SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Mac Edition

Notices

SageTV Mac Edition Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Mac edition. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Mac edition should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2008, 06:48 AM
HokiePerogi HokiePerogi is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 187
New Drive Deteced Annoyance!

I have my iMac set to run Time Machine. The data store for time machine as on my NAS which is an AFP share. Whenever Time Machine makes a back up, it remounts the AFP share in order to access the NAS where the sparcedisk is.

Everytime Time Machine mounts the AFP share, the "A new drive has been detected" message box comes up. Okay, so that isn't too annoying. HOWEVER, the box opens up several times on top of itself. So I find myself clicking close or hitting ESC TONS of times to clear the message.

In this mornings case, I left the front end up and running on my iMac for three days without using the computer. I've clicked Close/ESC over 50 times now and I'm still getting the message.

How can I fix this issue? I consider this application bug as well. This feature needs a KILL switch in the preferences.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2008, 06:57 AM
doc doc is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Leicester, England
Posts: 915
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePerogi View Post
I have my iMac set to run Time Machine. The data store for time machine as on my NAS which is an AFP share. Whenever Time Machine makes a back up, it remounts the AFP share in order to access the NAS where the sparcedisk is.

Everytime Time Machine mounts the AFP share, the "A new drive has been detected" message box comes up. Okay, so that isn't too annoying. HOWEVER, the box opens up several times on top of itself. So I find myself clicking close or hitting ESC TONS of times to clear the message.

In this mornings case, I left the front end up and running on my iMac for three days without using the computer. I've clicked Close/ESC over 50 times now and I'm still getting the message.

How can I fix this issue? I consider this application bug as well. This feature needs a KILL switch in the preferences.
I've never used the mac version, but on the windows version you can go

Setup - detailed setup - customize

find 'Display Pop-up when a new drive detected' and set it to disabled.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2008, 06:59 AM
BFisher BFisher is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 394
There is an option to do it, I saw it yesterday. If you go into the Detailed Setup, Customize, near the bottom is an option "Display Pop-Up when a new drive is detected". Set that to Disabled.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2008, 07:03 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePerogi View Post
How can I fix this issue? I consider this application bug as well. This feature needs a KILL switch in the preferences.
Did you look for the option to turn it off, or just assume there wasn't one? Go to Detailed Setup -> Customize -> Display pop-up when a new drive detected.

In the PDF manual for v6.4, this is documented on p. 194 and p. 100.

If that doesn't work, only then would it be a bug.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2008, 08:09 AM
HokiePerogi HokiePerogi is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 187
Shoot. I'm not sure how I missed that option. Thanks for pointing it out.

I'm sure toggling the option will fix my issue.


Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
afp, imac, message, new drive, time machine


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with a SATA drive issue yacht_boy Hardware Support 5 11-01-2008 12:47 PM
Cloned system drive, now playback error navels SageTV Software 1 10-03-2008 01:11 AM
Question on replacing recording drive Fountainhead SageTV Software 2 01-12-2007 09:15 PM
? About Moving Recordings to Another Drive geogecko SageTV Software 14 12-05-2006 06:43 PM
Hard drive not recognized by name robinson Hardware Support 9 08-25-2006 08:07 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.