SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2017, 06:49 PM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 516
HD300 Replacement options

I have an HD300 that I think is on its last legs, and I'm looking for replacement options. I know the NVidia shield is a good option, but I'm between careers at the moment and can't justify the cost.

I heard the MiBox worked pretty well, but that was a year ago and I wonder if there are better options available now.

I saw this list and see that there are a lot of boxes out there I've never heard of. The KitBox in particular looks like a great choice, assuming it runs the miniclient OK.

Does anyone have any experience with these boxes? What should I be looking for in terms of Android version, or chipset, or capabilities, or features?

BTW, I have a gen2 fireTV running the miniclient, but it doesn't work terribly well. It seems picky about the file format, which I don't have control over as it's all being recorded from OTA tuners. And it doesn't seem to be deinterlacing...

Thanks,
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2017, 07:19 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Use any box that has Android TV installed. There aren't very many that actually run Android TV, but there are tons that run regular Android. Which isn't meant to work with a remote, but expects touch input so the experience isn't very good.

If you were to get a regular Android box you caould try to install the leanback launcher (Android TV launcher) and see if it works, but the Mi box works very well for me.

I also have a shield and it works very well too. The new version of the shield is cheaper since the remote comes with it, but I understand being leery of the price. Especially since the Mi box works almost as well for a third of the money.

Check here for all the "official" Android TV devices.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2017, 07:56 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,568
Or you could try to buy a used HD300 or HD200. IMHO they work at least as well as a MiBox, especially if you have MPEG-2 content. I have lots of HD-200s that are still running fine after close to a decade and 2 HD300s.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2017, 08:33 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 422
Also consider this: often it's just the power supply (wall wart) that dies first. A replacement power supply often sells for $10-15. Others have reported this one works well: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0038NCES2...=I36U1QTRB2T15

Or look thru your junk box of old modem/router/switch power supplies. 12 volt power supplies are very common.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2017, 08:45 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
Also consider this: often it's just the power supply (wall wart) that dies first. A replacement power supply often sells for $10-15. Others have reported this one works well: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0038NCES2...=I36U1QTRB2T15

Or look thru your junk box of old modem/router/switch power supplies. 12 volt power supplies are very common.
agreed about old HD200's, as I have 10 yr old units. Also check Salvation Army, Goodwill, thrift shops for power supplies. You can find them there for .50 cents.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2017, 09:20 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,568
And one other issue that some folks have had with HD300s is overheating - make sure that it is well ventilated or add a fan blowing over it to keep it cool.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-2017, 01:07 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
The SageTV extenders are great, but they only do SageTV. If you just want that, then used is probably the way to go, but if you want any of the streaming services, kodi, emby, plex, etc. then I'm all for the all in one solution that android TV offers.

Even then, you can go into "single app mode" on any of the Android boxes, even the cheap ones that will launch sage from startup so there is no other UI to worry about. As cheap as some of these boxes are it might be worth a try.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2017, 07:57 AM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
Something to keep in mind - there is also the question of what is in your video library, if anything, that you want to be able to play.

As far as I know, at the moment, you still cannot play straight bluray and dvd rips with the android client. You'd be limited to extenders or clients.
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-2017, 09:49 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveW View Post
Something to keep in mind - there is also the question of what is in your video library, if anything, that you want to be able to play.

As far as I know, at the moment, you still cannot play straight bluray and dvd rips with the android client. You'd be limited to extenders or clients.
I have a comparison of the MiniClient vs Extender vs Client here...

https://github.com/OpenSageTV/sagetv-miniclient/wiki
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-11-2017, 10:20 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I have a comparison of the MiniClient vs Extender vs Client here...

https://github.com/OpenSageTV/sagetv-miniclient/wiki
a full client being a PC with installed software? Nice table Do you t think at some point functionality for say a USB UIRT may be added to the miniclient, so the IR remote checkbox would be crossed off, or is that not possible...
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-12-2017, 11:15 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveW View Post
Something to keep in mind - there is also the question of what is in your video library, if anything, that you want to be able to play.

As far as I know, at the moment, you still cannot play straight bluray and dvd rips with the android client. You'd be limited to extenders or clients.
While true, I don't know why you would use SageTV for this on an Android client that has things like plex, emby, kodi, etc.

I got tired of maintaining two sets of metadata and totally switched movie playback to Plex. To each his own. I also switched everything over to .mkv for compatibility reasons too. As annoying as it may be, it is still something to think about to somewhat future proof things.

I used PC clients exclusivly before the Android TV clients and SageTV never played back blu-rays reliably for me. I had to use an external player.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-12-2017, 11:44 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
a full client being a PC with installed software? Nice table Do you t think at some point functionality for say a USB UIRT may be added to the miniclient, so the IR remote checkbox would be crossed off, or is that not possible...
Yeah, "Full Client" mean Windows PC.

As for IR... as long as things like FLIRC exist, there's no need for it to be baked into the MiniClient itself.. I'd just be duplicating that effort, and likely not doing it as well
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-12-2017, 01:55 PM
7up 7up is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 171
I've haven't tried it recently but does Kodi have the ability to do DVD or Blu-ray playback? While not supported by mini client, just wondering if that's still an option for Android TV devices.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-12-2017, 10:03 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7up View Post
I've haven't tried it recently but does Kodi have the ability to do DVD or Blu-ray playback? While not supported by mini client, just wondering if that's still an option for Android TV devices.
Yep. One of the main things kodi does well. I'm assuming they are stored in the original folder structure? If you've converted to a container (mkv, m2ts, something else) then you can use plex or emby as well.

For android I'd use SPMC instead of Kodi as it is written specifically for android. Same thing, but a fork of Kodi.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-22-2017, 08:37 AM
DarkWolf77 DarkWolf77 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Yeah, "Full Client" mean Windows PC.

As for IR... as long as things like FLIRC exist, there's no need for it to be baked into the MiniClient itself.. I'd just be duplicating that effort, and likely not doing it as well
I'll also note that the Shield supports IR natively, no need for FLIRC - I have it set up with my logitech harmony 650 and it works great.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-22-2017, 09:28 AM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkWolf77 View Post
I'll also note that the Shield supports IR natively, no need for FLIRC - I have it set up with my logitech harmony 650 and it works great.
I'm pretty sure only the old (2015) version does, not the new (2017) version.

I haven't had much luck with MPEG-2 and the SageTV client on the Shield, so I would personally not recommend it at this point.
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-22-2017, 10:23 AM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
The old version of the shield does have an ir receiver and works with my Harmony hub remote using ir. The 2017 does not support ir but it does come with a remote. It will pair with the harmony hub remote using Bluetooth and works very well. The only difference is that the ir on the 2015 model supports a few more buttons. Stop being the one that comes to mind.

Maybe I'm not as picky, or don't have great vision anymore, but we find that the mpeg2 playback is good enough. I use the standard player in the Miniclient.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-22-2017, 12:17 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by cncb View Post
I'm pretty sure only the old (2015) version does, not the new (2017) version.

I haven't had much luck with MPEG-2 and the SageTV client on the Shield, so I would personally not recommend it at this point.
Mpeg2 works perfectly fine if you don't use exo player. I have zero problems.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-22-2017, 01:20 PM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Mpeg2 works perfectly fine if you don't use exo player. I have zero problems.
I have "lip sync" problems when playing through my AVR which I assume is due to bitstreaming/passthrough being unavailable for ijkplayer.
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-22-2017, 03:05 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkWolf77 View Post
I'll also note that the Shield supports IR natively, no need for FLIRC - I have it set up with my logitech harmony 650 and it works great.
I didn't know that.. although I'm pretty acclaimatized to the shield remote now... I tend to prefer it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacement UK Adaptors for HD200 and HD300 emotionnotion SageTV United Kingdom 1 06-14-2016 12:50 PM
Another promising HD300 Replacement mikejaner Hardware Support 87 02-29-2016 01:11 PM
PC Client replacement advice for HD300 Dargason Hardware Support 27 10-11-2015 08:18 PM
Is this a possible HD300 replacement? stuckless General Discussion 6 11-20-2011 08:45 AM
HD300 replacement jbrandon Hardware Support 3 11-16-2011 04:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.