to that OpenDCT instance directly?
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #1765  
Old 02-21-2017, 03:33 AM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,650
Nevermind... silly mistake...


Correct path is:

Quote:
sagetv.device.79219557.tuning_executable=C\:\\ProgramData\\OpenDCT\\config\\tune.bat 1 %c%
Reply With Quote
  #1766  
Old 02-21-2017, 03:54 AM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,650
Now I have a different problem...

The OpenDCT log file shows the command executing:

Quote:
01:52:04.925 [SageTVRequestHandler-101:STB-1] DEBUG GenericHttpCaptureDevice - Executing: 'cmd.exe /c C:\ProgramData\OpenDCT\config\tune.bat 1 551'

But in fact it is NOT executing.
Reply With Quote
  #1767  
Old 02-21-2017, 04:11 AM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,650
Success:

Quote:
sagetv.device.79219557.tuning_executable=C\:\\Windows\\SysWOW64\\WindowsPowerShell\\v1.0\\powershell.exe -ExecutionPolicy ByPass -F C\:\\ProgramData\\OpenDCT\\config\\tune.ps1 -TunerNumber 1 -ChannelNumber %c% -EnableDebug true
Reply With Quote
  #1768  
Old 02-21-2017, 05:29 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
There is a commandline program on the usbuirt forums to send a command to the USB-UIRT. That could be used with the following batch file to have openDCT directly blast the channel change instead of having sagetv installed on the remote machine (since it seems like the only reason you are using sage on the remote machine is to deal with the blasting):

BLAST.BAT
Code:
@echo off
REM *************************************************
REM *         IR Blasting Script                    *
REM *        by Christopher Piper                   *
REM *                                               *
REM *    Set the following blastercmd variable      *
REM *  where //digit// will be the digit to send    *
REM *                                               *
REM *     example:                                  *
REM * SET blastercmd=uutx.exe -firfile.ir //digit// *
REM *                                               *
REM *************************************************

SET blastercmd=

REM *************************************************

if "%blastercmd%"=="" (goto nocmd)
if "%1"=="" (goto syntax) else (set num=%1)
if "%2"=="" (set min=3) else (set min=%2)
if "%3"=="" (set del=250) else (set del=%3)

ECHO Blasting %num%, minimum %min% digits, with %del% msec delay:

REM Get digits from number
SET digit0=%num:~0,1%
SET digit1=%num:~1,1%
SET digit2=%num:~2,1%
SET digit3=%num:~3,1%

REM Zero Pad the digits
:testsize
if "%digit3%"=="" (GOTO padit)
goto testmin

:padit
SET digit3=%digit2%
SET digit2=%digit1%
SET digit1=%digit0%
SET digit0=0
goto testsize

:testmin
if %digit0%==0 (
	if %min%==4 goto blast4
	if %digit1%==0 (
		if %min%==3 goto blast3
		if %digit2%==0 (
			if %min%==2 goto blast2
			if %digit3%==0 (
				if %min%==1 goto blast1
				goto end
			) else goto blast1
		) else goto blast2
	) else goto blast3
) else goto blast4

:nocmd
ECHO.
ECHO ERROR: blastercmd variable is not set.  See note at top of blast.bat for help.
ECHO.

:syntax
ECHO Send an IR blast 
ECHO.
ECHO Usage:  BLAST  n [min] [delay]
ECHO.
ECHO Where:  n     = the channel number to tune to
ECHO         min   = minimum number of digits to send (default 3)
ECHO         delay = inter-digit delay in microseconds (default 250)
goto end

:blast4
CALL :blast %digit0%
CALL :delay %del%
:blast3
CALL :blast %digit1%
CALL :delay %del%
:blast2
CALL :blast %digit2%
CALL :delay %del%
:blast1
CALL :blast %digit3%
GOTO end

:delay
	if not "%1"=="0" PING 1.1.1.1 -n 1 -w %1 >NUL
	GOTO:EOF
:blast
	call set cmd=%%blastercmd://digit//=%1%%
	%cmd%
	GOTO:EOF
:end
Essentially, what the batch file is doing is parsing out the individual digits from the channel number that need to be sent, and calling the configured cmd for each digit. This is pure batch, not powershell, which makes things simpler as well.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room

Last edited by Fuzzy; 02-21-2017 at 10:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #1769  
Old 02-21-2017, 07:37 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
There is a commandline program on the usbuirt forums to send a command to the USB-UIRT. That could be used with the following batch file to have openDCT directly blast the channel change instead of having sagetv installed on the remote machine (since it seems like the only reason you are using sage on the remote machine is to deal with the blasting):

BLAST.BAT
Code:
@echo off
REM *************************************************
REM *         IR Blasting Script                    *
REM *        by Christopher Piper                   *
REM *                                               *
REM *    Set the following blastercmd variable      *
REM *  where //digit// will be the digit to send    *
REM *                                               *
REM *     example:                                  *
REM * SET blastercmd=uutx.exe -firfile.ir //digit// *
REM *                                               *
REM *************************************************

SET blastercmd=

REM *************************************************

if "%blastercmd%"=="" (goto nocmd)
if "%1"=="" (goto syntax) else (set num=%1)
if "%2"=="" (set min=3) else (set min=%2)
if "%3"=="" (set del=250) else (set del=%3)

ECHO Blasting %num%, minimum %min% digits, with %del% msec delay:

REM Get digits from number
SET digit0=%num:~0,1%
SET digit1=%num:~1,1%
SET digit2=%num:~2,1%
SET digit3=%num:~3,1%

REM Zero Pad the digits
:testsize
if "%digit3%"=="" (GOTO padit)
goto testmin

:padit
SET digit3=%digit2%
SET digit2=%digit1%
SET digit1=%digit0%
SET digit0=0
goto testsize

:testmin
if %digit0%==0 (
	if %min%==4 goto blast4
	if %digit1%==0 (
		if %min%==3 goto blast3
		if %digit2%==0 (
			if %min%==2 goto blast2
			if %digit3%==0 (
				if %min%==1 goto blast1
				goto end
			) else goto blast1
		) else goto blast2
	) else goto blast3
) else goto blast4

:nocmd
ECHO.
ECHO ERROR: blastercmd variable is not set.  See note at top of blast.bat for help.
ECHO.

:syntax
ECHO Send an IR blast 
ECHO.
ECHO Usage:  BLAST  n [min] [delay]
ECHO.
ECHO Where:  n     = the channel number to tune to
ECHO         min   = minimum number of digits to send (default 3)
ECHO         delay = inter-digit delay in microseconds (default 250)
goto end

:blast4
CALL :blast %digit0%
CALL :delay %del%
:blast3
CALL :blast %digit1%
CALL :delay %del%
:blast2
CALL :blast %digit2%
CALL :delay %del%
:blast1
CALL :blast %digit3%
CALL :delay %del%
GOTO end

:delay
	PING 1.1.1.1 -n 1 -w %1 >NUL
	GOTO:EOF
:blast
	call set cmd=%%blastercmd://digit//=%1%%
	%cmd%
	GOTO:EOF
:end
Essentially, what the batch file is doing is parsing out the individual digits from the channel number that need to be sent, and calling the configured cmd for each digit. This is pure batch, not powershell, which makes things simpler as well.
There is one plus side to using the SageTV server. There's no spin-up time to start communications with the USB-UIRT. uutx.exe has a definite cost for each execution. It takes about 800ms to start and send one command.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #1770  
Old 02-21-2017, 07:46 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
There is one plus side to using the SageTV server. There's no spin-up time to start communications with the USB-UIRT. uutx.exe has a definite cost for each execution. It takes about 800ms to start and send one command.
Then isn't that adding 0.8 seconds to the delay in Fuzzy's script? If you put in much of a delay at all then you may have tuning issues - if you wait too long between button pushes I know that my box assumes that you are done and tunes the channel. So the conclusion would be to make sure that you don't use any additional delay.

For example if you send 5 <delay> 1 <delay> 3 when trying to tune channel 513 you may tune channel 5, then tune channel 1 and finally end up on channel 3.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #1771  
Old 02-21-2017, 07:57 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,805
Am I missing something? I don't see anything in that BAT file that deals with zones? I think the whole reason he went down this path was to be able to use zones so he could control multiple STBs with one blaster.
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #1772  
Old 02-21-2017, 07:59 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,568
I don't think the uutx.exe command line program understands zones. We may need to get Jon Rhees to create a new version of it with a zone as a parameter.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #1773  
Old 02-21-2017, 08:18 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Am I missing something? I don't see anything in that BAT file that deals with zones? I think the whole reason he went down this path was to be able to use zones so he could control multiple STBs with one blaster.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I don't think the uutx.exe command line program understands zones. We may need to get Jon Rhees to create a new version of it with a zone as a parameter.
It does support zones. You need to define them in the code file you're using. You just prefix the code with Z1, Z2 or Z3. I'm not sure it's well documented, but I have done it before and it does work.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #1774  
Old 02-21-2017, 08:39 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
It does support zones. You need to define them in the code file you're using. You just prefix the code with Z1, Z2 or Z3. I'm not sure it's well documented, but I have done it before and it does work.
Which is the same way you do it for Sage's implementation as well (in fact, you should be able to use the exact same .ir file for uutx as you use for sagetv).

Regarding the time delay, I've never used it, so I can't say for sure if that's true in all cases. I just knew the utility was out there, so wrote up a (generalized) script to break a channel into digits.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #1775  
Old 02-21-2017, 08:49 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I did just tweak the script a bit to completely skip the delay step if you set the delay to 0, so if the uuirtdrv.dll does take 0.8 seconds to spool up, the interdigit delay should still end up being less than a second, and channel changes should still get off properly (like I said, I've not tried it, and am not even at home to give it a shot on a test rig yet).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room

Last edited by Fuzzy; 02-21-2017 at 09:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #1776  
Old 02-21-2017, 10:48 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Okay, so I was got home and was able to throw a spare USB-UIRT on my win10 desktop and throw some codes at it.

TESTTIME.BAT
Code:
@echo off
echo Start: %time%
call blast.bat 1234 4 0
echo Stop:  %time%
This will test the time it takes to execute uutx.exe and send a pronto based code from the txt file.

Output:
Code:
Start:  8:43:25.43
Blasting 1234, minimum 4 digits, with 0 msec delay:
Stop:   8:43:27.13

Start:  8:45:17.19
Blasting 1234, minimum 4 digits, with 250 msec delay:
Stop:   8:45:19.19
This is consistent across many attempts. This is taking 1.7 seconds to transmit 4 digits, putting the max speed (delay = 0msec) at about 2.35 digits/second. With my default 250 msec delay, this stretches the 4 digit blast out to 2.10 seconds, or about 1.9 digits/second. This is still plenty fast enough to avoid the box cancelling out and likely faster than a typical thumb on a remote is going to be pressing buttons.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room

Last edited by Fuzzy; 02-21-2017 at 10:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #1777  
Old 02-21-2017, 11:12 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
This is consistent across many attempts. This is taking 1.7 seconds to transmit 4 digits, putting the max speed (delay = 0msec) at about 2.35 digits/second. With my default 250 msec delay, this stretches the 4 digit blast out to 2.10 seconds, or about 1.9 digits/second. This is still plenty fast enough to avoid the box cancelling out and likely faster than a typical thumb on a remote is going to be pressing buttons.
I am so spoiled with my digital tuners. 2 seconds feels like an eternity to get on the right channel. Fortunately this will be less of an issue once I get the new splitter into the SageTV core and you can overlap padding as much as you need.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #1778  
Old 02-21-2017, 11:17 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I am so spoiled with my digital tuners. 2 seconds feels like an eternity to get on the right channel. Fortunately this will be less of an issue once I get the new splitter into the SageTV core and you can overlap padding as much as you need.
I so rarely have things recording from encrypted channels, and almost never three back to back to cause a need to miss the tuning time, that I've never really noticed an issue with the "slow" channel changes using IR, almost all my recordings are coming via cablecard or OTA these days. (I actually haven't had either HD-PVR online for a couple weeks now, and no-one in the house has said anything).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #1779  
Old 02-21-2017, 12:48 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,800
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I am so spoiled with my digital tuners. 2 seconds feels like an eternity to get on the right channel. Fortunately this will be less of an issue once I get the new splitter into the SageTV core and you can overlap padding as much as you need.
If you are updating the splitter please save me some time and make it 64 bit friendly (I think there are Windows native pieces).
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #1780  
Old 02-21-2017, 01:16 PM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,650
Quote:
but I am still not clear on what you are using SageTV for on this remote machine - if you are using OpenDCT to interface with your capture device
The motivation is:

1. Setup a SageTV Server that serves local tuners
- this allows any other SageTV Server to use this shared resource
- allows any program (not just SageTV) to use this shared resource
- also important when the hardware itself must be plugged in local (USB-UIRT)
- especially useful when the common resource can tune ALL channels (including protected) such as the BM3000-HDMIs (amazing)


2. Ability to upgrade / configure one without the other - split the dependency
- Updates to the main SageTV Server can be independent of the SageTV Server acting as a Network Encoder
- the Network Encoders are completely backward compatible, works with any SageTV version
- Can migrate configurations easily without reconfiguring tuners

3. Speed of changing channels for IR. (latest script attached)
- the script is very fast since it leverages the in-memory REST
- support multiple zones natively
Attached Files
File Type: zip tune.zip (745 Bytes, 9 views)

Last edited by sflamm; 02-21-2017 at 03:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI TV Wonder Digital Cable Tuner & SageTV nyle Hardware Support 4 02-17-2009 10:12 PM
ATI TV Wonder Digital Cable Tuner rajczi Hardware Support 4 01-14-2008 08:24 PM
ATI TV Wonder™ Digital Cable Tuner dadams Hardware Support 4 01-09-2007 10:55 AM
Digital Cable - one guide - need HD on one tuner reg tv on other Kimper SageTV Beta Test Software 14 11-27-2006 08:15 PM
Multi-tuner Digital Cable mlbdude SageTV Software 0 06-26-2003 01:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.