SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2015, 08:32 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Live Channels - Android TV

I've been following along closely since the recent AWESOME announcements, and I haven't seen mention of this yet. I am hoping that with Narflex involvement I can make this a reality.

I have moved entirely to Android TV devices including 1 soon to be 2 NVidia Shield TVs and 2 Nexus Players. The Live Channels are awesome. What I am hoping for is that this can be leveraged as a front end for a SageTV backend.

Now I haven't taking a look at what APIs or functionality is available in L or M builds for that matter with respect to Live Channels, but I am hoping that integration with a PVR is in fact possible. I also realize that only certain devices so far, such as the Nvidia Shield tv can play mpeg2 directly and without some sort of a transcoding service this may make this idea a bit more difficult. For OTA however.. this seems like a perfect match to me.

Is there any interest from the community in seeing this progress?

IF So and its not just me, then I will start digging in and seeing what is possible.



~Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2015, 10:34 PM
jm9843 jm9843 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
Is there any interest from the community in seeing this progress?
Most certainly.

Android TV is a great platform and one of its unique features is the ability for 3rd party apps to implement a TV Input Service that feeds the system's native EPG (i.e. 'Live Channels').

I think that a first version of a SageTV client for Android TV should provide that base functionality. That is, be a TV Input Service that tunes Live TV by talking to a SageTV backend. Perhaps the next feature would be exploring using an Overlay for program options (e.g. closed captioning, record, etc). That'd be a good start.

For those who aren't familiar, here's what the native Android TV EPG looks like using the HDHomeRun as a source. However, using things as-is isn't ideal since Sage won't know that the tuner is in use which can lead to failed recordings.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2015, 03:01 AM
brewston brewston is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Surrey
Posts: 719
I've got an ADT-1 and NP. Waiting for Nvidia TV to release in the UK. So I'd be interested in this. Although, TBH, if it's live TV only, I can get that from my HDHR. Never the less, I'm happy to test it

I played around with this a few months ago :

https://github.com/googlesamples/and...-sample-inputs

and the *theory* is that you present a URL to the live stream to TIF and it appears as a channel. I couldn't get it working though (This was trying to stream from DVB Link software)

*edit*

Here's the thread where I tried to figure out the stream URL from Sage http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61994
__________________
Tecra M5, 2 x HD200, 2 x HD300
2 x PCTV 290e
Win 7, Sage 7.1.9, Phoenix 2 STV
Stephane's XMLTV Importer, Digiguide,

Last edited by brewston; 08-25-2015 at 03:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-25-2015, 06:02 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
I've spent my share of time looking through the Android TV stuff as well. I even created a simple proof of concept App to test some of the features, but I never played with the TIF stuff.

To be honest, I'm not even sure how valuable something like the TIF stuff is. When I moved to SageTV, I haven't watched a live TV stream in years. The only time I've actually gone to the guide in the traditional sense, is when my in-laws visit and I'm trying to find a sports channel to put on

I can see the TIF being valuable if you are actually allowing channels to be scheduled and recorded (ie, a PVR), but for live tv, most of us are trying to get away from Live TV and TV on demand (something that we've all enjoyed for many years) is really taking over, especially with things like Netflix, etc.

If you are looking to provide sagetv as an input, then I think you'll need write a plugin for that. Basically you'll want to register a URL handler that serves up an xml file of all the channels, with a customer url like, '/livetv/channel/video.ts', and then register another URL handler that handles the /livetv/ service and then uses the channel to start a manual recording for the channel, and then starts to stream back the recorded file contents.

I just find AndroidTV so lacking on the video playback front, that I recently boxed up my AndroidTV units and replaced them with Roku 3 boxes. That hurts, given how much of an Android fan I am
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-25-2015, 07:20 AM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,240
The Roku (still) doesn't do MPEG2 at all, so how is that your go-to device?

I might be getting a Shield TV in the near future so I might also be interested in this integration. Although I am probably more interested in "porting" the extender code/miniclient to be an Android TV app which Jeff recently said should be possible and might not be too difficult.
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-25-2015, 07:42 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by cncb View Post
The Roku (still) doesn't do MPEG2 at all, so how is that your go-to device?

I might be getting a Shield TV in the near future so I might also be interested in this integration. Although I am probably more interested in "porting" the extender code/miniclient to be an Android TV app which Jeff recently said should be possible and might not be too difficult.
Firsly, I don't have any mpeg2 content. My recorders are HDPVR which produce .ts files (h264 I think).

Secondly, I've given up on the pipe dream that AndroidTV (or Roku) can do anything more than just simple streaming. As such, Roku/AndroidTV units were basically Plex and Netflix front ends.

My main reason for ditching my AndroidTV units were networking issues. I'd lose WiFi and would not be able to reconnect. rebooting would do nothing. If I left it off overnight, and try it the next day, it would start using WiFi again... for a couple days. My Rokus never had this issue, so I ditched the AndroidTVs for Rokus.

I do agree that getting the miniclient running on Android would not be hard, but, getting video playback working on an Android device will be extremely difficult, do do it reliably, as the HD300 can do.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live TV Channels Always Start Paused sshapiro63 SageTV Software 1 12-04-2009 08:16 PM
Preview/Live TV fails on some channels VCRUser SageTV Software 4 09-10-2009 02:45 PM
HDHomerun - Live TV problem on some channels linkster99 Hardware Support 6 12-14-2006 03:24 PM
Missing Channels in Live TV Guide MSquid SageTV EPG Service 0 08-11-2004 12:40 PM
live tv studder when other tuner changes channels mcbain SageTV Software 3 03-31-2004 07:06 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.