SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV EPG Service

Notices

SageTV EPG Service Discussion related to the SageTV EPG Service used within SageTV. Questions about service area coverage, channel lineups, EPG listings, XMLTV, or anything else related to the service or programming guide data for SageTV should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2018, 03:54 PM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 643
HD Homerun Premium Channels

Does anyone have HD Homerun Premium Channels working with SageTV? I've managed to set up OpenDCT and I can see the OTT channels from HDHR Premium Channels, but I don't see the OTA local channels. How do I get these to show up?

How do you handle the EPG guide data?

Many thanks!
__________________
Intel Q6600 Quad 2.4GHZ, 8GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, 1 TB of Data
SageTV 9, Silicondust HDHomeRun x2 OTA
HD200
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2018, 03:58 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,146
The only way that I'm aware of to handle this currently is to assign specific tuners in your HDHR device to a separate lineup. I'm not sure anyone is actually doing this, though, as NYplayer has mentioned that it may not even work this way.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2018, 04:03 PM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 643
Thanks for the quick reply. I'm toying with it now and I can see my OTA channels when I pick the OTA lineup from SD but when I do that I can't see the OTT channels and vice versa.

I have this working in Plex using a combined XMLTV from EPG123. Is there a way to load an XMLTV file into Sage? All the threads I find are many years old and I can't find a definitive answer. I think that would solve my problem but I don't know how to do it.
__________________
Intel Q6600 Quad 2.4GHZ, 8GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, 1 TB of Data
SageTV 9, Silicondust HDHomeRun x2 OTA
HD200
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2018, 04:05 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,146
I believe I've also seen those threads where many folks are using XMLTV exclusively (abroad). That's a bit out of my personal Sage experience.

I think most folks have found that purchasing additional tuners is the easy way out of this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2018, 04:10 PM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 643
Sure. I've got six tuners that have access to both OTA and OTT channels but I can't set them up to access both. Seems pretty wasteful to have to buy another device as these are capable of serving either of these on the same device.

I see an option when setting up a source that reads 'Use EPG Plugin (XMLTV or other) Guide Data with this source'. Problem is that when I click it it asks for my postal code and then it just dies. I guess that's the old Sage EPG server. But why does it say XMLTV or other?
__________________
Intel Q6600 Quad 2.4GHZ, 8GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, 1 TB of Data
SageTV 9, Silicondust HDHomeRun x2 OTA
HD200
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2018, 04:33 PM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 643
So I've found that I can manually add the OTA channels to the OTT channels. I did this with one OTA channel, disabled the tuner that had all the OTA channels assigned to it and then tested the added channel and it worked. It did find the guide data as it matched the station ID from the channel's name when I entered it.

Unfortunately I do not look forward to doing this for all my other tuners.. Hopefully someone will chime in with an easier way.

Hoping someone has an easier way.

**EDIT** correction. Looks like I only need to do this once and then when I used the copy it has the added channels as well. So I'll end up with one tuner that only can access OTA, one that can access OTT, and the rest will have access to both. I guess I can live with that.
__________________
Intel Q6600 Quad 2.4GHZ, 8GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, 1 TB of Data
SageTV 9, Silicondust HDHomeRun x2 OTA
HD200

Last edited by dinki; 11-11-2018 at 04:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-2018, 05:54 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
And no problems with viewing both? I thought someone in another thread could not get this to work. I had tuners either PTV or OTA but not both and that worked fine. But I let my PTV subscription lapse until they roll out phase 2 with better quality. XMLTV is still viable and what I might use when going back to PTV if you can do PTV and OTA on the same tuner.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2018, 07:28 AM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 643
I just double checked as I had not disabled the HDHR channels on the tuner that has it's EPG. I disabled those channels and left the one channel that has the OTA and HDHR channels and both OTA and HDHR channels played fine.

To recap, I added OTA EPG to one tuner, added HDHR EPG to another tuner, copied HDHR EPG to another tuner, manually added one of my OTA channels to the tuner with the copied EPG. I disabled all channels from the OTA only and HDHR only tuner and was able to watch both OTA and HDHR channels on the copied EPG tuner.

It's a bit of a mess but I think I'll be able to get it to work.
__________________
Intel Q6600 Quad 2.4GHZ, 8GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, 1 TB of Data
SageTV 9, Silicondust HDHomeRun x2 OTA
HD200
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2018, 05:52 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinki View Post
I just double checked as I had not disabled the HDHR channels on the tuner that has it's EPG. I disabled those channels and left the one channel that has the OTA and HDHR channels and both OTA and HDHR channels played fine.

To recap, I added OTA EPG to one tuner, added HDHR EPG to another tuner, copied HDHR EPG to another tuner, manually added one of my OTA channels to the tuner with the copied EPG. I disabled all channels from the OTA only and HDHR only tuner and was able to watch both OTA and HDHR channels on the copied EPG tuner.

It's a bit of a mess but I think I'll be able to get it to work.
This sounds like it will continue to work. You need both lineups assigned to a tuner or they won't get updated which is what you accomplished. I wonder how much hassle it would be to allow multiple lineups per tuner.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Homerun Premium TV -West -National (sdepg) Deacon Crusher SageTV EPG Service 7 10-24-2018 11:48 AM
HDHomeRun PRIME CableCARD does work with premium channels Homebuilder Hardware Support 1 05-17-2011 08:08 AM
Homerun channels that just go away lolachampcar Hardware Support 7 11-29-2009 04:06 PM
HD Homerun & Digital Music Channels malbec Hardware Support 5 06-06-2007 08:43 PM
Can I record premium HD channels from cable box? showson1 Hardware Support 4 04-03-2007 03:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.