SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2019, 06:14 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,022
AT&T Fiber

I just got a door hanger yesterday announcing that AT&T Fiber is coming soon to my neighborhood. Anyone know anything about it, or have experience with it? Currently, the Cable TV provider in my area is Charter/Spectrum.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2019, 07:52 AM
FreshOne FreshOne is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
AT&T Fiber is coming soon to my neighborhood. Anyone know anything about it, or have experience with it?
I live in an Atlanta suburb and have their GigaPower service provided over fiber for which I pay a flat $70 (no taxes).

Speeds are awesome and currently no data caps. Reliability has been better than Comcast. Most Internet sites cannot fill the pipe (their end) but I have found a few that can.

In my case it was cheaper than Comcast and speeds were (at the time 7x faster) so pretty much a no-brainer to switch. I have several friends who have this service in different suburbs, and they are all uniformly pleased with the service.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2019, 08:16 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,022
Thanks for the reply. So internet only, no television channels included?
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2019, 09:11 AM
FreshOne FreshOne is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 78
Yes Internet only. I subscribe to an Over The Top (OTT) app [Playstation Vue ] for those months when I need certain cable channels (college football season) and then unsubscribe during the other months. We have an OTA antenna, so most stuff we watch is recorded there.

Last edited by FreshOne; 02-09-2019 at 09:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Fiber KryptoNyte The SageTV Community 1 06-26-2016 08:37 PM
Google Fiber+TV 888jay General Discussion 14 08-12-2015 02:32 PM
New Google Fiber Box? rwc General Discussion 12 08-04-2014 07:25 PM
Google Fiber Launched Yesterday...any word about the Google Fiber TV? rwc General Discussion 4 11-14-2012 03:23 PM
Fiber to the Home hemicuda The SageTV Community 6 01-12-2010 12:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.